12% 

[QUESTION] Web domain and hosting

Post New Thread Reply   

DocTek
Zero Posts
Old 08-26-2014 , 13:49   [QUESTION] Web domain and hosting
Reply With Quote #1

Hello

I am new to web hosting. I have read many articles about setting up a website but I am still confused between web hosting and domains. Does domain means .com .co.uk .org or the complete website name like mywebsite.com or google.com? I want to create my own website so do I need to purchase both domain and web host or just domain or only web host? I am a little confused! I want some suggestions for affordable web hosting (or domain) and their customer support should be good. After I purchase a website how do I log in to my website? Any help would be great. Thanks.
Veteran Member
Old 08-26-2014 , 13:56   Re: [QUESTION] Web domain and hosting
Reply With Quote #2

Google should be your friend here.
Veteran Member
Old 08-26-2014 , 13:59   Re: [QUESTION] Web domain and hosting
Reply With Quote #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by DocTek View Post
Hello

I am new to web hosting. I have read many articles about setting up a website but I am still confused between web hosting and domains. Does domain means .com .co.uk .org or the complete website name like mywebsite.com or google.com? I want to create my own website so do I need to purchase both domain and web host or just domain or only web host? I am a little confused! I want some suggestions for affordable web hosting (or domain) and their customer support should be good. After I purchase a website how do I log in to my website? Any help would be great. Thanks.
1. Domains and website servers are purchased separately, though lots of hosting services offer both together.
2. .com domains are the most common, short for commercial. But you aren't limited by any in particular.