Raised This Month: $9 Target: $400
 2% 

what should these variables be? (sv_rates)


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Author Message
ShiNxz
Junior Member
Join Date: Dec 2020
Old 01-28-2021 , 10:44   what should these variables be? (sv_rates)
Reply With Quote #1

sv_minrate x
sv_maxrate x
sv_minupdaterate x
sv_maxupdaterate x
sv_mincmdrate x
sv_maxcmdrate x

all of the servers are 128 tick rate.
ShiNxz is offline
ThePwnt
AlliedModders Donor
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Denmark
Old 01-28-2021 , 11:27   Re: what should these variables be? (sv_rates)
Reply With Quote #2

We don't have enough information about "slots", what plugins you are running.

Last edited by ThePwnt; 01-28-2021 at 11:27.
ThePwnt is offline
Ilusion9
Veteran Member
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Romania
Old 01-29-2021 , 06:14   Re: what should these variables be? (sv_rates)
Reply With Quote #3

sv_minrate 196608
sv_maxrate 0
sv_minupdaterate 128
sv_maxupdaterate 128
sv_mincmdrate 128
sv_maxcmdrate 128
__________________
Ilusion9 is offline
TomL.
Veteran Member
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Germany
Old 01-29-2021 , 20:27   Re: what should these variables be? (sv_rates)
Reply With Quote #4

Theoretically the higher/closer to your tickrate the better but use whatever works the best for you.
For example
Code:
sv_minrate 786432 //minimum bandwith rate
sv_maxrate 0 //maximum bandwith rate
sv_minupdaterate 128 //minimum update rate
sv_maxupdaterate 128 //maximum update rate
sv_mincmdrate 128 //minimum value for cl_cmdrate
Oh and sv_maxcmdrate doesn't even exist in csgo anymore.
TomL. is offline
Maxximou5
AlliedModders Donor
Join Date: Feb 2013
Old 01-29-2021 , 20:49   Re: what should these variables be? (sv_rates)
Reply With Quote #5

Quote:
Originally Posted by TomL. View Post
Oh and sv_maxcmdrate doesn't even exist in csgo anymore.
It exists, just hidden:
sm_cvar sv_maxcmdrate
[SM] Value of cvar "sv_maxcmdrate": "128.000000"

Setting rate values is totally unnecessary imo. CS:GO automatically sets your rate values like sv_maxupdaterate to 128, if you've set your tickrate to it. Raising minimum value rates like sv_minrate or sv_mincmdrate will cause issues with slower connections that cannot send that much data or if their network is limited, cause it have loss.
__________________
Maxximou5 is offline
Bacardi
Veteran Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: mom's basement
Old 01-30-2021 , 12:32   Re: what should these variables be? (sv_rates)
Reply With Quote #6

To the question, " what should these variables be? (sv_ rates) "
really depends about:
- map, how well it has made
- Max amount of players in server
- Some SM plugins, spamming extra data (chat messages, prop send, events, models, entities, etc. etc.)
- Server upload bandwidth
- Players with low PC performance (60 fps ?) or low ethernet bandwidth (How to recognize those ?)
- Players, can they use console and set rates by themself ? Common problem.

You get better view from in game graph, net_graph 5
In CS:GO, this is restricted to max 1 only. Need to uncap from server sv_max_allowed_net_graph

Because there is not exactly one real values to work for everyone,
in doubt, set rates higher as possible.
Bacardi is offline
TomL.
Veteran Member
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Germany
Old 01-30-2021 , 12:36   Re: what should these variables be? (sv_rates)
Reply With Quote #7

Quote:
Originally Posted by Maxximou5 View Post
It exists, just hidden:
sm_cvar sv_maxcmdrate
[SM] Value of cvar "sv_maxcmdrate": "128.000000"

Setting rate values is totally unnecessary imo. CS:GO automatically sets your rate values like sv_maxupdaterate to 128, if you've set your tickrate to it. Raising minimum value rates like sv_minrate or sv_mincmdrate will cause issues with slower connections that cannot send that much data or if their network is limited, cause it have loss.
I'm aware of that I meant as normal cvar with the point being that people should really stop copying old settings over and over without putting in any effort.
TomL. is offline
Maxximou5
AlliedModders Donor
Join Date: Feb 2013
Old 01-30-2021 , 21:07   Re: what should these variables be? (sv_rates)
Reply With Quote #8

Quote:
Originally Posted by TomL. View Post
I'm aware of that I meant as normal cvar with the point being that people should really stop copying old settings over and over without putting in any effort.
Correct, and I would agree.
__________________
Maxximou5 is offline
jeremyvillanueva
AlliedModders Donor
Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: dcord:Jeremy333#7632
Old 01-31-2021 , 00:42   Re: what should these variables be? (sv_rates)
Reply With Quote #9

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bacardi View Post
To the question, " what should these variables be? (sv_ rates) "
really depends about:
- map, how well it has made
- Max amount of players in server
- Some SM plugins, spamming extra data (chat messages, prop send, events, models, entities, etc. etc.)
- Server upload bandwidth
- Players with low PC performance (60 fps ?) or low ethernet bandwidth (How to recognize those ?)
- Players, can they use console and set rates by themself ? Common problem.

You get better view from in game graph, net_graph 5
In CS:GO, this is restricted to max 1 only. Need to uncap from server sv_max_allowed_net_graph

Because there is not exactly one real values to work for everyone,
in doubt, set rates higher as possible.
Thanks a lot for this information it complements what I've investigated.

I'm using AWS and it's pretty complicated to find the right settings to get no lag,

Explanation of the commands and server bandwidth values:
http://forums.srcds.com/viewtopic/1094

Server bandwidth Calculator:
https://www.reece-eu.net/drekrates.php

This is about net_split*
https://forums.alliedmods.net/showthread.php?t=303923

Like Bacardi said, you can check on game if the settings are correct:

Using the netgraph to validate:
https://www.etcwiki.org/wiki/Counter..._loss_and_ping

High tickrate and rate SRCDS FAQ [Eng]
https://hlmod.ru/threads/high-tickra...ds-faq-eng.61/

I can't use tickrate enabler in L4D2 because I just have bandwidth for 20 players with 16000 of rate.


Sample of my rate conf for l4d2 coop:

//tickrate 93//gameframe(tick) using tickrate_enabler extension
sm_cvar fps_max 93//Running 250tick server at 30fps

//sm_cvar sv_minrate 0//Bytes per sec server will send to the client, should not be limited
//sm_cvar sv_maxrate 0//The Maximum amount of data in Bytes per Second the server will send to the client. Conversely, the Maximum amount of data in Bytes per Second the Client can request from the Server.

//4Incoming Packet Size - size of incoming packets from the server
//Measured in bytes, this shows the size of the current incoming data packet from the server.
//5Incoming data rate = (Average Incoming Packet Size) x (Inbound packets per second) / 1000
//6IN Packets Per Second - times per second your computer is receiving info from the server
//Update per Second the server will send to the client
sm_cvar sv_minupdaterate 93
sm_cvar sv_maxupdaterate 93// Both values limited by a test at your server

//7Outgoing Packet Size - size of outgoing packets from your computer
//Measured in bytes, the size of each packet sent to the server.
//9OUT Packets Per Second - times per second your computer is sending info to the server
//Update per Second the server will receive to the client
sm_cvar sv_mincmdrate 93
sm_cvar sv_maxcmdrate 93// Both values limited by a test at your server

//Loss - packets that are not reaching the server
//Loss should be 0 all the time. If you have loss, chances are you cant fix it at your computer.
//Choke - packets that failed sending to or from server
//Choke should be below 10 during mid round play, or there will be lag.
//Choke:To get the max upload at your tickrate you can disable the splitpacket queuing

sm_cvar net_maxcleartime 0.00001//bypasses the rate limits sv_ rate

sm_cvar net_splitrate 2//split, 0 don't, 0>parts, don't go higher than 2
sm_cvar net_queued_packet_thread 1//Use a high priority thread to send queued packets out instead of sending them each frame.
//The Maximum amount of data in Bytes per Second the server
//will send to the client, or the Client can request from the Server.
sm_cvar net_splitpacket_maxrate 30000// Max value for your players Max bytes per second when queueing splitpacket chunks // need experimentation with high latency players
sm_cvar nb_update_frequency 0.01//common infected collision is calculated

sm_cvar z_vomit_velocity 3400//fixes the boomer

Tickrate Enabler Post:
https://forums.alliedmods.net/showthread.php?t=299669

More Explanation:
https://forums.alliedmods.net/showthread.php?p=2643825

Credits to everyone at the forum! Thanks!


I really hope it would help!!



Regards,

Last edited by jeremyvillanueva; 02-09-2021 at 01:57. Reason: Adding More info
jeremyvillanueva is offline
Bacardi
Veteran Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: mom's basement
Old 01-31-2021 , 02:19   Re: what should these variables be? (sv_rates)
Reply With Quote #10

Nooo...
Not this crap! https://www.reece-eu.net/drekrates.php

*edit
https://www.reece-eu.net/drekrates.php
PHP Code:
const    SAFE_THROUGHPUT_MULTIPLIER    0.95;

    const    
HLDS_MIN_DATA_RATE            4096;
    const    
HLDS_MIN_UPDATE_RATE        4;
    const    
HLDS_MAX_DATA_RATE            100000;
    const    
HLDS_MAX_UPDATE_RATE        100;

    const    
SVENDS_MIN_DATA_RATE        4096;
    const    
SVENDS_MIN_UPDATE_RATE        4;
    const    
SVENDS_MAX_DATA_RATE        100000;
    const    
SVENDS_MAX_UPDATE_RATE        100;

    const    
SRCDS_MIN_DATA_RATE            6144;
    const    
SRCDS_MIN_UPDATE_RATE        10;
    const    
SRCDS_MAX_DATA_RATE            30000;
    const    
SRCDS_MAX_UPDATE_RATE        100

Last edited by Bacardi; 01-31-2021 at 02:24.
Bacardi is offline
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:49.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Theme made by Freecode