Raised This Month: $32 Target: $400
 8% 

CS:GO client-side coding question to get game stats

Post New Thread Reply   

kadim
Old 01-28-2015 , 05:00   CS:GO client-side coding question to get game stats
Reply With Quote #1

Hi everyone,

I need to modify CS:GO in order to intercept some game related events (like bomb is planted and ticking, player of either team dies and etc). I don't need to change the behavior, so we can assume that logging information to the file would be enough for my needs.

I have some c++ experience and I have absolutely no HL or Source Engine experience. So I was very confused with all those tools available in Steam (Source SDK, Source SDK Base 2006/2007, Source SDK Base 2013 Singleplayer/Multiplayer/Dedicated Server) and then also source code named source-sdk-2013 on github (https://github.com/ValveSoftware/source-sdk-2013) and then hl2sdk-sdk2013 and hl2sdk-csgo (https://github.com/alliedmodders/hl2sdk/tree/csgo) from alliedmodders and then MetaMode:Source source codes (https://github.com/alliedmodders/metamod-source). So it looks like there is a lot of programmability options however I don't see how they all are connected and if any of them fit my needs.

Also it looks like CS:GO is not as "open" as other games (https://developer.valvesoftware.com/...The_Source_SDK) so I guess it's not open-source and I can't build original CS:GO client.dll by myself, correct me if I'm wrong.

So far I was able to compile and install Metamod:Source plugin. And then modify, compile and launch sample_mm metamod-plugin (https://github.com/alliedmodders/met...ster/sample_mm).

There I was able to intercept some of events using IGameEventManager2, but I catch all the events (when running CS:GO locally with bots), while I need only those that are related to my player. Also I was not able to find where I get information on, for example, which players are still alive and which are dead.

So my question would be: