Raised This Month: $51 Target: $400
 12% 

Grenade / Player collision help?

Post New Thread Reply   

xm3kilo
Old 01-14-2018 , 11:03   Grenade / Player collision help?
Reply With Quote #1

Hey guys,

I'm trying to make it so on CSGO a player can throw any sort of grenade and have it get stuck inside the player and thus freezing them in place, I was hinted by another user to change the players collision groups and not the nades.

I've tried changing the collision group on the player to every group as well as the grenades

Code:
 SetEntData(entity, g_CollisionOffset2, 3, 4, true);
SetEntProp(entity, Prop_Send, "m_CollisionGroup", 3);
Am I on the right track? Help is appreciated, thanks!

Not sure on the collision group or if I should put both in one, I need noblock as well so its quite annoying
its probably something super simple, but im new to sp so im still learning

Last edited by DarkDeviL; 02-21-2018 at 01:39. Reason: Restored post
backwards
AlliedModders Donor
Old 01-14-2018 , 18:24   Re: Grenade / Player collision help?
Reply With Quote #2

using this method you would be required to disable the collision from the grenade to the player in the game code, however still make your own collision detection to see if the nade is intersecting the player. Then change the games collision code back so they then get stuck inside of each other. If you just set collision group where they don't collide then the nade will fly through the player completely and not get stuck inside of them by default. This isn't a logical approach. Instead what you want to do is check when the grenade collides with something, then if the thing it collided with is an enemy player team from the thrower of the nade. Make that player entity freeze in place until the grenade detonates.

You can use SDKHooks for a Touch hook event on the grenade entity, once it gets called you get the owner this way:

PHP Code:
new Owner GetEntPropEnt(entityProp_Send"m_hThrower");
int Thrower EntRefToEntIndex(Owner);