Raised This Month: $51 Target: $400
 12% 

Obscura Cam (New 3rd Person) [v0.7]


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
SkumTomteN
Veteran Member
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Asgard
Old 09-24-2016 , 03:47   Re: 3rd Person Camera (Nani-Cam)
Reply With Quote #21

Quote:
Originally Posted by Craxor View Post
Wrong, if it's your plugin you have the responsability to say the differences between the others similar versions, anyway it's kind of useless. Same can be achieved very easy with engine.
What about you read the plugin description, it has some features that none of other camera plugin has, even though the viewangles are limited.

set_view is extremely slow and its even slow when playing singleplayer and i get headache when i use it (though its more smoother). This is faster, even though it depends alot on clients ping, i see alot of my own clients prefer this cam and say its fine

This plugin is also old. and will not get more support i think, i use it all the time in my testing, i never found a bug with it, alot can be optimized though, can be made alot faster/efficent/smoother.

Thanks for ur comment
__________________
Contact: Steam
Videos: Youtube
SkumTomteN is offline
Craxor
Veteran Member
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Romania
Old 09-24-2016 , 08:13   Re: 3rd Person Camera (Nani-Cam)
Reply With Quote #22

Quote:
Originally Posted by SkumTomteN View Post
What about you read the plugin description, it has some features that none of other camera plugin has, even though the viewangles are limited.

set_view is extremely slow and its even slow when playing singleplayer and i get headache when i use it (though its more smoother). This is faster, even though it depends alot on clients ping, i see alot of my own clients prefer this cam and say its fine

This plugin is also old. and will not get more support i think, i use it all the time in my testing, i never found a bug with it, alot can be optimized though, can be made alot faster/efficent/smoother.

Thanks for ur comment

Your description are :
Quote:
Hello, i decide that i will publish this 3rd person camera plugin.
This camera has alot more features than the current cameras available.
Anyway i'm not approver and i don't fully understand your code so i'm not able to judge you, if you want some advices here you after a quick check:
  • Insteand of using #defines, replace them all with constants, these:
    PHP Code:
    /* The info of this plugin */
    #define PLUGIN_VERSION "0.7"
    #define PLUGIN_TAG "CAM"

    /* Just dont touch it */
    #define CAMERA_CLASSNAME "trigger_camera"
    #define CAMERA_MODEL "models/rpgrocket.mdl" 
  • this one:
    PHP Code:
    #define CAMERA_OWNER EV_INT_iuser1 
    Delete and put directly ENV_INT_iuser1, even if is for readability is realy useles.

  • For sake of noobs owners, don't let the cvar to be a float, use it as normal number:
    register_cvar("cam_distance", "150.0")
    ->
    register_cvar("cam_distance", "150")

    by changin these, with these(just my op):
    PHP Code:

        fCameraOrigin
    [0] = fPlayerOrigin[0] + (-vBack[0] * get_pcvar_float(g_pCvar_fCameraDistance)) 
        
    fCameraOrigin[1] = fPlayerOrigin[1] + (-vBack[1] * get_pcvar_float(g_pCvar_fCameraDistance)) 
        
    fCameraOrigin[2] = fPlayerOrigin[2] + (-vBack[2] * get_pcvar_float(g_pCvar_fCameraDistance)) 
    With ->
    PHP Code:

        fCameraOrigin
    [0] = fPlayerOrigin[0] + (-vBack[0] * float(get_pcvar_num(g_pCvar_fCameraDistance)))
        
    fCameraOrigin[1] = fPlayerOrigin[1] + (-vBack[1] * float(get_pcvar_num(g_pCvar_fCameraDistance)))
        
    fCameraOrigin[2] = fPlayerOrigin[2] + (-vBack[2] * float(get_pcvar_num(g_pCvar_fCameraDistance))) 
  • This one:
    PHP Code:
    register_clcmd("sayteam /cam""CMD_ToggleCam"
    should not be?
    PHP Code:
    register_clcmd("say_team /cam""CMD_ToggleCam"
  • And here:
    PHP Code:
    if(!is_valid_ent(iEnt))
                continue; 
    What the fuck?
  • here:
    PHP Code:
    new bool:g_bInThirdPerson[33] = false
    When you declare a boolean variable, the default value is already 'false' so you don't need to re-set it.
__________________
Project: Among Us

Last edited by Craxor; 09-24-2016 at 08:16.
Craxor is offline
Send a message via ICQ to Craxor
HamletEagle
AMX Mod X Plugin Approver
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Romania
Old 09-24-2016 , 14:17   Re: Obscura Cam (New 3rd Person) [v0.7]
Reply With Quote #23

Quote:
What the fuck?
If you don't understand something it doesn't mean that the thing is wrong.

Quote:
Delete and put directly ENV_INT_iuser1, even if is for readability is realy useles.
Doesn't matter, it's up to the coder.

Quote:
For sake of noobs owners, don't let the cvar to be a float, use it as normal number:
There's nothing wrong with it being a float.

Quote:
When you declare a boolean variable, the default value is already 'false' so you don't need to re-set it
Both ways are fine.

You should really focus on learning and understanding how things really work before reviewing.
__________________

Last edited by HamletEagle; 09-24-2016 at 14:22.
HamletEagle is offline
klippy
AlliedModders Donor
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Serbia
Old 09-24-2016 , 14:46   Re: Obscura Cam (New 3rd Person) [v0.7]
Reply With Quote #24

Quote:
Originally Posted by HamletEagle View Post
Both ways are fine.
While that holds true, I don't think what he did here was correct. If he wanted all values to be true by default, like so:
PHP Code:
new bool:g_bInThirdPerson[33] = true
Only the first cell would become true. This is the proper way of doing it:
PHP Code:
new bool:g_bInThirdPerson[33] = {true, ...}; 
I know it won't make a difference in this case, but I think it's worth mentioning.

Last edited by klippy; 09-24-2016 at 14:46.
klippy is offline
HamletEagle
AMX Mod X Plugin Approver
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Romania
Old 09-25-2016 , 05:38   Re: Obscura Cam (New 3rd Person) [v0.7]
Reply With Quote #25

I've answered only on what I've quoted(i.e the generic sentence, not OP implementation). But yeah, what you said is correct.
__________________
HamletEagle is offline
Depresie
Veteran Member
Join Date: Nov 2013
Old 11-27-2016 , 18:22   Re: Obscura Cam (New 3rd Person) [v0.7]
Reply With Quote #26

Seems nice, but you should adjust the distance a little bit when the player is near walls.. if you succeed fixing the "bug" where the camera gets inside a wall, you get a 10 from me =P
__________________

Last edited by Depresie; 11-27-2016 at 18:33.
Depresie is offline
SkumTomteN
Veteran Member
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Asgard
Old 02-22-2017 , 14:34   Re: Obscura Cam (New 3rd Person) [v0.7]
Reply With Quote #27

This plugin is old and outdated, wont support it anymore, and i know there is tons of faults with it. dont bother reviewing it.
__________________
Contact: Steam
Videos: Youtube
SkumTomteN is offline
Reply



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 23:06.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Theme made by Freecode