Raised This Month: $12 Target: $400
 3% 

SteamTools not loading on Synergy (SM 1.6.3)


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
asherkin
SourceMod Developer
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: OnGameFrame()
Old 12-07-2014 , 15:38   Re: SteamTools not loading on Synergy (SM 1.6.3)
Reply With Quote #11

There is no such thing as Source 2009 any more, the 4 games that used it got split into distinct engine branches (TF2, HL2:DM, CS:S, and DoD:S), and then a SDK was forked off of as well to become SDK 2013 (which is what Synergy uses as of a recent update). All those branches have continued development separately and SteamTools only follows TF2, thus Synergy is indeed not supported. That said, based on the thread you linked and the fact it loads with 1.6.2, your error is almost certainly down to a SourceMod issue and nothing to do with SteamTools. I also suggest not calling people idiots when you're incorrect (or ever, really).
__________________

Last edited by asherkin; 12-07-2014 at 15:38.
asherkin is offline
Sarabveer
Veteran Member
Join Date: Feb 2014
Old 12-07-2014 , 16:41   Re: SteamTools not loading on Synergy (SM 1.6.3)
Reply With Quote #12

Quote:
Originally Posted by asherkin View Post
There is no such thing as Source 2009 any more, the 4 games that used it got split into distinct engine branches (TF2, HL2M, CS:S, and DoD:S), and then a SDK was forked off of as well to become SDK 2013 (which is what Synergy uses as of a recent update). All those branches have continued development separately and SteamTools only follows TF2, thus Synergy is indeed not supported. That said, based on the thread you linked and the fact it loads with 1.6.2, your error is almost certainly down to a SourceMod issue and nothing to do with SteamTools. I also suggest not calling people idiots when you're incorrect (or ever, really).
So is there any way to use [ANY] SteamTools Game Description Override without SteamTools, like use the SteamWorks extension instead?
__________________
Sarabveer is offline
bl4nk
SourceMod Developer
Join Date: Jul 2007
Old 12-07-2014 , 17:16   Re: SteamTools not loading on Synergy (SM 1.6.3)
Reply With Quote #13

Code:
native bool:SteamWorks_SetGameDescription(String:sDesc[]);
bl4nk is offline
Sarabveer
Veteran Member
Join Date: Feb 2014
Old 12-07-2014 , 18:46   Re: SteamTools not loading on Synergy (SM 1.6.3)
Reply With Quote #14

Quote:
Originally Posted by bl4nk View Post
Code:
native bool:SteamWorks_SetGameDescription(String:sDesc[]);
Nice, Ill try this!
__________________
Sarabveer is offline
Sarabveer
Veteran Member
Join Date: Feb 2014
Old 12-07-2014 , 19:04   Re: SteamTools not loading on Synergy (SM 1.6.3)
Reply With Quote #15

Ok, I did this:

PHP Code:
#pragma semicolon 1

#include <sourcemod>
#include <SteamWorks>

#define PLUGIN_VERSION "1.1.4"

new Handle:descriptionCvar INVALID_HANDLE;

public 
Plugin:myinfo = {
    
name        "[Any] SteamTools Game Description Override",
    
author      "Dr. McKay, Sarabveer(VEER™)",
    
description "Overrides the default game description (i.e. \"Team Fortress\") in the server browser using SteamTools",
    
version     PLUGIN_VERSION,
    
url         "https://forums.alliedmods.net/showthread.php?p=1583349"
};

public 
OnPluginStart() {
    
descriptionCvar CreateConVar("st_gamedesc_override""""What to override your game description to");
    
CreateConVar("st_gamedesc_override_version"PLUGIN_VERSION"SteamTools Game Description Override Version"FCVAR_DONTRECORD|FCVAR_NOTIFY);
    
decl String:description[128];
    
GetConVarString(descriptionCvardescriptionsizeof(description));
    
HookConVarChange(descriptionCvarCvarChanged);
    
native bool:SteamWorks_SetGameDescription(String:description[]);
}

public 
CvarChanged(Handle:cvar, const String:oldVal[], const String:newVal[]) {
    
decl String:description[128];
    
GetConVarString(descriptionCvardescriptionsizeof(description));
    
native bool:SteamWorks_SetGameDescription(String:description[]);
}

public 
Callback_VersionConVarChanged(Handle:convar, const String:oldValue[], const String:newValue[]) {
    
ResetConVar(convar);

But I get these errors when Compiling:
Code:
SourcePawn Compiler 1.6.3
Copyright (c) 1997-2006, ITB CompuPhase, (C)2004-2008 AlliedModders, LLC

sw_gamedesc_override.sp(24) : error 029: invalid expression, assumed zero
sw_gamedesc_override.sp(24) : warning 221: label name "bool" shadows tag name
sw_gamedesc_override.sp(24) : error 029: invalid expression, assumed zero
sw_gamedesc_override.sp(24) : warning 203: symbol is never used: "bool"
sw_gamedesc_override.sp(30) : error 029: invalid expression, assumed zero
sw_gamedesc_override.sp(30) : warning 221: label name "bool" shadows tag name
sw_gamedesc_override.sp(30) : error 029: invalid expression, assumed zero
sw_gamedesc_override.sp(30) : warning 203: symbol is never used: "bool"

4 Errors.
__________________
Sarabveer is offline
bl4nk
SourceMod Developer
Join Date: Jul 2007
Old 12-07-2014 , 19:44   Re: SteamTools not loading on Synergy (SM 1.6.3)
Reply With Quote #16

You would just do the following, not copy the whole function declaration:
Code:
SteamWorks_SetGameDescription(description);
bl4nk is offline
Sarabveer
Veteran Member
Join Date: Feb 2014
Old 12-07-2014 , 20:07   Re: SteamTools not loading on Synergy (SM 1.6.3)
Reply With Quote #17

Here we go!

CVAR: sw_gamedesc_override
Attached Files
File Type: inc SteamWorks.inc (15.2 KB, 368 views)
File Type: sp Get Plugin or Get Source (sw_gamedesc_override.sp - 336 views - 1.3 KB)
File Type: smx sw_gamedesc_override.smx (3.3 KB, 256 views)
__________________
Sarabveer is offline
Sarabveer
Veteran Member
Join Date: Feb 2014
Old 12-07-2014 , 21:48   Re: SteamTools not loading on Synergy (SM 1.6.3)
Reply With Quote #18

Here the thread for the plugin on top

https://forums.alliedmods.net/showthread.php?t=252712
__________________
Sarabveer is offline
Ninetailz
Junior Member
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: New York, USA
Old 12-25-2014 , 14:28   Re: SteamTools not loading on Synergy (SM 1.6.3)
Reply With Quote #19

Worked fine for me:
Quote:
sm exts load steamtools
[STEAMTOOLS] Initial loading stage complete...
[STEAMTOOLS] Trying method 1 ...
[STEAMTOOLS] Method 1 worked!
[STEAMTOOLS] Loading complete.
[SM] Loaded extension steamtools.ext.so successfully.
sm exts list
[SM] Displaying 10 extensions:
[01] Automatic Updater (1.6.3): Updates SourceMod gamedata files
[02] Webternet (1.6.3): Extension for interacting with URLs
[03] TF2 Tools (1.6.3): TF2 extended functionality
[04] BinTools (1.6.3): Low-level C/C++ Calling API
[05] SDK Hooks (1.6.3): Source SDK Hooks
[06] SDK Tools (1.6.3): Source SDK Tools
[07] Client Preferences (1.6.3): Saves client preference settings
[08] SQLite (1.6.3): SQLite Driver
[09] Top Menus (1.6.3): Creates sorted nested menus
[10] SteamTools (0.9.0+d5d083: SteamWorks for SourceMod.
Ninetailz is offline
Sarabveer
Veteran Member
Join Date: Feb 2014
Old 12-25-2014 , 15:24   Re: SteamTools not loading on Synergy (SM 1.6.3)
Reply With Quote #20

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ninetailz View Post
Worked fine for me:
For Synergy, not TF2 man.
__________________
Sarabveer is offline
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:12.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Theme made by Freecode