Raised This Month: $134 Target: $400
 33% 

L4D2 update broke sourcemod?


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
WhataMack
Junior Member
Join Date: Jul 2012
Old 07-06-2013 , 16:43   Re: L4D2 update broke sourcemod?
Reply With Quote #201

I think what Tamasa and NoNmae2013 are looking for is a short, probably stickied thread that says "download these latest builds at these links" instead of having to go search through a lot of pages, which seems like a good idea to me.
WhataMack is offline
spritex
Junior Member
Join Date: Jun 2013
Old 07-06-2013 , 16:53   Re: L4D2 update broke sourcemod?
Reply With Quote #202

Works great, now we just need the extensions updated and we're good to go. Thanks for fixing SM and MM, psychonic!
spritex is offline
noxman
Member
Join Date: Jun 2012
Old 07-06-2013 , 17:27   Re: L4D2 update broke sourcemod?
Reply With Quote #203

Thanks for fixing psychonic, it works!!
noxman is offline
wendigo
Senior Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Denmark
Old 07-06-2013 , 18:07   Re: L4D2 update broke sourcemod?
Reply With Quote #204

Quote:
Originally Posted by dcx2 View Post
Extensions are the highest level of kung-fu possible. There's basic kung fu, which doesn't even require gamedata, like my laser sight plugin. There's intermediate kung fu, which can use gamedata to call game functions, like resetting your ability meter in the infected release plugin, but it can't change things the game does on its own. Then there's advanced kung fu, which uses extensions like Left4Downtown2 and SDKHooks, like in my Undo Friendly Fire plugin where I completely block the damage from happening. Extensions can actively change the values that the game is using in real-time, not just after-the-fact. These are called "Forwards".

Extensions for Linux will require recompiling, because the insides of the Linux dedicated server have changed, and extensions need to know what the insides look like in order to change things in real-time.
So making all current plugins to work again for l4d2 Linux server, requires them to be rewritten?

So its easier to make plugins to work for l4d2 windows servers?
wendigo is offline
Tamasa
Junior Member
Join Date: Jul 2013
Old 07-06-2013 , 18:08   Re: L4D2 update broke sourcemod?
Reply With Quote #205

Thanks mine is working as well, just need to fix a few bugs on server, like armored zombies on maps that don't normally have them .
Tamasa is offline
tickle_
New Member
Join Date: May 2013
Old 07-06-2013 , 18:12   Re: L4D2 update broke sourcemod?
Reply With Quote #206

Works great. Thank you so much!
tickle_ is offline
dcx2
Senior Member
Join Date: Sep 2011
Old 07-06-2013 , 18:12   Re: L4D2 update broke sourcemod?
Reply With Quote #207

@wendigo, no. Plugins generally do not need rewritten or recompiled after the update. And making plugins work for linux is usually easier, because signatures are easier to find in linux.

Plugins build on extensions. The linux extensions need rebuilt. Once rebuilt, the plugins will use the new extension just fine. It's like a cake, and you're missing a layer. Fix that layer and everything else is good.

plugin
extension
L4D2 Server
__________________
dcx2 is offline
WhataMack
Junior Member
Join Date: Jul 2012
Old 07-06-2013 , 18:28   Re: L4D2 update broke sourcemod?
Reply With Quote #208

Windows server is back up and running with plugins...thank you very much for all your work!
WhataMack is offline
Doktor Haus
Junior Member
Join Date: Jun 2011
Old 07-06-2013 , 20:01   Re: L4D2 update broke sourcemod?
Reply With Quote #209

Quote:
Originally Posted by WhataMack View Post
Windows server is back up and running with plugins...thank you very much for all your work!
Mine's not. Which builds are you using?
__________________
Saucemod
Doktor Haus is offline
Rads
SourceMod Donor
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Achievement what
Old 07-06-2013 , 20:02   Re: L4D2 update broke sourcemod?
Reply With Quote #210

Quote:
Originally Posted by Doktor Haus View Post
Mine's not. Which builds are you using?
MM:S v1.10.0-devV, SMod v1.5.0-dev+3847
__________________
-- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- --
Better, Faster Cheaper Cloud Hosting
http://FragUK.Net
Rads is offline
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 16:15.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Theme made by Freecode