Raised This Month: $ Target: $400
 0% 

L4D/L4D2 Tickrate Enabler


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
BRU7US
Member
Join Date: Jul 2020
Location: Tatarstan, Kazan
Old 02-03-2024 , 08:58   Re: L4D/L4D2 Tickrate Enabler
Reply With Quote #301

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skyy View Post
---------------------
---------------------

Also the net_graph info:


It doesn't show anything having loaded, when I use a default install on a fresh L4D2 installation with MM/SM 1.11.
Use it: https://github.com/fdxx/l4dtoolz

L4DToolz + Tickrate enabler. Works good!
BRU7US is offline
Spirit_12
Veteran Member
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Toronto, CA
Old 02-03-2024 , 20:43   Re: L4D/L4D2 Tickrate Enabler
Reply With Quote #302

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skyy View Post
---------------------
---------------------

Also the net_graph info:


It doesn't show anything having loaded, when I use a default install on a fresh L4D2 installation with MM/SM 1.11.
Something is off with your install. Are you running metamod because even if Tickrate erred out metamod should still be on that list. I would suggest checking the path in your vdf files.
__________________
Spirit_12 is offline
Skyy
AlliedModders Donor
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Toronto, Canada
Old 02-04-2024 , 08:52   Re: L4D/L4D2 Tickrate Enabler
Reply With Quote #303

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spirit_12 View Post
Something is off with your install. Are you running metamod because even if Tickrate erred out metamod should still be on that list. I would suggest checking the path in your vdf files.
On a FRESH install of L4D2 and only running the latest stable build of metamod:source, and metamod itself doesn't show in the plugin_print while in-game.


however, from server console, it populates in the list.


However, when adding the latest stable build of tickrate enabler, it doesn't show up in plugin_print.



Which versions of metamod and sourcemod should I use?

Last edited by Skyy; 02-04-2024 at 09:01.
Skyy is offline
Spirit_12
Veteran Member
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Toronto, CA
Old 02-04-2024 , 11:20   Re: L4D/L4D2 Tickrate Enabler
Reply With Quote #304

I don't think its the metamod or sourcemod version that is at fault.

Can you open the tickrate_enabler.vdf file with a text editor and compare the path with the actual path where you are placing the file?

See this for reference.

https://github.com/Satanic-Spirit/Ti...te_enabler.vdf
__________________
Spirit_12 is offline
Skyy
AlliedModders Donor
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Toronto, Canada
Old 02-04-2024 , 14:46   Re: L4D/L4D2 Tickrate Enabler
Reply With Quote #305

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spirit_12 View Post
I don't think its the metamod or sourcemod version that is at fault.

Can you open the tickrate_enabler.vdf file with a text editor and compare the path with the actual path where you are placing the file?

See this for reference.

https://github.com/Satanic-Spirit/Ti...te_enabler.vdf
it all lines up. everything lines up. is very odd. maybe the version of linux that i'm running (ubuntu 16.04) is at fault.


I've wiped my server box and reinstalled everything on Ubuntu 22.04 and it's now showing everything properly in the printouts:



However, in-game it still shows 30tick:



Any ideas?

Last edited by Skyy; 02-05-2024 at 08:56.
Skyy is offline
Spirit_12
Veteran Member
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Toronto, CA
Old 02-07-2024 , 18:46   Re: L4D/L4D2 Tickrate Enabler
Reply With Quote #306

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skyy View Post
it all lines up. everything lines up. is very odd. maybe the version of linux that i'm running (ubuntu 16.04) is at fault.


I've wiped my server box and reinstalled everything on Ubuntu 22.04 and it's now showing everything properly in the printouts:



However, in-game it still shows 30tick:



Any ideas?
What is your launch parameter? Also what are the convars?
__________________
Spirit_12 is offline
Skyy
AlliedModders Donor
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Toronto, Canada
Old 02-08-2024 , 08:04   Re: L4D/L4D2 Tickrate Enabler
Reply With Quote #307

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spirit_12 View Post
What is your launch parameter? Also what are the convars?
Nope not fixed.

Last edited by Skyy; 03-29-2024 at 04:29.
Skyy is offline
Skyy
AlliedModders Donor
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Toronto, Canada
Old 03-29-2024 , 04:29   Re: L4D/L4D2 Tickrate Enabler
Reply With Quote #308

Tickrate Enabler is setting my tickrate successfully with -tickrate 100.

However, as seen in the screenshot, it is not successfully un-restricting the sv_minrate and sv_maxrate variables. All other variables set (like mincmdrate) are being properly set and maintaining.

When attemping to set a rate above 30,000, it gives the standard "your rate is really 100k, but the server is enforcing a limit of 30k" that you receive when the min/max rates aren't un-restricted.


I've attempted reinstalling steam+server+mm+sm etc. several times and everything is installed and working properly, just that the VSP simply isn't removing those restrictions.

Ubuntu 22.04 here.

Skyy is offline
king kong
Member
Join Date: Oct 2021
Old 03-29-2024 , 06:42   Re: L4D/L4D2 Tickrate Enabler
Reply With Quote #309

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skyy View Post
Tickrate Enabler is setting my tickrate successfully with -tickrate 100.

However, as seen in the screenshot, it is not successfully un-restricting the sv_minrate and sv_maxrate variables. All other variables set (like mincmdrate) are being properly set and maintaining.


When attemping to set a rate above 30,000, it gives the standard "your rate is really 100k, but the server is enforcing a limit of 30k" that you receive when the min/max rates aren't un-restricted.


I've attempted reinstalling steam+server+mm+sm etc. several times and everything is installed and working properly, just that the VSP simply isn't removing those restrictions.

Ubuntu 22.04 here.

The maximum rate is 30k, which will limit your sv_maxrate and sv_minrate, but the server sv_maxrate and sv_minrate have no limit,e.g I set sv_maxrate and sv_minrate to 60k, the server shows 60k, but in the game it shows 30k

Last edited by king kong; 03-29-2024 at 06:46.
king kong is offline
Skyy
AlliedModders Donor
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Toronto, Canada
Old 03-29-2024 , 14:22   Re: L4D/L4D2 Tickrate Enabler
Reply With Quote #310

Quote:
Originally Posted by king kong View Post
The maximum rate is 30k, which will limit your sv_maxrate and sv_minrate, but the server sv_maxrate and sv_minrate have no limit,e.g I set sv_maxrate and sv_minrate to 60k, the server shows 60k, but in the game it shows 30k
There's obviously a language-barrier here or you simply don't understand what's being asked.
Anyone reading your response to my post would probably be even more confused if they were coming here for the same problem.


Tickrate enabler is supposed to unlock client rates and while it sets the server tickrate successfully, it does not do the latter as advertised.
As client rates are still locked to 30,000, something is wrong with the current version of Tickrate Enabler on linux.
I'm going to wait for a response from someone (probably satanic_spirit) who knows this stuff.

Last edited by Skyy; 03-29-2024 at 14:30. Reason: why do people who dont know what they're talking about try to answer questions? It's not helpful, it's harmful.
Skyy is offline
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:29.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Theme made by Freecode