Raised This Month: $51 Target: $400
 12% 

Block "status" command.


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Author Message
thesixhalcon
SourceMod Donor
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Madrid, Spain
Old 04-05-2012 , 11:56   Block "status" command.
Reply With Quote #1

Hi community!

At the moment I have some servers of TF2 with SourceMod and they have proper plugins to protect themselves as "forlix floodcheck", etc. (Properly configured)

I was convinced that they were protected from command spam attacks, but some days ago I have noticed that someone is spamming one server with this:
Code:
Thu Apr  5 17:16:49 2012: Console<0><Console><Console> executes: status
Thu Apr  5 17:16:49 2012: Console<0><Console><Console> executes: status
Thu Apr  5 17:16:49 2012: Console<0><Console><Console> executes: status
Thu Apr  5 17:16:49 2012: Console<0><Console><Console> executes: status
Thu Apr  5 17:16:49 2012: Console<0><Console><Console> executes: status
Thu Apr  5 17:16:49 2012: Console<0><Console><Console> executes: status
Thu Apr  5 17:16:49 2012: Console<0><Console><Console> executes: status
Thu Apr  5 17:16:49 2012: Console<0><Console><Console> executes: status
Thu Apr  5 17:16:49 2012: Console<0><Console><Console> executes: status
Thu Apr  5 17:16:49 2012: Console<0><Console><Console> executes: status
Thu Apr  5 17:16:49 2012: Console<0><Console><Console> executes: status
Thu Apr  5 17:16:49 2012: Console<0><Console><Console> executes: status
Thu Apr  5 17:16:49 2012: Console<0><Console><Console> executes: status
Thu Apr  5 17:16:49 2012: Console<0><Console><Console> executes: status
Thu Apr  5 17:16:49 2012: Console<0><Console><Console> executes: status
Thu Apr  5 17:16:49 2012: Console<0><Console><Console> executes: status
Thu Apr  5 17:16:49 2012: Console<0><Console><Console> executes: status
Reaching a 2661 "status" per second and 175441 "status" per minute (avg).

Is there a way to protect a TF2 server of this spamming attacks?

Thanks
__________________
Sorry for my bad English!! :S
thesixhalcon is offline
ReFlexPoison
☠☠☠
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: ☠☠☠
Old 04-05-2012 , 12:27   Re: Block "status" command.
Reply With Quote #2

What command is the player using?
sm_status
or just
status
?

Last edited by ReFlexPoison; 04-05-2012 at 12:27.
ReFlexPoison is offline
Powerlord
AlliedModders Donor
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Seduce Me!
Old 04-05-2012 , 12:57   Re: Block "status" command.
Reply With Quote #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by thesixhalcon View Post
Hi community!

At the moment I have some servers of TF2 with SourceMod and they have proper plugins to protect themselves as "forlix floodcheck", etc. (Properly configured)

I was convinced that they were protected from command spam attacks, but some days ago I have noticed that someone is spamming one server with this:
Code:
Thu Apr  5 17:16:49 2012: Console<0><Console><Console> executes: status
Thu Apr  5 17:16:49 2012: Console<0><Console><Console> executes: status
Thu Apr  5 17:16:49 2012: Console<0><Console><Console> executes: status
Thu Apr  5 17:16:49 2012: Console<0><Console><Console> executes: status
Thu Apr  5 17:16:49 2012: Console<0><Console><Console> executes: status
Thu Apr  5 17:16:49 2012: Console<0><Console><Console> executes: status
Thu Apr  5 17:16:49 2012: Console<0><Console><Console> executes: status
Thu Apr  5 17:16:49 2012: Console<0><Console><Console> executes: status
Thu Apr  5 17:16:49 2012: Console<0><Console><Console> executes: status
Thu Apr  5 17:16:49 2012: Console<0><Console><Console> executes: status
Thu Apr  5 17:16:49 2012: Console<0><Console><Console> executes: status
Thu Apr  5 17:16:49 2012: Console<0><Console><Console> executes: status
Thu Apr  5 17:16:49 2012: Console<0><Console><Console> executes: status
Thu Apr  5 17:16:49 2012: Console<0><Console><Console> executes: status
Thu Apr  5 17:16:49 2012: Console<0><Console><Console> executes: status
Thu Apr  5 17:16:49 2012: Console<0><Console><Console> executes: status
Thu Apr  5 17:16:49 2012: Console<0><Console><Console> executes: status
Reaching a 2661 "status" per second and 175441 "status" per minute (avg).

Is there a way to protect a TF2 server of this spamming attacks?

Thanks
If this is being sent via rcon, that will show up in the logs as well, looking like this:
Code:
rcon from "173.212.246.230:54441": command "status"
(that's my HLStatsX daemon querying my server's status)

Since it isn't, that points to a local source (possibly a script).

Quote:
Originally Posted by ReFlexPoison View Post
What command is the player using?
sm_status
or just
status
?
I assume status, otherwise the command name would show up as sm_status, iirc.
__________________
Not currently working on SourceMod plugin development.

Last edited by Powerlord; 04-05-2012 at 12:58.
Powerlord is offline
ReFlexPoison
☠☠☠
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: ☠☠☠
Old 04-05-2012 , 13:01   Re: Block "status" command.
Reply With Quote #4

Either I'm missing something, but, when I type status in the in-game console while in my server, nothing appears in the actual server console. I could spam the status requests a hundred times and nothing would happen.

Do you have rcon_password in your server.cfg or server start command line?
ReFlexPoison is offline
thesixhalcon
SourceMod Donor
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Madrid, Spain
Old 04-05-2012 , 13:16   Re: Block "status" command.
Reply With Quote #5

Thanks for the fast replies.

The command that is sent to the server is only status, as logs show. There's no HLxStats or similars connected to the server. On the other hand, rcon port is blocked, so no one can send rcon commands.

I realized that someone connects to the server, and launch a bind or some script to send all status commands by the in-game console. I ban that player (the player who is supposed to be the attacker) but he/she connects another time with a different IP/SteamID.

Is there a way to block it server-side?
Thanks again

EDIT:
And of course, I have a rcon_password (Generated with GRC Shield Up) in my server.cfg.
__________________
Sorry for my bad English!! :S

Last edited by thesixhalcon; 04-05-2012 at 13:23.
thesixhalcon is offline
TnTSCS
AlliedModders Donor
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Undisclosed...
Old 04-05-2012 , 13:17   Re: Block "status" command.
Reply With Quote #6

Quote:
Originally Posted by ReFlexPoison View Post
Either I'm missing something, but, when I type status in the in-game console while in my server, nothing appears in the actual server console. I could spam the status requests a hundred times and nothing would happen.

Do you have rcon_password in your server.cfg or server start command line?
when you type status, you should get a list of players with some info for all people connected
__________________
View my Plugins | Donate
TnTSCS is offline
thesixhalcon
SourceMod Donor
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Madrid, Spain
Old 04-05-2012 , 13:26   Re: Block "status" command.
Reply With Quote #7

Quote:
Originally Posted by TnTSCS View Post
when you type status, you should get a list of players with some info for all people connected
And thats what cause that lag into the server, all those requests saturate the server because there are too many responses to send in a very short period of time. Its a ddos-like attack, but with a script in-game.
__________________
Sorry for my bad English!! :S
thesixhalcon is offline
ReFlexPoison
☠☠☠
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: ☠☠☠
Old 04-05-2012 , 13:31   Re: Block "status" command.
Reply With Quote #8

I'd just say continue to ban the IP of the player. Imma say it, even though I prolly can't, but douche bags jerks like this are all over. Best thing you can do is
1) continue the bans and wait for the attacker to stop
or
2) stop the server and let your attacker go elsewhere.

Last edited by ReFlexPoison; 04-05-2012 at 13:31.
ReFlexPoison is offline
Powerlord
AlliedModders Donor
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Seduce Me!
Old 04-05-2012 , 13:31   Re: Block "status" command.
Reply With Quote #9

Quote:
Originally Posted by ReFlexPoison View Post
Either I'm missing something, but, when I type status in the in-game console while in my server, nothing appears in the actual server console. I could spam the status requests a hundred times and nothing would happen.
I assume it's appearing because he has Forlix Floodchecker.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TnTSCS View Post
when you type status, you should get a list of players with some info for all people connected
He meant that when he types it in on his client, nothing shows in the server's console or log.
__________________
Not currently working on SourceMod plugin development.
Powerlord is offline
thesixhalcon
SourceMod Donor
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Madrid, Spain
Old 04-05-2012 , 14:13   Re: Block "status" command.
Reply With Quote #10

Quote:
Originally Posted by ReFlexPoison View Post
I'd just say continue to ban the IP of the player. Imma say it, even though I prolly can't, but douche bags jerks like this are all over. Best thing you can do is
1) continue the bans and wait for the attacker to stop
or
2) stop the server and let your attacker go elsewhere.
It seems to be a known attacker and he will persist until our servers are dead so the unique way is protecting our servers.
__________________
Sorry for my bad English!! :S
thesixhalcon is offline
Reply



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 18:40.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Theme made by Freecode