Raised This Month: $51 Target: $400
 12% 

[TF2] Setting a player to use a custom model's collision hull?


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
friagram
Veteran Member
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Silicon Valley
Old 06-04-2014 , 21:45   Re: [TF2] Setting a player to use a custom model's collision hull?
Reply With Quote #11

Stop saying you can't because you can.
You need to build the model with appropriate physics and edit the bounds for the hitboxes. When you set the model on the player, they get those hitboxes.

Check some of the models in my blog if you want examples. Most of the weird shaped ones like pokemon and the quadruped ponies have very different hitboxes.

The server has to have the models however, else it will use the default ones.

Note that this is for hit detection only.

You can set the specified mins/maxs, and it will "scale" them.
For example, hhh is 2x the size of a normal player. If you give him specified vecs 2x as large, hit detection will span across his model.

Likewise, you could set them smaller for a shorter model.

If you want to change the hull of the player outside of hit detection (view height, ability to crouch lower, go through smaller doors, etc) you need to set the modelsize netprop.
__________________
Profile - Plugins
Add me on steam if you are seeking sp/map/model commissions.

Last edited by friagram; 06-04-2014 at 21:50.
friagram is offline
arthurdead
Senior Member
Join Date: Jul 2013
Old 06-04-2014 , 22:35   Re: [TF2] Setting a player to use a custom model's collision hull?
Reply With Quote #12



the You sign is an octagon :O
    Can't

oh man i totally forgot to bring an You sign this is embarrassing
                                   Can
arthurdead is offline
nergal
Veteran Member
Join Date: Apr 2012
Old 06-04-2014 , 22:46   Re: [TF2] Setting a player to use a custom model's collision hull?
Reply With Quote #13

Quote:
Originally Posted by friagram View Post
Stop saying you can't because you can.
You need to build the model with appropriate physics and edit the bounds for the hitboxes. When you set the model on the player, they get those hitboxes.

Check some of the models in my blog if you want examples. Most of the weird shaped ones like pokemon and the quadruped ponies have very different hitboxes.

The server has to have the models however, else it will use the default ones.

Note that this is for hit detection only.

You can set the specified mins/maxs, and it will "scale" them.
For example, hhh is 2x the size of a normal player. If you give him specified vecs 2x as large, hit detection will span across his model.

Likewise, you could set them smaller for a shorter model.

If you want to change the hull of the player outside of hit detection (view height, ability to crouch lower, go through smaller doors, etc) you need to set the modelsize netprop.
hhh as in the vsh/ff2 hhh or the halloween boss itself?

Also, I just want to change the hit detection/collisions as I'm using a model that was created with the intent as being used as a prop for a map but it looks very nice as I want to use it as a player model.

My goal here is to change BOTH hit detection and collision hull for the specific model.

Off topic: cool blog!
__________________

Last edited by nergal; 06-04-2014 at 22:49.
nergal is offline
noodleboy347
AlliedModders Donor
Join Date: Mar 2009
Old 06-05-2014 , 00:10   Re: [TF2] Setting a player to use a custom model's collision hull?
Reply With Quote #14

Quote:
Originally Posted by friagram View Post
Stop saying you can't because you can.
You need to build the model with appropriate physics and edit the bounds for the hitboxes. When you set the model on the player, they get those hitboxes.

Check some of the models in my blog if you want examples. Most of the weird shaped ones like pokemon and the quadruped ponies have very different hitboxes.

The server has to have the models however, else it will use the default ones.

Note that this is for hit detection only.

You can set the specified mins/maxs, and it will "scale" them.
For example, hhh is 2x the size of a normal player. If you give him specified vecs 2x as large, hit detection will span across his model.

Likewise, you could set them smaller for a shorter model.

If you want to change the hull of the player outside of hit detection (view height, ability to crouch lower, go through smaller doors, etc) you need to set the modelsize netprop.
You can't via Sourcemod. You certainly can by creating a custom model. But this is the Scripting forum.
noodleboy347 is offline
Mitchell
~lick~
Join Date: Mar 2010
Old 06-05-2014 , 09:33   Re: [TF2] Setting a player to use a custom model's collision hull?
Reply With Quote #15

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr. Greg House View Post
Please point me to where it says that it cannot be changed? I'm asking this because Model Scale seems to ignore this page, and when you resize a player it will change their collision hull box.
Just wondering, not trying to be rude or anything, but it is called 'g_DefaultViewVectors' hence the 'DEFAULT' part of that, meaning it's meant to be changed.

Quote:
Originally Posted by noodleboy347 View Post
You can't via Sourcemod. You certainly can by creating a custom model. But this is the Scripting forum.
Applying said 'new model' would mean that he would have to use sourcemod.

Last edited by Mitchell; 06-05-2014 at 09:37.
Mitchell is offline
Dr. Greg House
Professional Troll,
Part-Time Asshole
Join Date: Jun 2010
Old 06-05-2014 , 13:20   Re: [TF2] Setting a player to use a custom model's collision hull?
Reply With Quote #16

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mitchell View Post
Please point me to where it says that it cannot be changed? I'm asking this because Model Scale seems to ignore this page, and when you resize a player it will change their collision hull box.
Just wondering, not trying to be rude or anything, but it is called 'g_DefaultViewVectors' hence the 'DEFAULT' part of that, meaning it's meant to be changed.[...]
Great, but you can't change the aspect ratio.
He was asking whether he could set the hull box so it fits an arbitrary custom model. The answer is no.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mitchell View Post
[...]Applying said 'new model' would mean that he would have to use sourcemod.
Now I wonder why he didn't ask on MSDN since his server might be running Windows. Maybe it is running Linux then...
Not meant to be rude or anything, but if I simply called BS without a comparison you wouldn't "believe" me either way.
__________________
Santa or Satan?

Watch out when you're paying people for private requests! Most stuff already exists and you can hardly assess the quality of what you'll get, and if it's worth the money.

Last edited by Dr. Greg House; 06-05-2014 at 13:31.
Dr. Greg House is offline
friagram
Veteran Member
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Silicon Valley
Old 06-05-2014 , 14:59   Re: [TF2] Setting a player to use a custom model's collision hull?
Reply With Quote #17

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mitchell View Post
Please point me to where it says that it cannot be changed? I'm asking this because Model Scale seems to ignore this page, and when you resize a player it will change their collision hull box.
Just wondering, not trying to be rude or anything, but it is called 'g_DefaultViewVectors' hence the 'DEFAULT' part of that, meaning it's meant to be changed.



Applying said 'new model' would mean that he would have to use sourcemod.
I was trying to change view height, but it seems only scale does it.
There is a viewheight netprop, but it gets reset every frame, and changing it only works for crouching.


For any model you could probably try changing the hit detection from vphysics to bbox, and then set the bbox. Works for props, but did not try for players.
__________________
Profile - Plugins
Add me on steam if you are seeking sp/map/model commissions.

Last edited by friagram; 06-05-2014 at 15:01.
friagram is offline
nergal
Veteran Member
Join Date: Apr 2012
Old 06-05-2014 , 16:08   Re: [TF2] Setting a player to use a custom model's collision hull?
Reply With Quote #18

For the record, this is for the vehicle mod I am making right now.

but I'm making the player as the vehicle instead.

which reminds me, I need to obtain a destroyed version of my models.

to Friagram: As a recap of what you said, the model MUST have a custom collision box AND custom hitboxes correct? Is there anything else that's crucial for this?
__________________

Last edited by nergal; 06-05-2014 at 16:13.
nergal is offline
friagram
Veteran Member
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Silicon Valley
Old 06-05-2014 , 23:13   Re: [TF2] Setting a player to use a custom model's collision hull?
Reply With Quote #19

You should make animations for left/right so the wheels shift and steering wheel turns.
Forward/back so they spin the correct direction when players move.
You could just ust collision break models for death (gibs)
__________________
Profile - Plugins
Add me on steam if you are seeking sp/map/model commissions.
friagram is offline
nergal
Veteran Member
Join Date: Apr 2012
Old 06-06-2014 , 00:28   Re: [TF2] Setting a player to use a custom model's collision hull?
Reply With Quote #20

Quote:
Originally Posted by friagram View Post
You should make animations for left/right so the wheels shift and steering wheel turns.
Forward/back so they spin the correct direction when players move.
You could just ust collision break models for death (gibs)
welll......

it's a tank lol, not the mvm tank either. I've commissioned a TF2-Styled T-72 tank (renamed T-F2) that I'm going to code up as a custom class mod.

of course, I'll be releasing everything here. I just need some help getting down certain issues such as this collision hull and hitbox detection thing.
__________________
nergal is offline
Reply



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 19:52.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Theme made by Freecode