Raised This Month: $51 Target: $400
 12% 

Additional hitzones?


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
XxAvalanchexX
Veteran Member
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: abort73.com
Old 01-11-2005 , 22:29  
Reply With Quote #11

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ronkkrop
You cant assign it an id...
Okay, so refer to my post. How does the mod figure out which hitbox is which (body, head, arm, etcetera)?
__________________
No longer around. Thanks your support, everyone! As always:
THIS ONES FOR YOU
3000 PTS
XxAvalanchexX is offline
Ronkkrop
Member
Join Date: May 2004
Old 01-11-2005 , 22:37  
Reply With Quote #12

Quote:
Originally Posted by XxAvalanchexX
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ronkkrop
You cant assign it an id...
Okay, so refer to my post. How does the mod figure out which hitbox is which (body, head, arm, etcetera)?
It's assigned an id in the mod or hl engine, i cant remember which. Its a single byte with 8 flags (obviously). So you use a bitwise operator to tell which hitbox (flag).
__________________
"I refuse to join any club that would have me as a member."
--Groucho Marx
Ronkkrop is offline
Send a message via ICQ to Ronkkrop Send a message via AIM to Ronkkrop Send a message via MSN to Ronkkrop Send a message via Yahoo to Ronkkrop
XxAvalanchexX
Veteran Member
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: abort73.com
Old 01-11-2005 , 23:54  
Reply With Quote #13

Yes, I know that. But how does the mod or HL engine figure out what which box is the right arm, which one is the left leg, which one is the head, and etcetera, so that it can assign it a bitwise flag?
__________________
No longer around. Thanks your support, everyone! As always:
THIS ONES FOR YOU
3000 PTS
XxAvalanchexX is offline
Geesu
Veteran Member
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Old 01-12-2005 , 09:31  
Reply With Quote #14

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ronkkrop
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geesu
Just catch traceline and see what entity the player is looking at and check curweapon to see if they fired
traceline wont tell you where in the body it hit
Yes it will, how do you think set_user_hitzones works?
__________________
Need war3ft help? DO NOT PM ME... Check the forums
Geesu is offline
Send a message via AIM to Geesu Send a message via MSN to Geesu
Ronkkrop
Member
Join Date: May 2004
Old 01-13-2005 , 16:57  
Reply With Quote #15

Quote:
Originally Posted by XxAvalanchexX
Yes, I know that. But how does the mod or HL engine figure out what which box is the right arm, which one is the left leg, which one is the head, and etcetera, so that it can assign it a bitwise flag?
thats the part that's hardcoded in the engine.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Geesu
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ronkkrop
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geesu
Just catch traceline and see what entity the player is looking at and check curweapon to see if they fired
traceline wont tell you where in the body it hit
Yes it will, how do you think set_user_hitzones works?
but not for the purpose of making a new hitzone.

set_user_hitzones only changes which hitzones will take damage and which will not. You can not add a hitzone with set_user_hitzones.
__________________
"I refuse to join any club that would have me as a member."
--Groucho Marx
Ronkkrop is offline
Send a message via ICQ to Ronkkrop Send a message via AIM to Ronkkrop Send a message via MSN to Ronkkrop Send a message via Yahoo to Ronkkrop
Da Bishop
Senior Member
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Chester County PA
Old 01-13-2005 , 17:46  
Reply With Quote #16

Quote:
StudioMdl will generate a list of the hitbox sizes for each bone of your creature. It generates these hitboxes automatically.You can cut and paste that information back into the .qc file and edit the information if necessary. Doing this will allow for a more accurate representation of the model for determining whether or not shots hit the creature.
straight from hl's source
__________________
Anything that is done can only be done better by urself - since life is a opinion make it the way urs feel its best

~live by it
Da Bishop is offline
Send a message via MSN to Da Bishop
Geesu
Veteran Member
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Old 01-14-2005 , 09:16  
Reply With Quote #17

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ronkkrop
Quote:
Originally Posted by XxAvalanchexX
Yes, I know that. But how does the mod or HL engine figure out what which box is the right arm, which one is the left leg, which one is the head, and etcetera, so that it can assign it a bitwise flag?
thats the part that's hardcoded in the engine.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Geesu
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ronkkrop
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geesu
Just catch traceline and see what entity the player is looking at and check curweapon to see if they fired
traceline wont tell you where in the body it hit
Yes it will, how do you think set_user_hitzones works?
but not for the purpose of making a new hitzone.

set_user_hitzones only changes which hitzones will take damage and which will not. You can not add a hitzone with set_user_hitzones.
LOL I wasn't suggesting that you could add a hitzone with set_user_hitzones.

I was just pointing out that traceline does in fact pass the hitzone that the player is looking at.
__________________
Need war3ft help? DO NOT PM ME... Check the forums
Geesu is offline
Send a message via AIM to Geesu Send a message via MSN to Geesu
Ronkkrop
Member
Join Date: May 2004
Old 01-14-2005 , 17:10  
Reply With Quote #18

Quote:
Originally Posted by Geesu
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ronkkrop
Quote:
Originally Posted by XxAvalanchexX
Yes, I know that. But how does the mod or HL engine figure out what which box is the right arm, which one is the left leg, which one is the head, and etcetera, so that it can assign it a bitwise flag?
thats the part that's hardcoded in the engine.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Geesu
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ronkkrop
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geesu
Just catch traceline and see what entity the player is looking at and check curweapon to see if they fired
traceline wont tell you where in the body it hit
Yes it will, how do you think set_user_hitzones works?
but not for the purpose of making a new hitzone.

set_user_hitzones only changes which hitzones will take damage and which will not. You can not add a hitzone with set_user_hitzones.
LOL I wasn't suggesting that you could add a hitzone with set_user_hitzones.

I was just pointing out that traceline does in fact pass the hitzone that the player is looking at.
well exactly how would this be of any use in this case? You cant get a point from it (x, y, z).


Da Bishop
isn't that only relevant when your making a mod?
__________________
"I refuse to join any club that would have me as a member."
--Groucho Marx
Ronkkrop is offline
Send a message via ICQ to Ronkkrop Send a message via AIM to Ronkkrop Send a message via MSN to Ronkkrop Send a message via Yahoo to Ronkkrop
XxAvalanchexX
Veteran Member
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: abort73.com
Old 01-14-2005 , 20:01  
Reply With Quote #19

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ronkkrop
Quote:
Originally Posted by XxAvalanchexX
Yes, I know that. But how does the mod or HL engine figure out what which box is the right arm, which one is the left leg, which one is the head, and etcetera, so that it can assign it a bitwise flag?
thats the part that's hardcoded in the engine.
ERGH! So it's hardcoded into the engine, great. But HOW does the engine figure out which box is which? Does it just cycle through every hitbox and give it an id? If so, how could you be sure to design your model specially to create them in the right order so it receives the appropiate id? Both leg hitboxes are the exact same size, so obviously it has to have some way of determining the two besides by size.
__________________
No longer around. Thanks your support, everyone! As always:
THIS ONES FOR YOU
3000 PTS
XxAvalanchexX is offline
Da Bishop
Senior Member
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Chester County PA
Old 01-14-2005 , 20:51  
Reply With Quote #20

Quote:
Originally Posted by Da Bishop
Quote:
StudioMdl will generate a list of the hitbox sizes for each bone of your creature. It generates these hitboxes automatically.You can cut and paste that information back into the .qc file and edit the information if necessary. Doing this will allow for a more accurate representation of the model for determining whether or not shots hit the creature.
straight from hl's source
__________________
Anything that is done can only be done better by urself - since life is a opinion make it the way urs feel its best

~live by it
Da Bishop is offline
Send a message via MSN to Da Bishop
Reply



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:40.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Theme made by Freecode