Raised This Month: $51 Target: $400
 12% 

TFC - All Teams Are Allies


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
watch
Senior Member
Join Date: Sep 2005
Old 12-11-2006 , 11:36   Re: TFC - All Teams Are Allies
Reply With Quote #11

^^ Oh i see your edit... Yeah go for it. The bots probably get the values from tfdetect just once at the start of the map, i guess them being a metamod plugin it will called before you can actually do anything with AMXX? Unless maybe if you put AMXX above the Bots in metamod plugins.ini :S?

But why use bots on concmaps

I think your meant to add DispatchSpawn() anyway even if it works?
Quote:
Call DispatchSpawn() after making these calls if not used in a keyvalue forward.
__________________
Code:
#include <amusing_small_signiture>

Last edited by watch; 12-11-2006 at 11:44.
watch is offline
chewweh
Junior Member
Join Date: Dec 2006
Old 12-11-2006 , 11:53   Re: TFC - All Teams Are Allies
Reply With Quote #12

I think it will be alright is DispatchSpawn is left out of it actually, as the map will automatically spawn it itself (Unlike with custom entities).

edit:The thing I overlooked

A problem with this actually is that there may be some allies already set in the map, this will overwrite the allies keyvalues given in plugin_init as those that are defined in the map would come later [when the map fires each keyvalue()].

With this method, I think we should add the extra forward keyvalue function to edit any teamX_allies key just incase! This seems to be the problem that requires both Engine and FakeMeta.

Also forget about the bots ! Those in the screenies are my bots written for metamod ;)

Last edited by chewweh; 12-11-2006 at 12:50.
chewweh is offline
watch
Senior Member
Join Date: Sep 2005
Old 12-11-2006 , 13:37   Re: TFC - All Teams Are Allies
Reply With Quote #13

init is called when the map starts, after the map entities have been created. The only problem you will have with the current code is if a map has a DM area for say green and yellow which some concmaps do. They won't beable to DM :<

Btw even if you had to use fakemeta for something, you could just replace engine functions with fakemeta versions D:
__________________
Code:
#include <amusing_small_signiture>

Last edited by watch; 12-11-2006 at 13:39.
watch is offline
Lt Llama
Senior Member
Join Date: Aug 2004
Old 12-12-2006 , 03:38   Re: TFC - All Teams Are Allies
Reply With Quote #14

Quote:
Originally Posted by watch View Post
The only problem you will have with the current code is if a map has a DM area for say green and yellow which some concmaps do. They won't beable to DM :<
This concerns me a bit to. The DM parts of many skills maps will be completelly useless. I'm not shure how you would solve this. Could be done with map configs. If you have a map with DM arena you could be able to exclude teams from the anti-damage function. On Euroskillz - Easy plenty of time is spent dm'ing. A lot of players who never done skills play don't get it and just start to DM. And I don't mind as long as there are a DM arena. And even though I shouldnt say it, occational DM wars happens late at night when everyone is to bored to conc. A late friday night j1 concmap2 spam
can be fun if all agrees on it. And it often happens 5 minutes before map change.

Another approach would be a damage sensitive menu.
Let's say someone kills someone on a skills map.
If that happens everyone sees a menu where they can select to punish the one who fragged. If people says "Punish" he can get slayed or kicked or whatever. If people say "No Punish" the guy can keep on fragging until he switch team.

But otherwise I like this problem to be solved somehow, but I'm not shure I agree on cutting out a big part of skills maps in the way you have done.
__________________
A dodo: Used to describe someone without common sense and who always has the pathetic confused look on their face when a question is asked.
Lt Llama is offline
chewweh
Junior Member
Join Date: Dec 2006
Old 12-12-2006 , 10:29   Re: TFC - All Teams Are Allies
Reply With Quote #15

I've updated the plugin to use a .cfg file which contains the map names that you want the plugin to be enabled on .

Most maps with DM in them have allies set properyl anyway so should not be a problem.

this way you can disable the plugin with maps that have DM and only enable on the maps you want.

Last edited by chewweh; 12-12-2006 at 10:32.
chewweh is offline
Lt Llama
Senior Member
Join Date: Aug 2004
Old 12-12-2006 , 12:28   Re: TFC - All Teams Are Allies
Reply With Quote #16

Quote:
Originally Posted by chewweh View Post
I've updated the plugin to use a .cfg file which contains the map names that you want the plugin to be enabled on .

Most maps with DM in them have allies set properyl anyway so should not be a problem.

this way you can disable the plugin with maps that have DM and only enable on the maps you want.
Super .
I'll add this as soon as i have time to Euroskillz and we see how it works out.
__________________
A dodo: Used to describe someone without common sense and who always has the pathetic confused look on their face when a question is asked.
Lt Llama is offline
Lt Llama
Senior Member
Join Date: Aug 2004
Old 12-18-2006 , 10:38   Re: TFC - All Teams Are Allies
Reply With Quote #17

Maybe you can add something to check if allteamally.cfg exists. If you start plugin now and don't have it, the server begin to loop.
__________________
A dodo: Used to describe someone without common sense and who always has the pathetic confused look on their face when a question is asked.
Lt Llama is offline
Lt Llama
Senior Member
Join Date: Aug 2004
Old 12-19-2006 , 03:51   Re: TFC - All Teams Are Allies
Reply With Quote #18

Just got killed on conc_speed, j24 .
No errors, plugin loads as it should.
AMXMODX v1.75a, MetaMod v1.19p28.
__________________
A dodo: Used to describe someone without common sense and who always has the pathetic confused look on their face when a question is asked.
Lt Llama is offline
chewweh
Junior Member
Join Date: Dec 2006
Old 12-20-2006 , 17:21   Re: TFC - All Teams Are Allies
Reply With Quote #19

yeah thought something might happen with the config if it didn't exist, although it should :S

I will update the code soon to fix those things.

conc_speed on your server is a bit werid though since the map should be set as allies already (I tested myself on my own server and they were without needing the plugin) so maybe something else is messing around with allies.

I think natti mentioned something about a plugin that tried to mess around with them but it didn't work or something.


Just make sure it's working on other maps, and that it mentions that the Plugin is "ENABLED" in the server log. (i.e. u get thius message "[AMXX TFC TEAMALLY] Plugin ENABLED" or disabled?) which may mean a problem with the code if you get neither (a problem or conflict with pfn_spawn())

edit: oh and you don't need to wait till someone shoots someone to check if it works, just look at them and see if it shows their health and armour, it shows allies with health/armour, enemies with only name

Last edited by chewweh; 12-20-2006 at 20:05.
chewweh is offline
Lt Llama
Senior Member
Join Date: Aug 2004
Old 12-21-2006 , 03:15   Re: TFC - All Teams Are Allies
Reply With Quote #20

Quote:
Originally Posted by chewweh View Post
conc_speed on your server is a bit werid though since the map should be set as allies already (I tested myself on my own server and they were without needing the plugin) so maybe something else is messing around with allies.
Right! It might be a map which someone sent me ent edited long time ago.
Ill test some more.

Quote:
Originally Posted by chewweh View Post
I think natti mentioned something about a plugin that tried to mess around with them but it didn't work or something.
A plugin which mess around with people, I never installed such thing ;).

Quote:
Originally Posted by chewweh View Post
Just make sure it's working on other maps, and that it mentions that the Plugin is "ENABLED" in the server log. (i.e. u get thius message "[AMXX TFC TEAMALLY] Plugin ENABLED" or disabled?) which may mean a problem with the code if you get neither (a problem or conflict with pfn_spawn())
Debug is enabled and I get no log message, but arent you just printing it to console, and not to a log? Why not use log_amx instead?
__________________
A dodo: Used to describe someone without common sense and who always has the pathetic confused look on their face when a question is asked.
Lt Llama is offline
Reply



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:37.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Theme made by Freecode