Raised This Month: $179 Target: $400
 44% 

SourceMod Development Roundup (1.7.2 - 2015/11/03)


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Chdata
Veteran Member
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Computer Chair, Illinois
Old 11-08-2015 , 14:22   Re: SourceMod Development Roundup (1.7.2 - 03/11/15)
Reply With Quote #21

Quote:
Originally Posted by Potato Uno View Post
I still don't know what "safety" means in that context. I used it in OnPluginStart and never was bitten in the ass by it. What did I miss?
There were rare scenarios where it's uninitialized and you never noticed, maybe it was only uninitialized for the very first plugin that loaded which may have happened not to need it. That's just a guess though. But I've always done things in OnMapStart, since I heard that, and it always fires after OnPluginstart anyway.
__________________

Last edited by Chdata; 11-08-2015 at 14:23.
Chdata is offline
Dr. McKay
Sir Dr. SourceMod Plugin Approver Esq. Ltd. M.D. PhD
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Atlantis
Old 11-08-2015 , 15:40   Re: SourceMod Development Roundup (1.7.2 - 03/11/15)
Reply With Quote #22

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chdata View Post
There were rare scenarios where it's uninitialized and you never noticed, maybe it was only uninitialized for the very first plugin that loaded which may have happened not to need it. That's just a guess though. But I've always done things in OnMapStart, since I heard that, and it always fires after OnPluginstart anyway.
I personally used it to loop connected clients to handle late-load situations. If it's not a late-load, then MaxClients was 0, in which case the loop wouldn't run (nor would it need to). In all other situations, MaxClients would be its true value and the loop would run as expected.
__________________
Dr. McKay is offline
KyleS
SourceMod Plugin Approver
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Segmentation Fault.
Old 11-08-2015 , 18:35   Re: SourceMod Development Roundup (1.7.2 - 03/11/15)
Reply With Quote #23

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chdata View Post
There were rare scenarios where it's uninitialized and you never noticed, maybe it was only uninitialized for the very first plugin that loaded which may have happened not to need it. That's just a guess though. But I've always done things in OnMapStart, since I heard that, and it always fires after OnPluginstart anyway.
It's beyond wrong that it's uninitialized. MaxClients is set to 0 until populated from SM.
KyleS is offline
ddhoward
Veteran Member
Join Date: May 2012
Location: California
Old 11-09-2015 , 15:22   Re: SourceMod Development Roundup (1.7.2 - 03/11/15)
Reply With Quote #24

I vaguely recall that the issue that I experienced was trying to use MaxClients+1 as the blocksize in CreateArray(). So I had a blocksize of 1, and tried to shove data into cells that didn't exist.
__________________

Last edited by ddhoward; 11-09-2015 at 15:24.
ddhoward is offline
Potato Uno
Veteran Member
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Old 11-09-2015 , 19:00   Re: SourceMod Development Roundup (1.7.2 - 03/11/15)
Reply With Quote #25

Why would you ever use MaxClients to initialize an array?

You should have been using MAXPLAYERS instead.
Potato Uno is offline
asherkin
SourceMod Developer
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: OnGameFrame()
Old 11-09-2015 , 19:01   Re: SourceMod Development Roundup (1.7.2 - 03/11/15)
Reply With Quote #26

Guys...
__________________
asherkin is offline
ddhoward
Veteran Member
Join Date: May 2012
Location: California
Old 11-10-2015 , 05:50   Re: SourceMod Development Roundup (1.7.2 - 03/11/15)
Reply With Quote #27

Quote:
Originally Posted by Potato Uno View Post
You should have been using MAXPLAYERS instead.
Because each index in the array only needs to have as many cells as there are player slots, +1. There is no purpose in making it larger. MAXPLAYERS = 65, whereas MaxClients is the number of slots on the server.

Getting back on topic, will the major version numbers ( 1.7 and 1.8 ) be going away as well? I'm a little confused on how this works.
__________________

Last edited by ddhoward; 11-10-2015 at 05:51.
ddhoward is offline
asherkin
SourceMod Developer
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: OnGameFrame()
Old 11-10-2015 , 05:57   Re: SourceMod Development Roundup (1.7.2 - 03/11/15)
Reply With Quote #28

Quote:
Originally Posted by ddhoward View Post
Getting back on topic, will the major version numbers ( 1.7 and 1.8 ) be going away as well? I'm a little confused on how this works.
One day, but probably not in the near future, we'll still be flip-flopping the major versions like we always have (i.e. at some point 1.8 will be closed for major changes, 1.9 will start, then after 1.8 is stabilized, 1.7 will stop getting updates and 1.8 will be the new stable. It's possible that when that happens 1.8's branch will be called something like stable rather than 1.8-dev and then that'll effectively be it (we'll have stable and master).
The actual version numbers will probably not go away (although might be folded into a different pattern or de-emphasized) as we want to keep a way of notifying on required (security) updates.
__________________
asherkin is offline
Potato Uno
Veteran Member
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Old 01-06-2016 , 16:20   Re: SourceMod 1.7 Development Roundup (1.7.2 - 03/11/15)
Reply With Quote #29

Quote:
Originally Posted by asherkin View Post
If there is anything in 1.8 that you want to see in 1.7 (especially bug fixes, which should all be in 1.7 but often get forgotten) just holla.
Can we see client command keyvalues backported to 1.7 or do I have to use 1.8?

If so, is 1.8 stable enough to be used in a production environment?

Thanks!
Potato Uno is offline
psychonic

BAFFLED
Join Date: May 2008
Old 01-07-2016 , 18:22   Re: SourceMod 1.7 Development Roundup (1.7.2 - 03/11/15)
Reply With Quote #30

Quote:
Originally Posted by Potato Uno View Post
Can we see client command keyvalues backported to 1.7 or do I have to use 1.8?
Yes, it's in the stable branch as of Right Now.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Potato Uno View Post
is 1.8 stable enough to be used in a production environment?
At the moment, probably!
psychonic is offline
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:27.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Theme made by Freecode