Raised This Month: $51 Target: $400
 12% 

[L4D] is there a way to unblock certain map blocks?


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Author Message
finishlast
Senior Member
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: In Reno with the vitamin
Old 04-01-2021 , 06:41   [L4D] is there a way to unblock certain map blocks?
Reply With Quote #1

Hi there,

just a thing I thought about some time.

For example there are areas in last map of sacrafice that are blocked for survivors even though they could be funny to be used while playing that map.

i.e. the parts behind the middle generator

When you place something in front of the fence via stripper and then jump on it you can't still pass it, bc is blocked for survivors.

Would it be possible to make some sort of unlocking "portal" with x y z axis that you can place on lets say a fence like 2 meters high and then a certain width with a certain depth, that would disable the collision event and let the players pass through that and then reenables it?

Or if disabling is not possible how about teleporting the player some cm behind the block, ideally working both ways.

Like make a transparent rectangle box and according to its angle on the map you always get teleported some cm on the other side of it, like well a small teleport portal.

I would find it hilarious to play versus behind the house on SAC tbh.

Adding some stuff and cars in front of the blocks to climb up with stripper and using the portal plugin to slip through at certain fences, walls etc..
__________________
finishlast is offline
Marttt
Veteran Member
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Brazil
Old 04-01-2021 , 07:33   Re: [L4D] is there a way to unblock certain map blocks?
Reply With Quote #2

Some blocks can't be removed from the map, usually the static ones (compiled with the map).

The ones that we are able to remove through plugins / .lmp files / stripper is the entities that the server can read (usually a env_player_block)

You can check most of them using "r_drawclipbrushes" in console (local server).

https://developer.valvesoftware.com/...rawclipbrushes

You can remove it only if you open the map in hammer delete it and them compile back, but it will generate a new version of the map and everyone will have to download it (like a custom map), which is not a nice solution.

What I have seen is some servers using a portal entity (don't remember the name) that allow you to "teleport" to some specific places, so sometimes you can't reach a place cause there is an invisible wall, but from the there side of the wall you are able to move.
__________________
Marttt is offline
Dragokas
Veteran Member
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Ukraine on fire
Old 05-03-2021 , 15:23   Re: [L4D] is there a way to unblock certain map blocks?
Reply With Quote #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marttt View Post
The ones that we are able to remove through plugins / .lmp files / stripper is the entities that the server can read (usually a env_player_block)
No. You are able to partially remove static as well with .lmp, but you'll receive a weird behaviour like "floating" collision.
But, that requires you have original source code of the map.

The walkaround could be using like DevZones to build bi-directional teleport zones.
__________________
Expert of CMD/VBS/VB6. Malware analyst. L4D fun (Bloody Witch & FreeZone)
[My plugins] [My tools] [GitHub] [Articles] [HiJackThis+] [Donate]
Dragokas is offline
plug344
Member
Join Date: Dec 2021
Old 03-13-2022 , 08:09   Re: [L4D] is there a way to unblock certain map blocks?
Reply With Quote #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dragokas View Post
No. You are able to partially remove static as well with .lmp, but you'll receive a weird behaviour like "floating" collision.
But, that requires you have original source code of the map.

The walkaround could be using like DevZones to build bi-directional teleport zones.
How to do..? And if I package the .lmp file into a .vpk file, can I not need to send the file to the client?

Last edited by plug344; 03-13-2022 at 08:17.
plug344 is offline
Dragokas
Veteran Member
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Ukraine on fire
Old 03-13-2022 , 11:15   Re: [L4D] is there a way to unblock certain map blocks?
Reply With Quote #5

Quote:
Originally Posted by plug344 View Post
How to do..? And if I package the .lmp file into a .vpk file, can I not need to send the file to the client?
You don't need to.
Hammer -> File - Open map .vmf -> edit what you want -> File - Save as (in new folder) -> File - Run map.
VIDE - Tools - BSPInfo - open compiled .bsp - click on each node name - save .lmp (should be like ~ 30 files).
Copy all .lmp in server's /left4dead/maps
Reboot server.
Public source code for maps is only available in L4D1.
It's not possible to re-compile L4D2 maps after decompilation without distortion.
__________________
Expert of CMD/VBS/VB6. Malware analyst. L4D fun (Bloody Witch & FreeZone)
[My plugins] [My tools] [GitHub] [Articles] [HiJackThis+] [Donate]

Last edited by Dragokas; 03-13-2022 at 11:16.
Dragokas is offline
finishlast
Senior Member
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: In Reno with the vitamin
Old 04-01-2021 , 15:12   Re: [L4D] is there a way to unblock certain map blocks?
Reply With Quote #6

I used noclip to get past, then disable noclip again and then were able to run around in that area.
Even the bots followed me there.

So I would assume a teleport portal above a fence would work, it would only have to teleport the player a small way to the other side.

A double portal for both directions.
So one touches portal A and end behind B and vice versa.

-->A || B<--

Now I have to find some teleport example scripts, i dont think that is too hard to make.

Thx again Marttt
__________________
finishlast is offline
Marttt
Veteran Member
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Brazil
Old 04-01-2021 , 16:46   Re: [L4D] is there a way to unblock certain map blocks?
Reply With Quote #7

I saw some teleport stuff being done in stripper, so you can achieve that without a plugin.

would be something like this:

PHP Code:
{
    
"classname" "logic_auto"
    "OnMapSpawn" "teleport1,addoutput,mins -150 -5 0,0,-1"
    "OnMapSpawn" "teleport1,addoutput,maxs 150 5 150,0,-1"
    "OnMapSpawn" "teleport1,addoutput,solid 2,0,-1"
}
{
    
"origin" "-1000.0 -1000.0 -100.0"
    "targetname" "teleport1"
    "target" "teleport1dest"
    "spawnflags" "1"
    "classname" "trigger_teleport"
}
{
    
"origin" "-1200.0 -1000.0 -1000.0"
    "angles" "0 90 0"
    "targetname" "teleport1dest"
    "classname" "info_teleport_destination"

__________________
Marttt is offline
finishlast
Senior Member
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: In Reno with the vitamin
Old 04-03-2021 , 07:21   Re: [L4D] is there a way to unblock certain map blocks?
Reply With Quote #8

Thanks again.

ATM I simply put a metal panel for testing against one of the invisible walls on top of the first building, when you walk against it it teleports you +50 behind the barrier, so it is possible to reach the outer areas now. (just noclip up there and walk against it. It is set for surivors only but that if clause is obsolete.)

Unfortunatelly the bots are too stupid without navigation meshes.

I would assume it is not possible to add new navigation meshes without messing with the map files?!

Sadly because the area on the right side is really big and has modding potential.

I spawned a tank there and it was fun fun fun
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 1.jpg (71.4 KB, 102 views)
File Type: jpg 2.jpg (65.4 KB, 87 views)
File Type: jpg 3.jpg (73.1 KB, 73 views)
File Type: jpg 4.jpg (88.8 KB, 78 views)
Attached Files
File Type: sp Get Plugin or Get Source (l4d_test.sp - 98 views - 1.6 KB)
__________________

Last edited by finishlast; 04-03-2021 at 10:53.
finishlast is offline
Marttt
Veteran Member
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Brazil
Old 04-03-2021 , 09:56   Re: [L4D] is there a way to unblock certain map blocks?
Reply With Quote #9

I don't know much about nav stuff, but AFAIK it is server sided (.nav file), so you can modify and your bots will learn, but for someone that knows nothing (like me xD) is kinda hard editing the nav.
I already tried doing that once but I have failed on making it work.
__________________

Last edited by Marttt; 04-03-2021 at 12:28.
Marttt is offline
Dragokas
Veteran Member
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Ukraine on fire
Old 05-03-2021 , 15:30   Re: [L4D] is there a way to unblock certain map blocks?
Reply With Quote #10

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marttt View Post
I don't know much about nav stuff, but AFAIK it is server sided (.nav file), so you can modify and your bots will learn, but for someone that knows nothing (like me xD) is kinda hard editing the nav.
I already tried doing that once but I have failed on making it work.
You guys can order a paid request from @Vit_amin for editing .nav and anything related to bots navigation. He is a professional.
But, ensure Valve will not overwrite those file.
__________________
Expert of CMD/VBS/VB6. Malware analyst. L4D fun (Bloody Witch & FreeZone)
[My plugins] [My tools] [GitHub] [Articles] [HiJackThis+] [Donate]

Last edited by Dragokas; 05-03-2021 at 15:43.
Dragokas is offline
Reply



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 17:45.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Theme made by Freecode