Raised This Month: $32 Target: $400
 8% 

Say Sounds (including Hybrid Edition) (4.0.8)


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
MrSaturn
SourceMod Donor
Join Date: Jan 2009
Old 01-25-2009 , 07:33   Re: Say Sounds (including Hybrid Edition) (3.1.0)
Reply With Quote #101

I know this plugin wasnt meant to play very long sounds, but I use it for such anyways. But the problem I seem to be getting can also be done with small sounds, too, if you time it properly.

The problem that _I_ get is that whenever a map ends and the server is about to switch maps, if someone triggers a sound, then the clients who begin playing that sound get timed out from the server as the map changes. I dont know where you would begin to fix this, perhaps by disabling sounds before a mapchange? Maybe if there was a global stopsound command you can give it a time duration and use it right before a mapchange. I dont know, but as it stands I keep losing players after a map change and they have msged me with this problem.
MrSaturn is offline
gH0sTy
SourceMod Donor
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: DE
Old 01-25-2009 , 09:17   Re: Say Sounds (including Hybrid Edition) (3.1.0)
Reply With Quote #102

This timeouts are a TF2 specific problem, Valve knows about it and it will be fixed in the upcoming update next week... see here
gH0sTy is offline
MrSaturn
SourceMod Donor
Join Date: Jan 2009
Old 01-25-2009 , 09:44   Re: Say Sounds (including Hybrid Edition) (3.1.0)
Reply With Quote #103

Quote:
Originally Posted by gH0sTy View Post
This timeouts are a TF2 specific problem, Valve knows about it and it will be fixed in the upcoming update next week... see here
My bad, lol. Alot of my buddies had me beleiving it was the sounds. Thats good news!
MrSaturn is offline
omgiafs
Junior Member
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Russia
Old 01-25-2009 , 21:13   Re: Say Sounds (including Hybrid Edition) (3.1.0)
Reply With Quote #104

Good day.
I'm with stupid question.
gH0sTy, why you don't include content of this small gametype.inc into plugin source file?
omgiafs is offline
Send a message via ICQ to omgiafs Send a message via Skype™ to omgiafs
MrSaturn
SourceMod Donor
Join Date: Jan 2009
Old 01-25-2009 , 22:18   Re: Say Sounds (including Hybrid Edition) (3.1.0)
Reply With Quote #105

So I tried out a random trigger

"Random"
{
"file1" "misc/omg.wav"
"file2" "misc/wtfboom.mp3"
"file3" "misc/pkfire.mp3"
"file4" "misc/mine.mp3"
"file5" "misc/choppa.wav"
"file6" "misc/windows.wav"
"file7" "misc/godzilla.wav"
"file8" "misc/won.mp3"
"count" "8"
}

works like a charm... running sm1.1 and saysounds 3.1.0 . If you are running the same thing then try to manually play the sound that doesnt play by typing

play misc/sound.mp3

in your console. If it doesnt play then its a file problem and not a code problem. If it does, then I'm stumped. Might be a typo problem.
MrSaturn is offline
monkie
Senior Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Shanghai, China
Old 01-26-2009 , 00:55   Re: Say Sounds (including Hybrid Edition) (3.1.0)
Reply With Quote #106

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrSaturn View Post
Make sure the sound can be played manuall by typing this in your console

play joinserver/delune.mp3

If this doesnt make your client manually play the song to himself, then there is something wrong with the sound. Either it was faultily uploaded (has happend to me quite a few times, changing the name and reuploading always works) named something different or its in an incompatible format. There should be an error message to determine which of those it is.

I personally have not tried using a multiple join sound and havent tried using random sounds for the same trigger even though I have dozens of them, but I'll try it out later and see if I cant help you.
Hi, MrSaturn
I checked the property of that file, it is caused by the sample rate that Source engine cannot play.
Source/2007 engine can only play 44.1kHz sample rate sounds, mine is 48kHz, that should be the reason.

I strongly recommend that ghosty can add some comments for the file format which can be played in Source/2007 engine, in case my efforts wouldn't need to be repeated
__________________
monkie is offline
Send a message via MSN to monkie Send a message via Skype™ to monkie
st0rm_r1der
Member
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: DE
Old 01-27-2009 , 15:19   Re: Say Sounds (including Hybrid Edition) (3.1.0)
Reply With Quote #107

hey everybody,
i have tried some weapon action sounds but they wont work.

is this the right syntax?
Code:
        "xm1014"
            {
                "file"        hedu_sounds/pumpgun.mp3"
                "admin"    "0"
                "download"    "1"
                "actiononly"    "1"
                "action"    "kill"
                "param"    "xm1014"
                "prob"        "1"
            }
        "m3"
            {
                "file"        hedu_sounds/pumpgun.mp3"
                "admin"    "0"
                "download"    "1"
                "actiononly"    "1"
                "action"    "kill"
                "param"    "m3"
                "prob"        "1"
            }
st0rm_r1der is offline
omgiafs
Junior Member
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Russia
Old 01-27-2009 , 23:28   Re: Say Sounds (including Hybrid Edition) (3.1.0)
Reply With Quote #108

Quote:
Originally Posted by st0rm_r1der View Post
hey everybody,
i have tried some weapon action sounds but they wont work.
Maybe problem in syntax ?
"file" "hedu_sounds/pumpgun.mp3"

Don't use notepad or simple text editor. Use text editor with syntax highlight, like Notepad++
omgiafs is offline
Send a message via ICQ to omgiafs Send a message via Skype™ to omgiafs
MrSaturn
SourceMod Donor
Join Date: Jan 2009
Old 01-27-2009 , 23:36   Re: Say Sounds (including Hybrid Edition) (3.1.0)
Reply With Quote #109

Quote:
Originally Posted by st0rm_r1der View Post
hey everybody,
i have tried some weapon action sounds but they wont work.

is this the right syntax?
Code:
        "xm1014"
            {
                "file"        hedu_sounds/pumpgun.mp3"
                "admin"    "0"
                "download"    "1"
                "actiononly"    "1"
                "action"    "kill"
                "param"    "xm1014"
                "prob"        "1"
            }
        "m3"
            {
                "file"        hedu_sounds/pumpgun.mp3"
                "admin"    "0"
                "download"    "1"
                "actiononly"    "1"
                "action"    "kill"
                "param"    "m3"
                "prob"        "1"
            }
omg is right. in the

"file" hedu_sounds/pumpgun.mp3"

it should be

"file" "hedu_sounds/pumpgun.mp3"

Also, not to be picky, but you have some other options there that arent needed, like prob 1 means it will always play when this happens, which is already 1 by default. download 1 is also default. admin is 0 by default. You seem to want to make things more complicated than they already are.
MrSaturn is offline
st0rm_r1der
Member
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: DE
Old 01-28-2009 , 11:05   Re: Say Sounds (including Hybrid Edition) (3.1.0)
Reply With Quote #110

thanks a lot,
i had overseen the activated inster key...

most of the sounds are working now,
but i have another question.

Is it possible to play a action sound on blending a player...?
Or to play a round end/mapend sound?
st0rm_r1der is offline
Reply



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 16:06.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Theme made by Freecode