Raised This Month: $252 Target: $400
 63% 

Is more than 32 players possible ?


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Author Message
goodman3
Junior Member
Join Date: May 2011
Old 06-12-2018 , 11:02   Is more than 32 players possible ?
Reply With Quote #1

How about build 2 servers on a same computer and reflect each other's player as fake entities? Let the plugin do the synchronization. Like monsters in HL1 but controlled by other server.
Let's assume bandwidth is very high and server is high-end. Is it possible to do that? I'm curious.

Last edited by goodman3; 06-12-2018 at 11:02.
goodman3 is offline
Relaxing
Veteran Member
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Catlands
Old 06-12-2018 , 13:06   Re: Is more than 32 players possible ?
Reply With Quote #2

nu
__________________
Have A Relaxing Day | Wiki
aim_relaxing

Relaxing is offline
goodman3
Junior Member
Join Date: May 2011
Old 06-12-2018 , 21:00   Re: Is more than 32 players possible ?
Reply With Quote #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Relaxing View Post
nu
And the reason is? How about maps with no moveable entity like de_dust2?
goodman3 is offline
meTaLiCroSS
Gaze Upon My Hat
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Viņa del Mar, Chile
Old 06-13-2018 , 00:23   Re: Is more than 32 players possible ?
Reply With Quote #4

Client dll must be edited to realize that, so..
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by joropito View Post
You're right Metalicross
meTaLiCroSS is offline
goodman3
Junior Member
Join Date: May 2011
Old 06-13-2018 , 21:03   Re: Is more than 32 players possible ?
Reply With Quote #5

Quote:
Originally Posted by meTaLiCroSS View Post
Client dll must be edited to realize that, so..
Why ? Can't server just fool client by sending fake data packs?
goodman3 is offline
fysiks
Veteran Member
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Flatland, USA
Old 06-13-2018 , 21:45   Re: Is more than 32 players possible ?
Reply With Quote #6

Quote:
Originally Posted by goodman3 View Post
Why ? Can't server just fool client by sending fake data packs?
And where is the client going to store the data from these fake packets?
__________________
fysiks is offline
goodman3
Junior Member
Join Date: May 2011
Old 06-13-2018 , 22:03   Re: Is more than 32 players possible ?
Reply With Quote #7

Quote:
Originally Posted by fysiks View Post
And where is the client going to store the data from these fake packets?
Other players can be just npc monsters with player model in client's view, they don't necessary occupy 1-32 player slots

Last edited by goodman3; 06-13-2018 at 22:03.
goodman3 is offline
meTaLiCroSS
Gaze Upon My Hat
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Viņa del Mar, Chile
Old 06-13-2018 , 22:52   Re: Is more than 32 players possible ?
Reply With Quote #8

Quote:
Originally Posted by goodman3 View Post
Other players can be just npc monsters with player model in client's view, they don't necessary occupy 1-32 player slots
So you're asking for a completely rework of the engine. Start aiming to other games, because this one is old and unsupported for Valve now, CS client source code is closed source, reworks may have legal issues.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by joropito View Post
You're right Metalicross
meTaLiCroSS is offline
goodman3
Junior Member
Join Date: May 2011
Old 06-13-2018 , 23:03   Re: Is more than 32 players possible ?
Reply With Quote #9

Quote:
Originally Posted by meTaLiCroSS View Post
So you're asking for a completely rework of the engine. Start aiming to other games, because this one is old and unsupported for Valve now, CS client source code is closed source, reworks may have legal issues.
Why we need to change client code? Like I said fake players from another server are just npc monsters like hostage( or just pure model entity ). With plugin is fully capable to put these entites in server's side.
goodman3 is offline
fysiks
Veteran Member
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Flatland, USA
Old 06-14-2018 , 00:25   Re: Is more than 32 players possible ?
Reply With Quote #10

If it's possible, it will be extremely unlikely that it would be playable. IIRC, this has been asked before (it's been a while) so it might be worth trying to find that thread to see what was said there.
__________________
fysiks is offline
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:27.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Theme made by Freecode