Raised This Month: $68 Target: $400
 17% 

Do I need to re-install Sourcebans if I'm gonna update Sourcemod?


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Author Message
Crystalline
Member
Join Date: Jul 2016
Old 09-01-2016 , 05:29   Do I need to re-install Sourcebans if I'm gonna update Sourcemod?
Reply With Quote #1

Sourcebans (the latest version) is already installed, but since sourcebans.smx is having a hard time being loaded and since I'm gettin' tons of errors, I'm gonna update Sourcemod.

Please, for the love of all that's holy, someone tell me I won't have to re-install sourcebans from scratch.
Crystalline is offline
Cooky
Veteran Member
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: 127.0.0.1
Old 09-01-2016 , 05:50   Re: Do I need to re-install Sourcebans if I'm gonna update Sourcemod?
Reply With Quote #2

No
Cooky is offline
Crystalline
Member
Join Date: Jul 2016
Old 09-01-2016 , 05:59   Re: Do I need to re-install Sourcebans if I'm gonna update Sourcemod?
Reply With Quote #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cooky View Post
No
Thank you, you beautiful person.
Crystalline is offline
Bacardi
Veteran Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: mom's basement
Old 09-01-2016 , 06:04   Re: Do I need to re-install Sourcebans if I'm gonna update Sourcemod?
Reply With Quote #4

Upgrading SourceMod
Upgrading SM, you just need replace files inside few folders:
  • sourcemod/bin
  • sourcemod/extensions
  • sourcemod/gamedata
  • sourcemod/translations
  • sourcemod/plugins

before uploading server files, make sure you have unloaded MM:S and SM, or otherwise files which are in use not get overwritten during process.
__________________
Do not Private Message @me
Bacardi is offline
Crystalline
Member
Join Date: Jul 2016
Old 09-01-2016 , 06:26   Re: Do I need to re-install Sourcebans if I'm gonna update Sourcemod?
Reply With Quote #5

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bacardi View Post
Upgrading SourceMod
Upgrading SM, you just need replace files inside few folders:
  • sourcemod/bin
  • sourcemod/extensions
  • sourcemod/gamedata
  • sourcemod/translations
  • sourcemod/plugins

before uploading server files, make sure you have unloaded MM:S and SM, or otherwise files which are in use not get overwritten during process.
By MMS and SM you mean Metamod and Sourcemod, right? How do I unload them?

I can just stop my server for a while and then the files won't be in use, right?

Last edited by Crystalline; 09-01-2016 at 06:28.
Crystalline is offline
Bacardi
Veteran Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: mom's basement
Old 09-01-2016 , 07:17   Re: Do I need to re-install Sourcebans if I'm gonna update Sourcemod?
Reply With Quote #6

Yes you can shutdown server also.

Or removing metamod.vdf file from server and reboot. After upgrade move file back.
__________________
Do not Private Message @me

Last edited by Bacardi; 09-01-2016 at 07:17.
Bacardi is offline
Cooky
Veteran Member
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: 127.0.0.1
Old 09-01-2016 , 07:18   Re: Do I need to re-install Sourcebans if I'm gonna update Sourcemod?
Reply With Quote #7

Quote:
Originally Posted by Crystalline View Post
By MMS and SM you mean Metamod and Sourcemod, right? How do I unload them?

I can just stop my server for a while and then the files won't be in use, right?
Yes, stopping the gameserver would also work. I am confused now.. you were asking reinstalling Sourcebans was needed, right?
Cooky is offline
Crystalline
Member
Join Date: Jul 2016
Old 09-01-2016 , 07:51   Re: Do I need to re-install Sourcebans if I'm gonna update Sourcemod?
Reply With Quote #8

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cooky View Post
Yes, stopping the gameserver would also work. I am confused now.. you were asking reinstalling Sourcebans was needed, right?
Yes.
Crystalline is offline
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:46.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Theme made by Freecode