Raised This Month: $71 Target: $400
 17% 

Old thread


Post New Thread Closed Thread   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
asherkin
SourceMod Developer
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: OnGameFrame()
Old 07-02-2010 , 15:19   Re: SteamTools - SteamWorks for SourceMod
#11

Quote:
Originally Posted by noodleboy347 View Post
How do you get the group id of a Steam group?
Nothing fancy, but I just threw this together for you quickly, just paste the group URL in the box.
__________________

Last edited by asherkin; 03-11-2014 at 16:55.
asherkin is offline
noodleboy347
SourceMod Donor
Join Date: Mar 2009
Old 07-04-2010 , 17:30   Re: SteamTools - SteamWorks for SourceMod
#12

Quote:
Originally Posted by asherkin View Post
Nothing fancy, but I just threw this together for you quickly, just paste the group URL in the box.
Thanks a lot
noodleboy347 is offline
_Radon
Junior Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Old 07-06-2010 , 17:17   Re: SteamTools - SteamWorks for SourceMod
#13

Any chance to get this pre-compiled?
I try to compile the script, but sadly my tf2 server only returns segmentation faults. This means i can run a dedicated server with sourcemod and stuff, but compiling is impossible.
_Radon is offline
asherkin
SourceMod Developer
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: OnGameFrame()
Old 07-07-2010 , 08:15   Re: SteamTools - SteamWorks for SourceMod
#14

You can use the SourceMod Web Compiler to compile any SM plugins use SteamTools by replacing the #include <steamtools> line with the contents of the steamtools.inc file.
__________________
asherkin is offline
VoiDeD
SourceMod Plugin Unapprover
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Illinois, USA
Old 07-11-2010 , 22:04   Re: SteamTools - SteamWorks for SourceMod
#15

Very cool stuff asherkin. Glad to see work being done with OSW.

Quote:
Originally Posted by asherkin View Post
Also, Valve changed some stuff slightly, this will not work on Windows servers with Steam installed and running. VoiDeD, voogru and I are all trying to fix this. This update adds a warning when this happens and unloads, previous ones will just crash.
This has to do with the steamclient library that the steam_api library is loading.

When the engine/game does SteamAPI_Init/InitSafe(), the steam_api library attempts to locate and load the steamclient.dll that's located in the steam directory. If it's unable to find it, it loads the one that resides within the server's engine bin directory.

For reasons I'm unsure of, the engine ends up loading both libraries in cases where Steam is installed on the game server, but it will end up using the one located next to the engine bins.

Then any attempt to use OSW to hook up proper interfaces won't work because the OSW code (or your own code) will most likely attempt to get the module handle for the Steam binary, which hasn't setup proper IPC so it won't have any pipes or users.

Long story short: Get the module handle for the steamclient located next to the engine bins.

*phew*

Last edited by VoiDeD; 07-11-2010 at 22:08.
VoiDeD is offline
DontWannaName
Veteran Member
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: VALVe Land, WA
Old 07-13-2010 , 19:51   Re: SteamTools - SteamWorks for SourceMod
#16

Could you use this to invite players into a steam group from a server? I see the group status function so its already half way.
__________________

DontWannaName is offline
asherkin
SourceMod Developer
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: OnGameFrame()
Old 07-13-2010 , 19:57   Re: SteamTools - SteamWorks for SourceMod
#17

No, that requires a user account as the inviter. Game Servers can only use the 'userless' functions.
__________________
asherkin is offline
DontWannaName
Veteran Member
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: VALVe Land, WA
Old 07-13-2010 , 20:16   Re: SteamTools - SteamWorks for SourceMod
#18

Ok, well I know there is a way to do it from a user, not sure about the details.
__________________

DontWannaName is offline
asherkin
SourceMod Developer
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: OnGameFrame()
Old 07-16-2010 , 22:23   Re: SteamTools - SteamWorks for SourceMod
#19

Quote:
Originally Posted by VoiDeD View Post
Long story short: Get the module handle for the steamclient located next to the engine bins.
Think this is finally fixed, at least it has been for anyone thats tested so far, it seems there can be a few separate cases required depending on which direction Gabe is facing at the time the server loads.
The fix wont make it into a release for the timebeing due to how messy the code has got due to switching between two laptops constantly, neither of which have any IDE installed, so I want to clean it up and streamline it before a proper update.

If anyone has been affected by the bug, feel free to contact me for one of the dev builds as a temporary fix.
__________________
asherkin is offline
Thrawn2
Veteran Member
Join Date: Apr 2009
Old 07-26-2010 , 10:27   Re: SteamTools - SteamWorks for SourceMod
#20

limetech.org down?
__________________
einmal mit profis arbeiten. einmal.
Thrawn2 is offline
Closed Thread


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 17:59.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Theme made by Freecode