Raised This Month: $32 Target: $400
 8% 

[REQ] Prioritized SQL Queries


  
 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Author Message
Geesu
Veteran Member
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Old 02-09-2007 , 18:28   [REQ] Prioritized SQL Queries
#1

Basically I'd like to be able to execute a query with a given priority...

This is how it would work:

There are 2 queues, a high and a low priority. It doesn't matter when the low priorities are executed, as long as they are executed if their is nothing in the high priority.

So

while ( high priority queue exists )
- execute threaded query in here

then do the low priority ones.

I'm sure there is a more elegant solution than what I'm thinking, but this would be an EXTREME help as I have around 50 queries that need to be executed, but don't actually affect game play - but they are occuring before the other queries that do affect game play are.

Thanks!!
Josh
__________________
Need war3ft help? DO NOT PM ME... Check the forums
Geesu is offline
Send a message via AIM to Geesu Send a message via MSN to Geesu
BAILOPAN
Join Date: Jan 2004
Old 02-09-2007 , 21:17   Re: [REQ] Prioritized SQL Queries
#2

I can't see this happening any time soon but I'll leave the request up. It sounds like you have internal design issues.
__________________
egg
BAILOPAN is offline
Geesu
Veteran Member
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Old 02-10-2007 , 01:53   Re: [REQ] Prioritized SQL Queries
#3

You have internal design issues

I'll try to talk to u on IRC when I get a chance
__________________
Need war3ft help? DO NOT PM ME... Check the forums
Geesu is offline
Send a message via AIM to Geesu Send a message via MSN to Geesu
BAILOPAN
Join Date: Jan 2004
Old 02-10-2007 , 02:32   Re: [REQ] Prioritized SQL Queries
#4

!!
__________________
egg
BAILOPAN is offline
juKay
Member
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sweden
Old 02-10-2007 , 19:04   Re: [REQ] Prioritized SQL Queries
#5

Even if you do this the SQL server might as well give you the low priority query back first if it executes faster.

What you can do when using mysql is SELECT/INSERT [LOW_PRIORITY | HIGH_PRIORITY].

See http://dev.mysql.com/doc/refman/5.0/...rt-select.html for more information.

Why don't you just make a function in you script that executes your queries based on the priority you give them?
juKay is offline
Old 02-10-2007, 22:51
Zenith77
This message has been deleted by BAILOPAN.
 



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:43.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Theme made by Freecode