Raised This Month: $ Target: $400
 0% 

Noob LAN questions


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Author Message
Pro Patria Finland
Senior Member
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: BaronPub.com
Old 08-15-2006 , 13:40   Noob LAN questions
Reply With Quote #1

So, I finally bought a second computer, to work as a server. When I started to do the LAN, I noticed that I have no idea what I am doing. I've done a network from computer to computer before, but now I need to do something like this:

So I have the two computers. The other computer will be on 24/7, but the actual work computer will be turned off for the night etc. (because it's too loud).

So, the ideal thing for me would be that the two computers would be networking together, but both of them would also be connected to internet. I have a cable modem. Any ideas? Do I just buy a second networkcard to the other computer that is on all the time? (and then make it a Proxy server??) Or is there a device that would connect the both computers together and to the internet (from the device)??

Please help me out with this. I've tried googling it, but all I get is something that doesn't give me the answers I need. I should be learning this at vocational school next year, but hey, any help sooner?
__________________
I am not a number. I am Gordon Freeman!
Pro Patria Finland is offline
sTyLeZ
Junior Member
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Canada
Old 08-15-2006 , 17:27   Re: Noob LAN questions
Reply With Quote #2

lol confused.... do you got a router?
__________________
www.reliablegaming.com - Rent a server today!
#reliablegaming @ gamesurge.net
32 Slot Deathmatch: 69.57.183.249:27015
24 Slot Dust2 24/7: 69.57.183.251:27015
sTyLeZ is offline
sTyLeZ
Junior Member
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Canada
Old 08-15-2006 , 17:28   Re: Noob LAN questions
Reply With Quote #3

oh i get it you want them both to be able to connect to the internet? but you only have one modem? and you have 2 computers?
__________________
www.reliablegaming.com - Rent a server today!
#reliablegaming @ gamesurge.net
32 Slot Deathmatch: 69.57.183.249:27015
24 Slot Dust2 24/7: 69.57.183.251:27015
sTyLeZ is offline
Bend3R
Veteran Member
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Sweden (Stockholm)
Old 08-15-2006 , 19:23   Re: Noob LAN questions
Reply With Quote #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by sTyLeZ View Post
oh i get it you want them both to be able to connect to the internet? but you only have one modem? and you have 2 computers?
yes he wanna connect them together with Internet.
Bend3R is offline
colby
Senior Member
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: NC
Old 08-15-2006 , 20:26   Re: Noob LAN questions
Reply With Quote #5

You can:

A) Connect your cable modem to your server machine, then have a crossover cable running from your server machine to your work machine. Then just use Windows ICS (The server machine MUST be on in order for the work machine to have access to the internet).

B) If your cable modem has DHCP/Firewall built in, you can simply buy a switch and connect it to the modem, and the modem will give out internal IPs to anyone connected to the switch.

C) Buy a router.
colby is offline
Send a message via AIM to colby
sTyLeZ
Junior Member
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Canada
Old 08-15-2006 , 21:06   Re: Noob LAN questions
Reply With Quote #6

yep what he said buy a router =]
__________________
www.reliablegaming.com - Rent a server today!
#reliablegaming @ gamesurge.net
32 Slot Deathmatch: 69.57.183.249:27015
24 Slot Dust2 24/7: 69.57.183.251:27015
sTyLeZ is offline
Pro Patria Finland
Senior Member
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: BaronPub.com
Old 08-16-2006 , 13:21   Re: Noob LAN questions
Reply With Quote #7

Haha, thanks guys. I am gonna buy a router tomorrow. NOw I finally understand what I should do, thanks to you and my brother. + Karma given to those who deserve
__________________
I am not a number. I am Gordon Freeman!
Pro Patria Finland is offline
sTyLeZ
Junior Member
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Canada
Old 08-16-2006 , 16:38   Re: Noob LAN questions
Reply With Quote #8

lol i just fixed my router last night with my friend becasue for some reason it would always like "crash" everytime id run a server after like 5 - 10 mins so i couldnt keep it online my server if i had my router so i had it off when i was running my server but now my friend helped me and im not able to run it all i want with it out crashing.
__________________
www.reliablegaming.com - Rent a server today!
#reliablegaming @ gamesurge.net
32 Slot Deathmatch: 69.57.183.249:27015
24 Slot Dust2 24/7: 69.57.183.251:27015
sTyLeZ is offline
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:52.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Theme made by Freecode