Raised This Month: $12 Target: $400
 3% 

damage is messed up


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Author Message
12114
Senior Member
Join Date: Jan 2006
Old 10-23-2009 , 17:26   damage is messed up
Reply With Quote #1

i use the newest sh (1.2.0.1 i think).

problem: damage is messed up. Heroes like electro and human torch arent working properly. I set electros damage to 50 and it only does 6 or sometimes 12. Human torch i set to 100 (20dmg times 5) and it does 20 or sometimes 16 (wtf?).

edit: oh yeah and kamikaze does like 25 damage when its supposed to do 150.
edit2: demolition man doesnt do proper damage either (much less than its supposed to). i think i set demolition to 150 and it does like 25 or 50

Last edited by 12114; 10-23-2009 at 21:13.
12114 is offline
vittu
SuperHero Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: L.A. County, CA
Old 10-23-2009 , 19:58   Re: damage is messed up
Reply With Quote #2

it's called armor

Quote:
#define SH_ARMOR_RATIO 0.2 // Armor Takes 80% of the damage (0.2 in the SDK)
armor will reduce damage by 80%


maybe now you guys wont be setting 10million health


----------------

That seems backwards.... i'll recheck hl sdk

Last edited by vittu; 10-23-2009 at 20:23.
vittu is offline
Send a message via AIM to vittu Send a message via MSN to vittu Send a message via Yahoo to vittu
12114
Senior Member
Join Date: Jan 2006
Old 10-23-2009 , 20:43   Re: damage is messed up
Reply With Quote #3

yeah someone told me its armor and we tested it a few min ago. Was gonna edit my post but you beat me to it. It kinda makes these heroes useless (or at least the first couple of times you use them).. In my opinion armor should only reduce bullet damage

solved,thx.

Last edited by 12114; 10-23-2009 at 20:46.
12114 is offline
vittu
SuperHero Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: L.A. County, CA
Old 10-23-2009 , 20:55   Re: damage is messed up
Reply With Quote #4

That's correct sdk says armor lessens damage by 80%.


If I remember right jtp added this fix in, you guys complained about it. I just re-enabled it since it only makes sense that armor lessens damage. Though I left it so old heroes will still damage the same way as they used to since I can not easily change the type of damage they are supposed to be.
vittu is offline
Send a message via AIM to vittu Send a message via MSN to vittu Send a message via Yahoo to vittu
12114
Senior Member
Join Date: Jan 2006
Old 10-23-2009 , 21:02   Re: damage is messed up
Reply With Quote #5

Ok so how would i go about disabling this (i cant find this armor definition anywhere)? For now the only solution is to give everyone unlimited armor and increase the damage 5fold

Last edited by 12114; 10-23-2009 at 21:28.
12114 is offline
G-Dog
Senior Member
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Thunderstorm Central
Old 10-23-2009 , 22:19   Re: damage is messed up
Reply With Quote #6

open include/superheroconst.inc and change SH_ARMOR_RATIO to alter how armor effect's damage. If I understand the calculation's properly setting to 1.0 will disable the armor factor in damage. Afterwords recompile superhero.
__________________
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving isn't for you.
G-Dog is offline
Send a message via AIM to G-Dog
vittu
SuperHero Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: L.A. County, CA
Old 10-23-2009 , 22:26   Re: damage is messed up
Reply With Quote #7

unlimited armor? that would do the opposite of what you want.

There are many ways to change this option:
  1. you can increase damage

  2. you can set SH_ARMOR_RATIO to 1.0 in superheroconst.inc and recompile the core

  3. you can set it back the way it was before way by disabling the line
    Code:
    //if ( mode == SH_DMG_NORM ) damage = floatround(flNewDamage)
    in _sh_extra_damage() function of the core sma and recompile it.
    In effect this makes armor do absolutely nothing except deplete. Which is the way you want it.

  4. There was one other thing but i dont remember what it was now.



You can see in the TakeDamage function in the sdk armor is calculated in the same way (thought that is HL):
http://svn.tcwonline.org/viewvc.cgi/...7&root=amxmodx

Last edited by vittu; 10-23-2009 at 22:37.
vittu is offline
Send a message via AIM to vittu Send a message via MSN to vittu Send a message via Yahoo to vittu
12114
Senior Member
Join Date: Jan 2006
Old 10-23-2009 , 23:42   Re: damage is messed up
Reply With Quote #8

thanks i fixed it by defining sh_armor_ratio to 1.0. Was a little confused at first but then i realized you have to rename superheromod.amxx to superheromodnvault.amxx.

It's so much better now

oh and
Quote:
unlimited armor? that would do the opposite of what you want.
Quote:
and increase the damage 5fold
thats what i meant.

Last edited by 12114; 10-23-2009 at 23:47.
12114 is offline
Jelle
[b]MOAR CANDY[/b]
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Denmark
Old 10-25-2009 , 08:47   Re: damage is messed up
Reply With Quote #9

Sorry to interrupt...

But vittu, why did you do this. It seems to me like you do not like servers/people who set life to 99999999. What do you have against them?
__________________
No idea what to write here...
Jelle is offline
Send a message via MSN to Jelle
DarkGod
SourceMod DarkCrab
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Sweden
Old 10-25-2009 , 16:43   Re: damage is messed up
Reply With Quote #10

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jelle View Post
Sorry to interrupt...

But vittu, why did you do this. It seems to me like you do not like servers/people who set life to 99999999. What do you have against them?
Because else there would be no use for armor?
__________________
DarkGod is offline
Send a message via AIM to DarkGod Send a message via MSN to DarkGod
Reply



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 00:03.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Theme made by Freecode