Raised This Month: $51 Target: $400
 12% 

Word filter to block bad language


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Author
Tobi17
Senior Member
Join Date: May 2005
Plugin ID:
11
Plugin Version:
1.1
Plugin Category:
Server Management
Plugin Game:
Any
Plugin Dependencies:
    Servers with this Plugin:
     
    Plugin Description:
    Word filter to block bad language
    Old 05-09-2007 , 18:10   Word filter to block bad language
    Reply With Quote #1

    Hello,

    just a very small but handy plugin to block bad language from the chat area. It is not very comfortable and the global array must be defined within the source (including its length!). Just extended the array with the "bad words" you want to block.

    If a "bad word" is detected a player action will be display ingame to the affected player and the action will be logged accordingly to the valve logging standard. This means the player action can be parsed by various statistic systems available.


    Bye
    Tobi
    Attached Files
    File Type: sp Get Plugin or Get Source (word_filter.sp - 5671 views - 5.1 KB)
    __________________

    Last edited by Tobi17; 10-02-2007 at 19:16.
    Tobi17 is offline
    sskillz
    Member
    Join Date: Apr 2005
    Old 05-22-2007 , 17:56   Re: [PLUGIN] Word filter to block bad language
    Reply With Quote #2

    You should use keyvalues to store bad words.
    sskillz is offline
    FlyingMongoose
    Veteran Member
    Join Date: Mar 2004
    Old 05-23-2007 , 00:20   Re: [PLUGIN] Word filter to block bad language
    Reply With Quote #3

    nah, you need nothing more than a simple list text file for something like this.
    FlyingMongoose is offline
    dutchmeat
    Senior Member
    Join Date: Sep 2006
    Old 05-23-2007 , 06:12   Re: [PLUGIN] Word filter to block bad language
    Reply With Quote #4

    here's something I tried, using a cvar instead of a precompiled array.
    I haven't tested it, but it should work in theory I guess.

    Cvar format:
    wf_badwords "n00b fag lamer etc"
    Attached Files
    File Type: sp Get Plugin or Get Source (word_filter.sp - 2094 views - 4.6 KB)
    __________________
    before you criticize someone, you should walk a mile in their shoes. that way, when you criticize them, you're a mile away and you have their shoes.
    dutchmeat is offline
    dutchmeat
    Senior Member
    Join Date: Sep 2006
    Old 05-23-2007 , 07:53   Re: [PLUGIN] Word filter to block bad language
    Reply With Quote #5

    Update to my modification,
    It now parses this file: 'configs/bad_words.ini' to get the bad words.

    File example(bad_words.ini)
    Quote:
    n00b
    n00b
    lamer
    loser
    fag
    And again, this is still untested, let me know if someone tried it.
    Attached Files
    File Type: sp Get Plugin or Get Source (word_filter.sp - 2827 views - 5.0 KB)
    __________________
    before you criticize someone, you should walk a mile in their shoes. that way, when you criticize them, you're a mile away and you have their shoes.
    dutchmeat is offline
    {LOD}Scarecrow
    Member
    Join Date: Dec 2004
    Location: AZ
    Old 06-24-2007 , 15:01   Re: [PLUGIN] Word filter to block bad language
    Reply With Quote #6

    Mabey a stupid question but where would you placethe bad_words.ini file?
    {LOD}Scarecrow is offline
    Send a message via AIM to {LOD}Scarecrow
    FlyingMongoose
    Veteran Member
    Join Date: Mar 2004
    Old 06-24-2007 , 15:16   Re: [PLUGIN] Word filter to block bad language
    Reply With Quote #7

    I wouldn't mind an incremental word filter. Sort of like how ATAC has multiple offense management, the same for word filter.
    __________________
    Please do NOT PM for support.

    Only ask for support in plugin threads.

    TunedChaos.com - Precision Tuned Game Servers
    FlyingMongoose is offline
    UPABrawler
    Member
    Join Date: Sep 2006
    Old 06-24-2007 , 21:48   Re: [PLUGIN] Word filter to block bad language
    Reply With Quote #8

    does this star the message or not display it at all.
    UPABrawler is offline
    Send a message via AIM to UPABrawler Send a message via MSN to UPABrawler
    sumguy14
    Senior Member
    Join Date: Apr 2006
    Old 06-24-2007 , 23:53   Re: [PLUGIN] Word filter to block bad language
    Reply With Quote #9

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by UPABrawler View Post
    does this star the message or not display it at all.
    From the looks of his code, it just stops it from going to chat
    sumguy14 is offline
    {LOD}Scarecrow
    Member
    Join Date: Dec 2004
    Location: AZ
    Old 06-25-2007 , 19:59   Re: [PLUGIN] Word filter to block bad language
    Reply With Quote #10

    Where do you place the .ini file???
    {LOD}Scarecrow is offline
    Send a message via AIM to {LOD}Scarecrow
    Reply



    Posting Rules
    You may not post new threads
    You may not post replies
    You may not post attachments
    You may not edit your posts

    BB code is On
    Smilies are On
    [IMG] code is On
    HTML code is Off

    Forum Jump


    All times are GMT -4. The time now is 22:16.


    Powered by vBulletin®
    Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
    Theme made by Freecode