Raised This Month: $51 Target: $400
 12% 

[L4D] Pounce Announce 1.5


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
crazydog
AlliedModders Donor
Join Date: Jan 2006
Old 06-05-2009 , 21:41   Re: [L4D] Pounce Announce 1.2
Reply With Quote #11

I made some changes to your plugin, and I was wondering if you could add them in, since I really destroyed your code when I did it.

1) Option to change between floating point representation of damage and integer representation
2) Option to show distance in ft (Maps, architecture and prop models use a scale of 1 foot = 16 units.)
crazydog is offline
n0limit
Senior Member
Join Date: May 2009
Old 06-06-2009 , 00:25   Re: [L4D] Pounce Announce 1.2
Reply With Quote #12

Quote:
Originally Posted by crazydog View Post
I made some changes to your plugin, and I was wondering if you could add them in, since I really destroyed your code when I did it.

1) Option to change between floating point representation of damage and integer representation
2) Option to show distance in ft (Maps, architecture and prop models use a scale of 1 foot = 16 units.)
1. At the moment, just change the %.01f damage to %d for an integer. If there is any more desire for this, I have no problem making it a cvar. You may also need to change new Float:dmg to new dmg (removing the cast).

2. I was wondering this, thanks for verifying the foot distance. I've added the distance in feet.

I can understand why some people wouldn't want to see "over a distance of 1017 (85 feet)" though, so I've also added the cvar pounceannounce_showdistance. Set it to 0 to not show any distance.

Thanks for the suggestions!
n0limit is offline
El Goretto
Junior Member
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: France
Old 06-08-2009 , 07:04   Re: [L4D] Pounce Announce 1.3
Reply With Quote #13

Good idea...
and is it now possible to do the same but with a cvar enabling "meters" distances?
El Goretto is offline
n0limit
Senior Member
Join Date: May 2009
Old 06-09-2009 , 12:18   Re: [L4D] Pounce Announce 1.3
Reply With Quote #14

Quote:
Originally Posted by El Goretto View Post
Good idea...
and is it now possible to do the same but with a cvar enabling "meters" distances?
Of course, how close-minded of me
The new version (1.4) includes meters.

*EDIT*
Sorry to those who downloaded this version (pam.sp), I think this one had an error. Make sure to get 1.4 from first post.

Last edited by n0limit; 06-09-2009 at 18:46.
n0limit is offline
Downtown1
Veteran Member
Join Date: Mar 2004
Old 06-09-2009 , 14:25   Re: [L4D] Pounce Announce 1.3
Reply With Quote #15

So did you figure out the (distance) equation for pounce damage?
Downtown1 is offline
n0limit
Senior Member
Join Date: May 2009
Old 06-09-2009 , 15:08   Re: [L4D] Pounce Announce 1.3
Reply With Quote #16

Quote:
Originally Posted by Downtown1 View Post
So did you figure out the (distance) equation for pounce damage?
Yep! The problem was with the event lunge_pounce, which gave an incomplete distance. The way this plugin works is by calculating the distance from the previous lunge to the pounce position (using the GetVectorDistance() function). After that, the formula is simply
Code:
new Float:dmg = (((distance - float(min)) / float(max - min)) * float(maxDmg)) + 1;
or
Code:
(((distance - z_pounce_damage_range_min) / (z_pounce_damage_range_max - z_pounce_damage_range_min)) * z_hunter_max_pounce_bonus_damage) + 1
If you're interested, Fyren and I had a back and forth about it in this thread: http://forums.alliedmods.net/showthread.php?t=93207
n0limit is offline
Downtown1
Veteran Member
Join Date: Mar 2004
Old 06-10-2009 , 00:06   Re: [L4D] Pounce Announce 1.4
Reply With Quote #17

What's the unit of distance? The in-game units (16 units = 1 foot)?
Downtown1 is offline
El Goretto
Junior Member
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: France
Old 06-10-2009 , 09:24   Re: [L4D] Pounce Announce 1.3
Reply With Quote #18

Quote:
Originally Posted by n0limit View Post
Of course, how close-minded of me
The new version (1.4) includes meters.
Woohooo, thank you a lot
El Goretto is offline
n0limit
Senior Member
Join Date: May 2009
Old 06-10-2009 , 10:56   Re: [L4D] Pounce Announce 1.4
Reply With Quote #19

Quote:
Originally Posted by Downtown1 View Post
What's the unit of distance? The in-game units (16 units = 1 foot)?
Yep, according to crazydog's previous post (hope he's right).
n0limit is offline
duke24m
Junior Member
Join Date: Apr 2009
Old 06-11-2009 , 02:32   Re: [L4D] Pounce Announce 1.4
Reply With Quote #20

It announced the pounce distance in campaign mode for me.

Pretty sure it did, although I was fairy drunk at the time. Just something to check out.
duke24m is offline
Reply



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:48.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Theme made by Freecode