Raised This Month: $51 Target: $400
 12% 

Clients overflow when using "status" command


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Author Message
supergreg
Senior Member
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Oslo, Norway
Old 10-28-2009 , 03:58   Clients overflow when using "status" command
Reply With Quote #1

This makes it impossible for people to record cheaters, without status the demo is worthless.

My main question: Which settings and options should I be checking to try and solve this overflow problem? Any good "debugging" procedures?

This started happening after we went from amxx 1.76d to amxx 1.8.1. Of course the configs were rebuilt from scratch during this update and a couple of plugins were ditched and new ones introduced so I'm guessing this can be solved with some changing of cvars or the likes.

It's a 20 slots server running regular cs 1.6 on dust2 only. No specified tickrate. CPU E6600 @ 2,4Ghz, 2GB DDR2 RAM on a 1 Gbit line. I'd like to see some suggestions to server rates/config for this setup and preferably state your source (I come across so many contradicting answers when researching rates). This problem only occurs when people use the status command. It's of course solved if we run fewer server slots, but as we have the HW and bandwidth to easily run a 20 slot (if not more), that is of course preferable. As mentioned it was working on amxx 1.76d with more plugins than we now run.

Current server rates
Code:
// Server rates, max/min per player
sv_minupdaterate 60
sv_maxupdaterate 100    // Max 101, else = sv_maxrate / 256
sv_minrate 5000
sv_maxrate 15000    // Max 20k

// Kick nonresponding clients after x seconds (default 240 = 4 minutes)
sv_timeout 60
Current 3rd party plugins
Code:
; Admin functions
amxbans.amxx                ; Amxbans menus & ban-enforcer
admin_esp.amxx              ; Admin ESP minimalistic
invisible_spectator.amxx    ; Spec while appearing as teamed player
irc.amxx                      ; Log chat to irc

; Rules
ptb.amxx                   ; Ptahoteps Team Balancer
antidoubleduck.amxx       ; Prevent duckjump/russer/silent run/minihop
afk-spec.amxx               ; Moves afk players to spectator, transfers bomb
teamflash_punish.amxx    ; Disable nades for TFers

; Features
ultimate_chat.amxx          ; Dead can see alive chat
say_commands.amxx        ; Custom commands like /help /servers etc
reconnect_features.amxx  ; Restore score+weapons on retry
realnadedrops.amxx          ; Drop nades like other weapons
I have spent ours searching + reading about overflow, rates etc. Do any of you run 20+ slots servers? Do you know of any settings that needs to change when going from ~12 players to ~20 to avoid overflow on status command? Or should I just override/modify the status command so it prints 5 lines at a time in intervals with pause?
Thanks in advance for any help.
supergreg is offline
8088
Veteran Member
Join Date: Jan 2008
Old 10-28-2009 , 22:26   Re: Clients overflow when using "status" command
Reply With Quote #2

Quote:
Originally Posted by supergreg View Post
without status the demo is worthless.
On a slightly different topic: a demo with status can be just as worthless, since it can be manipulated easily.
__________________
steamID converter with OpenSearch browser plugin
8088 is offline
supergreg
Senior Member
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Oslo, Norway
Old 11-03-2009 , 09:41   Re: Clients overflow when using "status" command
Reply With Quote #3

I am now told this also happens after mapchange (from dust2 to dust2) without users running the status command.
Approx 4-5 users out of the 20 will overflow after mapchange and has to retry - it seems as these are the last 5 connecting players. After retrying everything is ok, but running the status command still causes overflow for the one who ran the command.

I know a lot of you have been running 20+ slots servers, have you never experienced anything like this? If not could you please post or pm me an example config so I can look at differences? Thanks!
supergreg is offline
Baphomet
Junior Member
Join Date: Oct 2009
Old 11-09-2009 , 18:49   Re: Clients overflow when using "status" command
Reply With Quote #4

I have the very same problem with my DOD 32 slot server.

[EDIT] by the way Supergreg, I can give you some tips on the perfect rate settings because i have been trying to find sweet spots for them for over ten years now and i think i have.

sv_maxrate 30000
sv_minrate 25000
sv_minupdaterate 50
sv_maxupdaterate 55

The hit registration is unreal perfect, But i also run sys_ticrate 10000 with the native linux -pingboost 2 command, so my server runs at 1000FPS.


I think i'm going to downgrade to 1.76 for the time being in order to fix these bugs i have with the current version of amxx because this is not the only one I'm having and they are serious ones. I'm sure if it's in anyway related to amxx, then Bailopan and the dev team will have them fixed shortly.

Last edited by Baphomet; 11-09-2009 at 18:55.
Baphomet is offline
supergreg
Senior Member
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Oslo, Norway
Old 11-09-2009 , 23:59   Re: Clients overflow when using "status" command
Reply With Quote #5

Thanks, very much appreciated!
I will try those rates, keep looking for solutions and update here when I have some more info.
supergreg is offline
Baphomet
Junior Member
Join Date: Oct 2009
Old 11-17-2009 , 21:55   Re: Clients overflow when using "status" command
Reply With Quote #6

This happens when using amx_who as well.

I just used the amx_who command on my server and instantly my crosshair disappeared and i could no longer switch to my pistol.

I had no ammo clip on my hud and a few seconds later i got kicked from my server with the unreliable channel overflowed error.

Is this amxx or HLDS doing this ?
Baphomet is offline
Reply



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 21:42.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Theme made by Freecode