Raised This Month: $18 Target: $400
 4% 

L4D/L4D2 Tickrate Enabler


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
finishlast
Senior Member
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: In Reno with the vitamin
Old 05-02-2024 , 13:39   Re: L4D/L4D2 Tickrate Enabler
Reply With Quote #331

look in l4dtoolz thread, new version there
__________________
finishlast is offline
Skyy
AlliedModders Donor
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Toronto, Canada
Old 05-02-2024 , 23:33   Re: L4D/L4D2 Tickrate Enabler
Reply With Quote #332

Quote:
Originally Posted by HarryPotter View Post
Not server settings, he means your client side settings, try the following in your game console

PHP Code:
rate 100000
cl_cmdrate 101
cl_updaterate 101 
Thank-you, that was it. Playing in the server feels so much smoother now.
Skyy is offline
Pa4H
Junior Member
Join Date: Nov 2018
Old 06-08-2024 , 14:15   Re: L4D/L4D2 Tickrate Enabler
Reply With Quote #333

After that terrible update on March 14, Tickrate enabler stopped working correctly.
I saw a new version on GitHub from accelerator74 and installed it.
Tickrate enabler worked, but not as before.

I used to have 0 ping on my server. Because the computer with the server is on the same local network with me. Now on my local server I have a ping of 5-15ms.
And the tickrate itself changed between 60 and 100. After a while, this problem went away (I didn't change anything). But the problem with the ping of 5-15ms remained.

It may seem like a trifle to you, but I and the players on my server noticed that the game began to slow down noticeably. Before May 14, everything was as smooth and good as possible.

I didn't change the network settings in server.cfg.
I didn't touch anything at all. I only updated SM, MM and Tickrate Enabler itself.

I tested the latest version of Tickrate Enabler on Windows and on Linux with the latest versions of MM and SM.
The problem is relevant on both platforms.

Last edited by Pa4H; 06-08-2024 at 14:16. Reason: Win&Linux
Pa4H is offline
Pa4H
Junior Member
Join Date: Nov 2018
Old 06-12-2024 , 07:49   Re: L4D/L4D2 Tickrate Enabler
Reply With Quote #334

In addition to my comment.

Windows
Created a completely clean server.
Installed the latest versions of SM and MM
Installed the latest version of Tickrate Enabler (accelerator74)

Ping is greater than 0. And the tickrate is not 100, but 64.
Screenshot attached.

Server launch parameters: -tickrate 100 +mp_gamemode versus
server.cfg:
Spoiler
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Безымянный.png
Views:	37
Size:	79.9 KB
ID:	204594  
Pa4H is offline
cravenge
Veteran Member
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Chocolate Factory
Old 06-12-2024 , 09:27   Re: L4D/L4D2 Tickrate Enabler
Reply With Quote #335

This VSP was never suitable for local server use in the first place, only for dedicated servers.
cravenge is offline
Spirit_12
Veteran Member
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Toronto, CA
Old 06-12-2024 , 17:13   Re: L4D/L4D2 Tickrate Enabler
Reply With Quote #336

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pa4H View Post
In addition to my comment.

Windows
Created a completely clean server.
Installed the latest versions of SM and MM
Installed the latest version of Tickrate Enabler (accelerator74)

Ping is greater than 0. And the tickrate is not 100, but 64.
Screenshot attached.

Server launch parameters: -tickrate 100 +mp_gamemode versus
server.cfg:
Spoiler
This information is not needed yet, first thing you must provide is the output of this command.

PHP Code:
plugins_print 
__________________
Spirit_12 is offline
Pa4H
Junior Member
Join Date: Nov 2018
Old 06-13-2024 , 12:16   Re: L4D/L4D2 Tickrate Enabler
Reply With Quote #337

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spirit_12 View Post
This information is not needed yet, first thing you must provide is the output of this command.

PHP Code:
plugins_print 
I wish it was that simple too.

plugin_print
Loaded plugins:
---------------------
0: "Metamod:Source 1.11.0-dev+1155"
1: "Tickrate_Enabler 1.5, ProdigySim"
---------------------
Pa4H is offline
HarryPotter
Veteran Member
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Taiwan, Asia
Old 06-18-2024 , 10:51   Re: L4D/L4D2 Tickrate Enabler
Reply With Quote #338

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pa4H View Post
In addition to my comment.

Windows
Created a completely clean server.
Installed the latest versions of SM and MM
Installed the latest version of Tickrate Enabler (accelerator74)

Ping is greater than 0. And the tickrate is not 100, but 64.
Screenshot attached.

Server launch parameters: -tickrate 100 +mp_gamemode versus
server.cfg:
Spoiler
Connect Server from lobby reservation, it will fix 64 tick issue in windows server
__________________
HarryPotter is offline
NEO_NoiseBomb
Junior Member
Join Date: Jun 2024
Old 06-29-2024 , 20:56   Re: L4D/L4D2 Tickrate Enabler
Reply With Quote #339

I am running my own local server off of my PC to play L4D2. It's not a separate machine that hosts it.

I have installed accelerator74's updated Tickrate Enabler and added the recommended cvars listed to my server.cfg.

-tickrate 100 (this is also in my separate sourcemeta/metamod L4D2 install's launch options too)
sv_maxupdaterate 100
sv_maxcmdrate 100
fps_max 150
sv_maxrate 0

I see in other user's screenshots of their net_graphs, all four numbered rows on the right show 100. But on my end, it's the second row that is stuck at 59. But the three other rows are all 100. Does it mean that I am really running a 100 tick rate server?

The 59/s shows the packets that are being received.

EDIT: I learned that my cl_updaterate controls that number. But it is capped at 59. Changing it to 30 for example does lower the packet rate to 30.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	100tickexample.jpg
Views:	23
Size:	39.2 KB
ID:	204719  

Last edited by NEO_NoiseBomb; 06-29-2024 at 23:38. Reason: Add additional detail.
NEO_NoiseBomb is offline
NEO_NoiseBomb
Junior Member
Join Date: Jun 2024
Old 06-30-2024 , 20:54   Re: L4D/L4D2 Tickrate Enabler
Reply With Quote #340

Quote:
Originally Posted by NEO_NoiseBomb View Post
I am running my own local server off of my PC to play L4D2. It's not a separate machine that hosts it.

I have installed accelerator74's updated Tickrate Enabler and added the recommended cvars listed to my server.cfg.

-tickrate 100 (this is also in my separate sourcemeta/metamod L4D2 install's launch options too)
sv_maxupdaterate 100
sv_maxcmdrate 100
fps_max 150
sv_maxrate 0

I see in other user's screenshots of their net_graphs, all four numbered rows on the right show 100. But on my end, it's the second row that is stuck at 59. But the three other rows are all 100. Does it mean that I am really running a 100 tick rate server?

The 59/s shows the packets that are being received.

EDIT: I learned that my cl_updaterate controls that number. But it is capped at 59. Changing it to 30 for example does lower the packet rate to 30.
In a listen server (loading a map through a console command), the update rate works as it should now it's at 100/s. But in a local server it reverts back to the 59/s cap.
NEO_NoiseBomb is offline
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:32.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Theme made by Freecode