Raised This Month: $32 Target: $400
 8% 

mysql running @ non default port


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Author Message
vlad
Junior Member
Join Date: Mar 2004
Old 12-27-2004 , 10:21   mysql running @ non default port
Reply With Quote #1

amxx mysql module doesn't work with a custom port

When i use 3306 i have no error.

Any other port just give me

Code:
[MySQL] DB Connection failed(2005): Unknown MySQL Server Host 'localhost:9506' (1)
tried it with mysql 4.0 / 4.1, same result

did i miss some variable in sql.ini to define my port ??

anybody an idea ??

tia
vlad is offline
f1del1ty.oXi
Veteran Member
Join Date: Nov 2004
Old 12-27-2004 , 12:38  
Reply With Quote #2

Show us your sql.cfg file

And if it works for 3306, then why are you using another port?
f1del1ty.oXi is offline
vlad
Junior Member
Join Date: Mar 2004
Old 12-27-2004 , 13:00  
Reply With Quote #3

Code:
// SQL configuration file
// File location: $moddir/addons/amxx/configs/sql.cfg

// *NOTE* Linux users may encounter problems if they specify "localhost" instead of "127.0.0.1"
// We recommend using your server IP address instead of its name

amx_sql_host    "localhost:9506"
amx_sql_user    "vlad"
amx_sql_pass    "*******"
amx_sql_db      "amx"
amx_sql_table   "admins"
because my mysql server runs on port 9506 for other purposes

btw it should be working according to this thread
vlad is offline
f1del1ty.oXi
Veteran Member
Join Date: Nov 2004
Old 12-27-2004 , 19:58  
Reply With Quote #4

Can you connect to it by command line and or a GUI? (PHPMyadmin or MySQL Command Center)??

Have you also tried 127.0.0.1, just to be safe?
f1del1ty.oXi is offline
vlad
Junior Member
Join Date: Mar 2004
Old 12-28-2004 , 02:59  
Reply With Quote #5

mysql is working fine with phpmyadmin and other stuff

also tried 127.0.0.1 same problem connection failed
vlad is offline
L1nuxm4ster
Member
Join Date: Dec 2004
Old 12-31-2004 , 14:29  
Reply With Quote #6

You really don't need to specify the port when you are using localhost. You may have to edit the /etc/hosts file and make sure that it has an entry for localhost. The entry should be something like this:

127.0.0.1 localhost.localdomain localhost

Let me know if this works for you.
__________________
"Linux is simple. It just takes a genious to understand it's simplicity"
L1nuxm4ster is offline
Send a message via AIM to L1nuxm4ster Send a message via MSN to L1nuxm4ster Send a message via Yahoo to L1nuxm4ster
Reply



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:12.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Theme made by Freecode