Raised This Month: $2 Target: $400
 0% 

[L4D2] Boss Spawn


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
xZk
Senior Member
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: cl
Old 04-20-2020 , 15:33   Re: [L4D2] Boss Spawn
Reply With Quote #11

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sev View Post
Something to disable its functionality on finales would be good, so people don't have to manually create configs for all the finales. Otherwise good stuff here.
thanks for the suggestion, i added a new cvars for that option:
PHP Code:
// 0:Disable tanks in finale map, 1:Allow before finale starts, 2:Allow after finale starts, 3:Allow all finale map
// -
// Default: "0"
boss_spawn_finale_tanks "0"

// 0:Disable witches in finale map, 1:Allow before finale starts, 2: Allow after finale starts, 3:Allow all finale map
// -
// Default: "0"
boss_spawn_finale_witches "0" 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marttt View Post
What could be blocking the spawns is the "ProhibitBosses = true" Director var.
I'm not quite sure that ProhibitBosses can prevent spawn by this plugin or by cheats(z_spawn), I think the special limits is what spawn always restricts

Last edited by xZk; 04-21-2020 at 12:34. Reason: semifail
xZk is offline
sxslmk
Member
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: CN
Old 04-21-2020 , 02:25   Re: [L4D2] Boss Spawn
Reply With Quote #12

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marttt View Post
What could be blocking the spawns is the "ProhibitBosses = true" Director var.

When the radio is called some maps runs the finale vscript, which blocks spawning Witch/Tank, and depends on the map either other SI.
I'd tried VScript Director Options Unlocker to set "ProhibitBosses=false" still can't spawn SI.
sxslmk is offline
sxslmk
Member
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: CN
Old 04-22-2020 , 02:20   Re: [L4D2] Boss Spawn
Reply With Quote #14

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marttt View Post
Which map?
c5m5
sxslmk is offline
Crasher_3637
AlliedModders Donor
Join Date: May 2012
Old 04-22-2020 , 09:19   Re: [L4D2] Boss Spawn
Reply With Quote #15

Have you tried increasing the SI limits like what xZk mentioned?

Here's how I would do it with Silvers' "VScript File Replacer" since Timocop's "VScript Director Options Unlocker" has a very small character limit and relies on a timer to constantly update the director.

PHP Code:
"vscript_replacer"
{
    
// This matches "c1m1_" to "c99m99_" for example, all Valve maps in L4D2.
    
"c[0-9]m[0-9]_.+"
    
{
        
// This matches all the Valve maps' scripts.
        
"c[0-9]m[0-9]_.+"
        
{
            
// Matches the script name and strings with RegEx.
            
"regex"                    "3"

            
// Increase Smoker limit.
            
"SmokerLimit = ([0-9]+)"        "SmokerLimit = 5"

            
// Increase Boomer limit.
            
"BoomerLimit = ([0-9]+)"        "BoomerLimit = 5"

            
// Increase Hunter limit.
            
"HunterLimit = ([0-9]+)"        "HunterLimit = 5"

            
// Increase Spitter limit.
            
"SpitterLimit = ([0-9]+)"        "SpitterLimit = 5"

            
// Increase Jockey limit.
            
"JockeyLimit = ([0-9]+)"        "JockeyLimit = 5"

            
// Increase Charger limit.
            
"ChargerLimit = ([0-9]+)"        "ChargerLimit = 5"

            
// Increase Witch limit.
            
"WitchLimit = ([0-9]+)"        "WitchLimit = 5"

            
// Increase Tank limit.
            
"TankLimit = ([0-9]+)"        "TankLimit = 5"
        
}
    }

__________________
AFK like JFK
Crasher_3637 is offline
RDiver
Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Old 04-23-2020 , 20:58   Re: [L4D2] Boss Spawn
Reply With Quote #16

// Set total Tanks to spawn on map
// -
// Default: "1"
boss_spawn_total_tanks "1"

// Set max random Tanks to spawn simultaneously, 0isable Random value
// -
// Default: "3"
boss_spawn_tanks_rng "3"

Actually what's the difference between both CVARs above in practice?


// 0:Check any Tanks spawned on map, 1:Check only boss spawn Tanks
// -
// Default: "0"
boss_spawn_check_tanks "0"

Can't figure out the purpose of checking here.
RDiver is offline
Crasher_3637
AlliedModders Donor
Join Date: May 2012
Old 04-23-2020 , 22:35   Re: [L4D2] Boss Spawn
Reply With Quote #17

Quote:
Originally Posted by RDiver View Post
// Set total Tanks to spawn on map
// -
// Default: "1"
boss_spawn_total_tanks "1"

// Set max random Tanks to spawn simultaneously, 0isable Random value
// -
// Default: "3"
boss_spawn_tanks_rng "3"

Actually what's the difference between both CVARs above in practice?


// 0:Check any Tanks spawned on map, 1:Check only boss spawn Tanks
// -
// Default: "0"
boss_spawn_check_tanks "0"

Can't figure out the purpose of checking here.
Looking at the code, it seems to me that if boss_spawn_tanks_rng is greater than 0, it will act as the max value for how many Tanks can spawn in total. If greater than 0, the plugin chooses a number between boss_spawn_total_tanks and boss_spawn_tanks_rng. If the cvar is set to 0, then boss_spawn_total_tanks will be used.

As for boss_spawn_check_tanks, it's just asking if you want all Tanks that spawn to be counted towards boss_spawn_total_tanks or just the ones spawned by the plugin.
__________________
AFK like JFK
Crasher_3637 is offline
RDiver
Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Old 04-24-2020 , 07:37   Re: [L4D2] Boss Spawn
Reply With Quote #18

Quote:
Originally Posted by Crasher_3637 View Post
Looking at the code, it seems to me that if boss_spawn_tanks_rng is greater than 0, it will act as the max value for how many Tanks can spawn in total. If greater than 0, the plugin chooses a number between boss_spawn_total_tanks and boss_spawn_tanks_rng. If the cvar is set to 0, then boss_spawn_total_tanks will be used.

As for boss_spawn_check_tanks, it's just asking if you want all Tanks that spawn to be counted towards boss_spawn_total_tanks or just the ones spawned by the plugin.
So can it be interpretated that 'boss_spawn total tanks' refers to the limit of tanks, which spawn in play, predominated by the AI Director while 'boss_spawn_tanks_rng' managed by this plugin "liberates" the AI director to release more or less tanks based on random selection (within a pre-assigned range) ?

Should we always keep boss_spawn total tanks =1 as default conformed with Director Variables?
RDiver is offline
Crasher_3637
AlliedModders Donor
Join Date: May 2012
Old 04-24-2020 , 07:53   Re: [L4D2] Boss Spawn
Reply With Quote #19

Quote:
Originally Posted by RDiver View Post
So can it be interpretated that 'boss_spawn total tanks' refers to the limit of tanks, which spawn in play, predominated by the AI Director while 'boss_spawn_tanks_rng' managed by this plugin "liberates" the AI director to release more or less tanks based on random selection (within a pre-assigned range) ?

Should we always keep boss_spawn total tanks =1 as default conformed with Director Variables?
Yes, you should keep it at 1 as minimum if you don't want extra Tanks to spawn. In case you're wondering, setting it to 0 won't prevent Tanks from spawning at all.

The plugin itself doesn't exactly "limit" how many Tanks can be alive at any given time, unlike my Mutant Tanks plugin which kicks or kills extra Tanks. All this plugin does is check if the game already meets the limit set by boss_spawn_total_tanks. Let's say you set the cvar to 3, and there are currently 4 Tanks alive, the plugin won't spawn anymore Tanks. If you were to set boss_spawn_tanks_rng to 7 in the same scenario, the plugin will pick a value between 3 and 7, and if that chosen value is greater than the number of Tanks currently alive (in this case, 4), it will spawn more Tanks until it meets that chosen value.

I hope that my explanation doesn't confuse you.
__________________
AFK like JFK
Crasher_3637 is offline
Voevoda
Senior Member
Join Date: Aug 2016
Old 04-26-2020 , 21:03   Re: [L4D2] Boss Spawn
Reply With Quote #20

//SourceMod Batch Compiler
// by the SourceMod Dev Team


//// l4d2_boss_spawn.sp
//
// D:\scripting\l4d2_boss_spawn.sp(31) : warning 203: symbol is never used: "cva
rWitchRange"
// D:\scripting\l4d2_boss_spawn.sp(24) : warning 203: symbol is never used: "cva
rTankRange"
// Code size: 10392 bytes
// Data size: 4348 bytes
// Stack/heap size: 16384 bytes
// Total requirements: 31124 bytes
//
// 2 Warnings.
//
// Compilation Time: 0,16 sec
// ----------------------------------------

Press enter to exit ...
Voevoda is offline
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:20.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Theme made by Freecode