Raised This Month: $51 Target: $400
 12% 

Request For Suggestions


Post New Thread Closed Thread   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Author Message
Johnny got his gun
Veteran Member
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Tokyo
Old 03-21-2004 , 12:36   Request For Suggestions
#1

Hi everyone - this is a message to all you scripters out there, in particular you who like modding Counter-strike using AMX Mod X.

For the first releases (0.1, 0.15) of AMX Mod X we have implemented the cstrike module which you can use to read/modify data specific to CS gameplay. Some of the natives (which means functions, really) in this module have been available before to AMX Mod, but some are new:
  • * cs_get_user_deaths/cs_set_user_deaths - get/set number of deaths a player has (this was really in AMX Mod too, but was undocumented in the include files)
    * cs_get_hostage_follow/cs_set_hostage_follow - get/set what entity (could be a player, or something else) a hostage is following
    * cs_get_hostage_id - every hostage in CS has a ID number. This number should not be mistaken for the hostage's index as an entity. It is used internally to find out which hostages to show on radar etc.
    * cs_get_user_backpackammo/cs_set_user_backpackammo - change amount of ammo in backpack. You can use this to increase/decrease shells, grenades... How about giving people 100 grenades and see what they do?
    * cs_get_user_defusekit/cs_set_user_defusekit - give player a defusekit.
    * cs_get_user_inside_buyzone - find out if user is inside buyzone.
    * cs_get_user_nvg/cs_set_user_nvg - give night vision goggles to player.
    * cs_get_user_plant/cs_set_user_plant - find out/set if player can plant a bomb if he has one. Normally only terrorist who have bomb can do this. Now you could have also counter-terrorists be able to do this. Maybe someone will make a plugin to allow CTs to pick up dropped bombs and defuse them by letting them be able to plant it, and then defuse as usual?
    * cs_get_user_team/cs_set_user_team - this is more powerful than using a script and forcing player to issue commands to select team in the menus. You could write a team balancing plugin like PTB and be sure that you can transfer a player whenever you want to and don't have to worry about CS:s "limits".
    * cs_get_user_vip/cs_set_user_vip - Find out if user is VIP, or you could set a user to be VIP. This won't change his model (you could that using cs_set_user_model), however this could for instance be used to unset a user from being VIP, so that he will be able to select a team properly. Normally as a VIP the only way you could switch teams would be to reconnect...
    * cs_set_weapon_burstmode/cs_set_weapon_silenced - Set/unset if a weapon is in burstmode (glock, famas) or is silenced (usp, m4a1).

So what I've done here is maybe given you some ideas of what to do with this new stuff. Often it's only your own ideas that are the limit of what you can do. Then there are natives...

If you have any more suggestions of what data in Counter-strike you would want to be able to read/modify, just drop me a reply in our forums. I have tried to think of more stuff that could be cool, useful, or even possible to change in Counter-strike. You never know when someone finds a use for a certain possibility to change certain values.
If you make a suggestion, I will try to find how to make a native for it. There are no guarantees I will succeed in making a native for everything, but at least I will try.
Johnny got his gun is offline
BAILOPAN
Join Date: Jan 2004
Old 03-21-2004 , 14:16  
#2

Blocking rounds from ending.
__________________
egg
BAILOPAN is offline
Freecode
Never Fall Asleep
Join Date: Jan 2004
Old 03-21-2004 , 14:59  
#3

Fly to outer space. LOL jk
i see you changes to nvg. great.
ill think of some and post them later.
Freecode is offline
IceMouse[WrG]
Senior Member
Join Date: Mar 2004
Old 03-21-2004 , 16:15  
#4

I have a suggestion to add
Entity's use forward
Secondly, will cs_set_weapon_silenced play the silencer anim/put on the silencer... Or just change the sound?
IceMouse[WrG] is offline
Send a message via AIM to IceMouse[WrG] Send a message via MSN to IceMouse[WrG] Send a message via Yahoo to IceMouse[WrG]
MagicShot
Senior Member
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: MN
Old 03-21-2004 , 20:38   Hmm
#5

Is it possible to have a the ability to add additional custom weapons, like a flame thrower... like model and everything or would this be also a client restriction?

Is it possible to add a way to change the spawn points without haveing to edit the map?
__________________
|v|agic$hot
.
Without a Sound
MagicShot is offline
Send a message via MSN to MagicShot Send a message via Yahoo to MagicShot
Freecode
Never Fall Asleep
Join Date: Jan 2004
Old 03-21-2004 , 20:58   Re: Hmm
#6

Quote:
Originally Posted by MagicShot

Is it possible to add a way to change the spawn points without haveing to edit the map?
yes it is. remove the default spawn and make a new spawning entity and set its origin.

Also here is the way to add new weapons
http://planethalflife.com/fixxxer/hltuts/hls_wtohud.htm
Freecode is offline
BAILOPAN
Join Date: Jan 2004
Old 03-21-2004 , 21:14  
#7

NO. You CANNOT remove spawn points in CS Steam. Nor can you create them.

Don't do it!

Reference CSDM for a decent algorithm for moving the original spawn points around.
__________________
egg
BAILOPAN is offline
Freecode
Never Fall Asleep
Join Date: Jan 2004
Old 03-21-2004 , 21:17  
#8

Quote:
Originally Posted by BAILOPAN
NO. You CANNOT remove spawn points in CS Steam. Nor can you create them.

Don't do it!

Reference CSDM for a decent algorithm for moving the original spawn points around.
we were able to do that earlier. i guess steam f****** all up.
EDIT:
So yeas just find an entity and move it
Freecode is offline
MagicShot
Senior Member
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: MN
Old 03-21-2004 , 21:17   lol
#9

Quote:
Originally Posted by BAILOPAN
NO. You CANNOT remove spawn points in CS Steam. Nor can you create them.

Don't do it!

Reference CSDM for a decent algorithm for moving the original spawn points around.
I know u can't remove them but I mean a way to to scirpt say move player to a set point durning the freezetime? like on de_dust2 place all the "t's" at Bomb Site "B"..

I think it would be fun lol..
__________________
|v|agic$hot
.
Without a Sound
MagicShot is offline
Send a message via MSN to MagicShot Send a message via Yahoo to MagicShot
Johnny got his gun
Veteran Member
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Tokyo
Old 03-22-2004 , 04:34  
#10

Quote:
Originally Posted by IceMouse[WrG
]I have a suggestion to add
Entity's use forward
Secondly, will cs_set_weapon_silenced play the silencer anim/put on the silencer... Or just change the sound?
It is not mod specific and besides is already in engine:

Code:
/* Use an entity with another entity. "used" could be a hostage, "user" a player. */ native force_use(pPlayer, pEntity);

And cs_set_weapon_silenc (had to shorten the name) works like this:
A player has a m4a1, unsilenced. Then you set that weapon to be silenced. There will be no animation to put the silencer on (wish I knew how to do that), but as soon as that player fires the weapon, or switches from and back to it, it will have the silencer on. Same way if you switch silencer off... So in all, it works ok, it's just that it would be nice to have that animation playing, or at least make it display the right model if the anim can't be done.
Johnny got his gun is offline
Closed Thread



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:46.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Theme made by Freecode