Raised This Month: $ Target: $400
 0% 

Can't locate my servers


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Author Message
404UserNotFound
BANNED
Join Date: Dec 2011
Old 05-18-2015 , 12:43   Can't locate my servers
Reply With Quote #1

So this has happened to two servers now and I'm not sure how to check what port the servers are running on.

They should be starting up on port 27015 and 27019 respectively, but they're not. I've tried checking 27000 - 27050 and haven't found anything.

I'm not sure what the hell is going on here but is there any way on Ubuntu 12.04 to check what ports are being used and clear them?

Or is this a known issue with source engine servers?
404UserNotFound is offline
KyleS
SourceMod Plugin Approver
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Segmentation Fault.
Old 05-18-2015 , 14:50   Re: Can't locate my servers
Reply With Quote #2

ss, netstat... Open up tmux and type status.
KyleS is offline
Powerlord
AlliedModders Donor
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Seduce Me!
Old 05-19-2015 , 10:29   Re: Can't locate my servers
Reply With Quote #3

If you have lsof installed (which was already installed on my Ubuntu server) and you know the server's PID (ps a will give you this), you can run lsof -i -a -p pid to get the list of ports.

For instance, for mine:

Code:
tf2@powerlord:~$ lsof -i -a -p 22218

COMMAND     PID USER   FD   TYPE   DEVICE SIZE/OFF NODE NAME
srcds_lin 22218  tf2   24u  IPv4 52576013      0t0  UDP my-domain-name-here:27015
srcds_lin 22218  tf2   25u  IPv4 52576014      0t0  UDP my-domain-name-here:27005
srcds_lin 22218  tf2   26u  IPv4 52576015      0t0  UDP my-domain-name-here:27020
srcds_lin 22218  tf2   27u  IPv4 52576016      0t0  TCP my-domain-name-here:27015 (LISTEN)
srcds_lin 22218  tf2   37u  IPv4 52576029      0t0  UDP my-domain-name-here:26901
__________________
Not currently working on SourceMod plugin development.

Last edited by Powerlord; 05-19-2015 at 11:17.
Powerlord is offline
404UserNotFound
BANNED
Join Date: Dec 2011
Old 05-21-2015 , 21:38   Re: Can't locate my servers
Reply With Quote #4

So my server is apparently running, and running off of 198.245.49.206:27015 (www.unfgaming.net:27015 also works in place of the full IP), but on the server browser, it's telling me the server is not responding.

I tried connecting to the server, connection failed after 4 retries.

Not sure if this'll help, but here's my command line for startup:

Quote:
-game tf -console -secure -autoupdate -steam_dir /home/usernotfound/SteamCMD-steamcmd_script /home/usernotfound/update_server1.txt +maxplayers 32 +rcon_password [REDACTED] +hostport 27015 +ip 198.245.49.206 +map trade_masscc_c5_1 +clientport 27030 +tv_port 27031 -nowatchdog
The clientport and tv_port lines are to help prevent potential port jumping after autoupdates. The nowatchdog line is to stop the random-ass watchdog crashes that I was getting.

Quote:
Originally Posted by KyleS View Post
ss, netstat... Open up tmux and type status.
None of this helped any, sadly. Status wants a job ID which I don't have or know how to get.

Also, I decided to check and make sure my server wasn't secretly blacklisted from the master server. It's not, but the API is returning true success checks...yet nobody can join the server or see it on the browser.

http://api.steampowered.com/ISteamAp...06&format=json

Last edited by 404UserNotFound; 05-21-2015 at 21:53.
404UserNotFound is offline
Powerlord
AlliedModders Donor
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Seduce Me!
Old 05-22-2015 , 00:57   Re: Can't locate my servers
Reply With Quote #5

...assuming the job ID it's looking for is the process ID, I think I already mentioned that ps a will list all processes the current user is running.

TF2 also has the -strictportbind switch which will make the server shut down if another program is already listening on those ports. I use it to prevent me from accidentally starting duplicate servers. Do not that it makes -port, -sport, and -clientport mandatory... and of course +tv_port unless...

If you don't use SourceTV, the -nohltv switch will make srcds stop taking up a port for SourceTV.
__________________
Not currently working on SourceMod plugin development.

Last edited by Powerlord; 05-22-2015 at 01:00.
Powerlord is offline
404UserNotFound
BANNED
Join Date: Dec 2011
Old 05-22-2015 , 09:11   Re: Can't locate my servers
Reply With Quote #6

I tried the process ID, nothing.

But none of what anyone has said explains why the server starts up, is running, has the port open, yet it won't show up on the browser or let anyone connect to it.

It was working fine for months until a recent crash.
404UserNotFound is offline
irepz
Senior Member
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: France
Old 05-22-2015 , 09:13   Re: Can't locate my servers
Reply With Quote #7

Had an issue close to it some weeks ago, my servers jumped to another 'random' port.

The easiest solution i've found is to reattach your screen session and just type "status"
__________________
irepz is offline
404UserNotFound
BANNED
Join Date: Dec 2011
Old 05-22-2015 , 12:13   Re: Can't locate my servers
Reply With Quote #8

Quote:
Originally Posted by irepz View Post
Had an issue close to it some weeks ago, my servers jumped to another 'random' port.

The easiest solution i've found is to reattach your screen session and just type "status"
Quote:
hostname: UNFGaming.net - Raffles, Events, Minigames and Trading!
version : 2734753/24 2771145 secure
udp/ip : 198.245.49.206:27030 (public ip: 198.245.49.206)
steamid : [A:1733582851:5505] (90095640075957251)
account : not logged in (No account specified)
map : trade_masscc_c5_1 at: 0 x, 0 y, 0 z
players : 0 humans, 0 bots (32 max)
edicts : 1307 used of 2048 max
Try looking at 198.245.49.206:27030 or www.unfgaming.net:27030. It's up and running on my dedi, but it's not showing up as running on the server browser and you can't connect to it.

I changed it from 27015 to 27030 to see if there was a port issue.

Last edited by 404UserNotFound; 05-22-2015 at 12:13.
404UserNotFound is offline
404UserNotFound
BANNED
Join Date: Dec 2011
Old 05-22-2015 , 17:56   Re: Can't locate my servers
Reply With Quote #9

I'm starting to wonder if these issues were caused by either:

1. Me installing Subversion (I did some sites-enabled stuff to try to get "tf2c.unfgaming.net" to work)
2. This idiot who used to be my friend who claimed he got my server's RCON password from an encrypted sourcemod file (he mentioned something to do with "64 bit" or the number "64"). I'm thinking he found his way into my dedi somehow and messed with things.

Either way, I'm backing all my stuff up then reformatting the dedi, reinstalling Ubuntu 12.04, and setting my servers back up.

Last edited by 404UserNotFound; 05-22-2015 at 17:58.
404UserNotFound is offline
404UserNotFound
BANNED
Join Date: Dec 2011
Old 07-01-2015 , 18:27   Re: Can't locate my servers
Reply With Quote #10

EDIT: http://danielgibbs.co.uk/lgsm/tf2server

Tried that, booted up a server with it (without SourceMod or Metamod mind you) and it appears on the browser.

Now that I know this linux game server manager program works, I'm redoing my servers with it. Problem solved!

Last edited by 404UserNotFound; 07-01-2015 at 19:23.
404UserNotFound is offline
Reply



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 21:46.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Theme made by Freecode