Raised This Month: $51 Target: $400
 12% 

fullupdate Blocker (fixes an expliot)


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Johnny got his gun
Veteran Member
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Tokyo
Old 04-20-2005 , 02:20  
Reply With Quote #11

Quote:
Originally Posted by jtp10181
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllMassive
HEya - are there still issues with those fullupdate-cmds ?

Should i install that plugin to avoid "bad behavior" of my server ?!



it will always be a problem, as long as plugin authors continue to use bad style for coding and use a hudreset as a way to detect a new round.
I always used that way :-\
Got any ideas on how to do it properly then?
Johnny got his gun is offline
twistedeuphoria
Veteran Member
Join Date: Jul 2004
Old 04-20-2005 , 02:34  
Reply With Quote #12

Code:
register_logevent("newRound",2,"0=World triggered","1=Round_Start")
should work in most cases.
__________________
twistedeuphoria is offline
Johnny got his gun
Veteran Member
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Tokyo
Old 04-20-2005 , 02:37  
Reply With Quote #13

That would be when the round timer starts, which is OK only in some cases.
Johnny got his gun is offline
twistedeuphoria
Veteran Member
Join Date: Jul 2004
Old 04-20-2005 , 03:38  
Reply With Quote #14

Yes, I know but it works for what I want to do most of the time.
__________________
twistedeuphoria is offline
jtp10181
Veteran Member
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Madison, WI
Old 04-20-2005 , 07:23  
Reply With Quote #15

Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny got his gun
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtp10181
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllMassive
HEya - are there still issues with those fullupdate-cmds ?

Should i install that plugin to avoid "bad behavior" of my server ?!



it will always be a problem, as long as plugin authors continue to use bad style for coding and use a hudreset as a way to detect a new round.
I always used that way :-\
Got any ideas on how to do it properly then?
there are safe ways to do it using the end_round log event and some global variables. That prevent the resethud stuff from ONLY getting called on a new round. I did this in superhero. Basically you set something true on end round then flase on resethud.... or something. I did it some goofy way but it works good.
__________________
jtp10181 is offline
Send a message via ICQ to jtp10181 Send a message via AIM to jtp10181 Send a message via MSN to jtp10181 Send a message via Yahoo to jtp10181
Zor
Veteran Member
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Toronto, ON
Old 04-21-2005 , 11:57  
Reply With Quote #16

Quote:
register_logevent("newRound",2,"0=World triggered","1=Round_Start")
This is all well and done for any ROUND based mods such as CS. But for DoD / TFC and most others it wont work as you DO respawn before the round ends...so what I need to do is if I use this ResetHUD, I will have to check that the player died prior / or went to spectator etx. So, is their any other way to capture the ResetHud.

Cheers!
__________________
Zor is offline
Send a message via AIM to Zor Send a message via MSN to Zor Send a message via Yahoo to Zor
jtp10181
Veteran Member
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Madison, WI
Old 04-21-2005 , 20:30  
Reply With Quote #17

good point.... non round based mods need a way to detect a new player spawn. Safest way to do it would be what you suggested. Set some var like... "playerdied[id]" to true upon death and when they first join. Then on the resethud event, if they are alive, set it to false. If the var is already false cancel out of the resethud event.
__________________
jtp10181 is offline
Send a message via ICQ to jtp10181 Send a message via AIM to jtp10181 Send a message via MSN to jtp10181 Send a message via Yahoo to jtp10181
ktrain
Senior Member
Join Date: Jul 2004
Old 04-24-2005 , 14:42  
Reply With Quote #18

only problem with that is not all mods use resethud

i have had so many incompatibility issues with zp and hi that i just give up on all plugins designed for cs, not worth the headache
__________________
ktrain is offline
Send a message via MSN to ktrain
Uzeal
Junior Member
Join Date: Jun 2005
Old 10-11-2005 , 06:23  
Reply With Quote #19

Hello, sorry to bring up such an old thread but I have a question about fullupdate. It has recently been brought to my attention that fullupdate is what is crashing one of our servers quite frequently. Is there any actual use to fullupdate if it is ran client side, or is it just meant for server side use?

I want to implement this little fix to my server, but I want to show no mercy to the user if its only use is to crash the server.. I.E. rather than just blocking the command, I want to ban the user.

Would this code work for this?

Code:
#include <amxmodx>
public plugin_init() {
	register_plugin("fullupdate Blocker","1.0","JTP10181")
	register_clcmd("fullupdate","fullupdate")
}
public fullupdate(id) {
	server_cmd("amx_ban %s Permanent Attempted server crash", id)
	return PLUGIN_HANDLED
}

Thanks for the help

-Uzeal
Uzeal is offline
jtp10181
Veteran Member
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Madison, WI
Old 10-11-2005 , 07:37  
Reply With Quote #20

there is no use for the command at all that I have found.

and your code would not work....

Code:
#include <amxmodx> public plugin_init() {     register_plugin("fullupdate Blocker","1.0","JTP10181")     register_clcmd("fullupdate","fullupdate") } public fullupdate(id) {     server_cmd("amx_ban #%i 0 Attempted server crash", get_user_userid(id))     return PLUGIN_HANDLED }

that might work, but its untested
__________________
jtp10181 is offline
Send a message via ICQ to jtp10181 Send a message via AIM to jtp10181 Send a message via MSN to jtp10181 Send a message via Yahoo to jtp10181
Reply



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 00:33.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Theme made by Freecode