Raised This Month: $32 Target: $400
 8% 

Goldeneye: Source Reticle


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Author
NickBeat88
Junior Member
Join Date: Apr 2011
Plugin ID:
3640
Plugin Version:
1.1
Plugin Category:
Gameplay
Plugin Game:
Any
Plugin Dependencies:
    Servers with this Plugin:
     
    Plugin Description:
    An aiming reticle designed for Goldeneye: Source
    Old 05-05-2013 , 10:33   Goldeneye: Source Reticle
    Reply With Quote #1

    Description

    This is an incredibly simple plugin. All it does is add a dot in the center of player's screens so that they can aim without going into aim mode. The reason that this plugin exists is because Goldeneye: Source lacks a crosshair. This plugin was made for Goldeneye: Source, but can probably be used with any Source engine game. This is my first plugin, and seeing as it is incredibly simple, it is subject to change if need be. I don't know how much change a dot in the center of the screen could need, but I guess ya never know.



    Installation
    • Place reticle.smx into sourcemod/plugins
    • Place reticle.sp into sourcemod/scripting
    Known Bugs

    Nothing yet
    Attached Thumbnails
    Click image for larger version

Name:	reticle.jpg
Views:	1186
Size:	71.8 KB
ID:	119489  
    Attached Files
    File Type: sp Get Plugin or Get Source (reticle.sp - 613 views - 512 Bytes)

    Last edited by RedSword; 05-18-2013 at 05:13. Reason: don't attach .smx when not needed + marked as feedback given
    NickBeat88 is offline
    Franc1sco
    Veteran Member
    Join Date: Oct 2010
    Location: Spain (Madrid)
    Old 05-05-2013 , 11:11   Re: Goldeneye: Source Reticle
    Reply With Quote #2

    PHP Code:
    CreateTimer(0.0000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000001ReticleclientTIMER_REPEAT); 
    What?


    Use better OnGameFrame => http://docs.sourcemod.net/api/index....d=show&id=579&
    __________________
    Veteran Coder -> Activity channel
    Coding on CS2 and taking paid and free jobs.

    Contact: Steam, Telegram or discord ( franug ).

    You like my work? +Rep in my steam profile comments or donate.

    Franc1sco is offline
    Send a message via MSN to Franc1sco
    NickBeat88
    Junior Member
    Join Date: Apr 2011
    Old 05-05-2013 , 11:39   Re: Goldeneye: Source Reticle
    Reply With Quote #3

    Thanks. I've made the changes, I'll have them uploaded shortly.

    Last edited by NickBeat88; 05-05-2013 at 11:42.
    NickBeat88 is offline
    Zephyrus
    Cool Pig B)
    Join Date: Jun 2010
    Location: Hungary
    Old 05-05-2013 , 11:47   Re: Goldeneye: Source Reticle
    Reply With Quote #4

    forward OnGameFrame(1.0, Reticle, client, TIMER_REPEAT);

    O.O?
    __________________
    Taking private C++/PHP/SourcePawn requests, PM me.
    Zephyrus is offline
    Franc1sco
    Veteran Member
    Join Date: Oct 2010
    Location: Spain (Madrid)
    Old 05-05-2013 , 12:02   Re: Goldeneye: Source Reticle
    Reply With Quote #5

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Zephyrus View Post
    forward OnGameFrame(1.0, Reticle, client, TIMER_REPEAT);

    O.O?
    looool I said this:

    PHP Code:
    #include    <sourcemod>
        
    public Plugin:myinfo 
    {
        
    name "Reticle",
        
    author "Mrs. Nesbitt",
        
    description "An aiming reticle designed for Goldeneye: Source",
        
    url ""
    };



    public 
    OnGameFrame()
    {
            for (new 
    1MaxClientsi++)
            {
                if (
    IsClientInGame(i))
                {
                    
    SetHudTextParams(-1.0, -1.00.5148,13,8,25506.00.10.2);
                    
    ShowHudText(i, -1"∙");
                }
            }

    __________________
    Veteran Coder -> Activity channel
    Coding on CS2 and taking paid and free jobs.

    Contact: Steam, Telegram or discord ( franug ).

    You like my work? +Rep in my steam profile comments or donate.

    Franc1sco is offline
    Send a message via MSN to Franc1sco
    VoiDeD
    AlliedModders Donor
    Join Date: Mar 2009
    Location: Illinois, USA
    Old 05-05-2013 , 23:26   Re: Goldeneye: Source Reticle
    Reply With Quote #6

    Don't send hudtext every frame. Use a slower timer and increase the hold time of the text.
    __________________
    VoiDeD is offline
    RedSword
    SourceMod Plugin Approver
    Join Date: Mar 2006
    Location: Quebec, Canada
    Old 05-05-2013 , 23:43   Re: Goldeneye: Source Reticle
    Reply With Quote #7

    I did remove the .smx link; as the .smx shouldn't be required (since you use no code from external librairies). Note that simply by uploading the .sp you automatically get a "Get Plugin" link.

    But you should still ensure, or at least believe that your code compile when posting it. Your use of OnGameFrame is wrong. See Franc1sco's post for more info.
    __________________
    My plugins :
    Red Maze
    Afk Bomb
    RAWR (per player/rounds Awp Restrict.)
    Kill Assist
    Be Medic

    You can also Donate if you appreciate my work

    Last edited by RedSword; 05-05-2013 at 23:43.
    RedSword is offline
    StrikerMan780
    AlliedModders Donor
    Join Date: Jul 2009
    Location: Canada
    Old 05-17-2013 , 03:51   Re: Goldeneye: Source Reticle
    Reply With Quote #8

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Franc1sco View Post
    That is horrid advice. You should be ashamed. OnGameFrame should be avoided at all costs unless absolutely necessary, due to massive CPU rape/overhead. In this case, it is not necessary at all. A timer of 0.5 could suffice, with hud text duration that is just as long, to keep it from flickering.

    Last edited by StrikerMan780; 05-17-2013 at 03:53.
    StrikerMan780 is offline
    Franc1sco
    Veteran Member
    Join Date: Oct 2010
    Location: Spain (Madrid)
    Old 05-17-2013 , 04:34   Re: Goldeneye: Source Reticle
    Reply With Quote #9

    If he want a very repetible timer the best option is using ongameframe instead of a exaggerated timer like this that he had before:
    Code:
    CreateTimer(0.0000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000001, Reticle, client, TIMER_REPEAT);

    I just tell a replacement to correct their code, I'm not talking about how to optimize
    __________________
    Veteran Coder -> Activity channel
    Coding on CS2 and taking paid and free jobs.

    Contact: Steam, Telegram or discord ( franug ).

    You like my work? +Rep in my steam profile comments or donate.


    Last edited by Franc1sco; 05-17-2013 at 04:39.
    Franc1sco is offline
    Send a message via MSN to Franc1sco
    RedSword
    SourceMod Plugin Approver
    Join Date: Mar 2006
    Location: Quebec, Canada
    Old 05-18-2013 , 05:12   Re: Goldeneye: Source Reticle
    Reply With Quote #10

    Please correct your plugin or it will be unapproved.
    __________________
    My plugins :
    Red Maze
    Afk Bomb
    RAWR (per player/rounds Awp Restrict.)
    Kill Assist
    Be Medic

    You can also Donate if you appreciate my work
    RedSword is offline
    Reply


    Thread Tools
    Display Modes

    Posting Rules
    You may not post new threads
    You may not post replies
    You may not post attachments
    You may not edit your posts

    BB code is On
    Smilies are On
    [IMG] code is On
    HTML code is Off

    Forum Jump


    All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:03.


    Powered by vBulletin®
    Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
    Theme made by Freecode