Raised This Month: $404 Target: $400
 101% 

Solved Custom sounds not working?


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Author Message
404UNF
( ͡ ͜ʖ ͡)
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: 🍁
Old 05-28-2016 , 15:15   Custom sounds not working?
Reply With Quote #1

Code:
MP3 initialized with no sound cache, this may cause janking. [ unfgaming\allahuakbar.mp3 ]
Failed to create decoder for MP3 [ unfgaming\allahuakbar.mp3 ]
MP3 initialized with no sound cache, this may cause janking. [ unfgaming\allahuakbar.mp3 ]
Failed to create decoder for MP3 [ unfgaming\allahuakbar.mp3 ]
*** Invalid sample rate (0) for sound 'unfgaming\allahuakbar.mp3'.
*
What the heck? I just googled these errors....not finding much help. Anyone have any experience with this? Maybe someone knows how to fix it?
__________________
I'm not a SourcePawn expert, I just play one on TV.
Want to join the SourceMod Discord server? Click here!


Last edited by 404UNF; 08-20-2016 at 18:35.
404UNF is offline
AeroAcrobat
AlliedModders Donor
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: lives in a circus
Old 05-28-2016 , 15:30   Re: Custom sounds not working?
Reply With Quote #2

Code:
Invalid sample rate (0) for sound 'unfgaming\allahuakbar.mp3'.
AFAIK sounds need to be 22k Hz or 44k Hz.
__________________
AeroAcrobat is offline
404UNF
( ͡ ͜ʖ ͡)
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: 🍁
Old 05-28-2016 , 15:43   Re: Custom sounds not working?
Reply With Quote #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by AeroAcrobat View Post
Code:
Invalid sample rate (0) for sound 'unfgaming\allahuakbar.mp3'.
AFAIK sounds need to be 22k Hz or 44k Hz.
The sounds were downloaded from a TF2Classic server (TF2Classic being a Source SDK 2013 multiplayer mod that uses 2008 leaked TF2 source code as a base, Valve is ok with the use of the leaked source code, I checked with Eric S).

Theoretically, they should work in TF2 as I'm pretty sure TF2 and TF2Classic have the same sample rate requirements.

EDIT: Opened the sound in Audacity, project rate is set to 44100Hz.
__________________
I'm not a SourcePawn expert, I just play one on TV.
Want to join the SourceMod Discord server? Click here!


Last edited by 404UNF; 05-28-2016 at 15:45.
404UNF is offline
404UNF
( ͡ ͜ʖ ͡)
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: 🍁
Old 05-29-2016 , 10:53   Re: Custom sounds not working?
Reply With Quote #4

Would the issue maybe be caused by not putting custom sounds into "tf/custom/unfgaming/sound/"? I put my sounds into tf/sound/unfgaming. I'm figuring that's why there's no sound cache file.

Maybe if I was to put the files into "tf/custom/unfgaming/sound/" in my steam files and boot up TF2, I know it would generate a sound cache file. It should do the same on my server, no?
__________________
I'm not a SourcePawn expert, I just play one on TV.
Want to join the SourceMod Discord server? Click here!

404UNF is offline
AeroAcrobat
AlliedModders Donor
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: lives in a circus
Old 05-30-2016 , 15:11   Re: Custom sounds not working?
Reply With Quote #5

Yes, do that.
I've all my custom content in tf/custom/ ...
- materials
- models
- sound

Quote:
Originally Posted by Powerlord View Post
You can put sound files in a subdirectory of custom, such as custom/mystuff/sound/myintro/intro.mp3. This is part of a virtual file system and will be seen as sound/myintro/intro.mp3 by both the server and client, meaning that the fastdownload location is still sound/myintro/intro.mp3
Search for something like: "steampipe custom files change"
__________________
AeroAcrobat is offline
Jillchang
Senior Member
Join Date: Mar 2014
Old 01-14-2017 , 12:25   Re: Custom sounds not working?
Reply With Quote #6

Quote:
Originally Posted by abrandnewday View Post
Code:
MP3 initialized with no sound cache, this may cause janking. [ unfgaming\allahuakbar.mp3 ]
Failed to create decoder for MP3 [ unfgaming\allahuakbar.mp3 ]
MP3 initialized with no sound cache, this may cause janking. [ unfgaming\allahuakbar.mp3 ]
Failed to create decoder for MP3 [ unfgaming\allahuakbar.mp3 ]
*** Invalid sample rate (0) for sound 'unfgaming\allahuakbar.mp3'.
*
What the heck? I just googled these errors....not finding much help. Anyone have any experience with this? Maybe someone knows how to fix it?

What did you do to fix it?
I am having the same issues and it is causing clients to crash due to excessive console spam.
Jillchang is offline
404UNF
( ͡ ͜ʖ ͡)
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: 🍁
Old 01-14-2017 , 19:08   Re: Custom sounds not working?
Reply With Quote #7

I haven't fixed it. I've avoided using custom sounds in anything I make as a result.

EDIT: Ah, I see; I tagged it [Solved] as I had gone through a bunch of threads I had made when [Solved] was added to AM, and tagged them as [Solved] if they were solved. I must've tagged this one because it hit a dead end.
__________________
I'm not a SourcePawn expert, I just play one on TV.
Want to join the SourceMod Discord server? Click here!


Last edited by 404UNF; 01-14-2017 at 19:13.
404UNF is offline
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:57.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Theme made by Freecode