Raised This Month: $32 Target: $400
 8% 

[How To] Add maps for cs:go


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Author Message
striker07
Veteran Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Solar System/Earth/Belgi
Old 08-30-2012 , 13:41   [How To] Add maps for cs:go
Reply With Quote #1

Hi,

It's been a long search on how to add maps to a cs:go server but i finally got it right. I had alot of problems correctly adding map and nobody seemed to know what i did wrong so i'm just gonna tell here how to do it correctly

My problem was:

when i had to download the new maps then i could play them but if i already had the map then i couldnt play the map anymore.


Instructions:

1.) so first of all i'm gonna download the map i want. for example: surf_water-run_GO .
2.) extract all files to the right place, in this case we only have a .bsp mapfile that goes into csgo/maps.

3.) update mapcycle.txt and maplist.txt located in csgo folder
4.) update fast download if you have it.

5.) you should now be able to play this map without problems

but then there are maps that you do need to change you're gamemodes_server.txt for such as this one.
and still after updating the gamemodes_server.txt using gamemodeshelper you still cant play the map. i think that's becous its a bad map or missing something idk.

anyway its best that if you add maps you update you're gamemodes_server using the gamemodeshelper.


Gamemodes Helper Instructions:
Spoiler


usefull info: https://developer.valvesoftware.com/..._Configuration
__________________

Working on:
[CSGO/CSS] Mmorpg - an extensive XP/level modulair platform
Progress: [♣♣♣♣♣♣♣|♣♣♣]

Last edited by striker07; 09-13-2012 at 13:53.
striker07 is offline
nightrider
SourceMod Donor
Join Date: Dec 2008
Old 09-02-2012 , 16:04   Re: [How To] Add maps for cs:go
Reply With Quote #2

Thanks for the post striker07
This helped me very much

for you
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC] the pantless
I am the Night Rider!, I'm a fuel-injected suicide machine.
I am a rocker! I am a roller!, I am an out-of-controller!


nightrider is offline
{LOD}Scarecrow
Member
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: AZ
Old 09-06-2012 , 11:51   Re: [How To] Add maps for cs:go
Reply With Quote #3

Everytime I try to run the gamemodehelper is get the message:

Unable to create the convar file.

Then it goes further to state:

Unable to open the convar files! Error 301
No map groups loaded for competitive!
Unable to open the mapgroup file! Error 304

I have tried all 3 versions of the gamemodhelper tool on 3 different computers and get the same message everytime.

Can anyone provide me with any thoughts on how to fix this issue?
{LOD}Scarecrow is offline
Send a message via AIM to {LOD}Scarecrow
Turbo Diesel
Junior Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Ohio
Old 09-06-2012 , 17:10   Re: [How To] Add maps for cs:go
Reply With Quote #4

I would much rather add the map to the gamemodes_server.txt myself then use a program... Its a simple edit that can be added with little effort. Once you get the first (big) step done its just a matter of adding another line.

ALSO! You will most likely need to add the map to your current mapgroup anyways because if you don't you will most likely get an error trying to connect to the server when that map is playing. This goes for stock maps as well... I'm guessing it depends on how the server is setup but I had to add all my cs_ maps under the mg_bomb group for them to allow new players to connect when playing a map like cs_office.

I'll post an example of my gamemodes_server.txt so you can see how I've laid mine out...

Code:
"GameModes_Server.txt"
{
    "gameTypes"
    {
        "classic"
        {
            "gameModes"
            {
                "casual"
                {

                    "maxplayers"        "32"

                    "mapgroupsMP"                        // List of mapgroups valid for this game mode ( casual )
                    {
                        "mg_bomb"        ""
                    }
                }

            }    
        }
    }

    "mapgroups"
    {
        "mg_bomb"                                    // mapgroup definition
        {
            "name"            "mg_bomb"
            "maps"
            {
                "cs_italy"    ""
                "cs_office"    ""
            }
        }
    }
}
__________________
Turbo Diesel is offline
{LOD}Scarecrow
Member
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: AZ
Old 09-06-2012 , 17:30   Re: [How To] Add maps for cs:go
Reply With Quote #5

So would you just take that and put every map you want in thal list?? Custom and stock?

Sorry if this is a stupid question, just want to make sure I don't fuck it up!
{LOD}Scarecrow is offline
Send a message via AIM to {LOD}Scarecrow
karil
SourceMod Donor
Join Date: Jan 2010
Old 09-06-2012 , 17:47   Re: [How To] Add maps for cs:go
Reply With Quote #6

Yes, just put all the maps in one of the groups listed at 'mapgroupsMP'.

So in Turbo Diesels case he can put all the maps in mg_bomb and they'll work.
karil is offline
{LOD}Scarecrow
Member
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: AZ
Old 09-07-2012 , 13:24   Re: [How To] Add maps for cs:go
Reply With Quote #7

Got it, thanks peeps!
{LOD}Scarecrow is offline
Send a message via AIM to {LOD}Scarecrow
striker07
Veteran Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Solar System/Earth/Belgi
Old 09-07-2012 , 13:29   Re: [How To] Add maps for cs:go
Reply With Quote #8

I just use the gamemodes helper to add a new mapgroup with my maps in it, if i did that i open the file and edit the rest (cvars and other stuff)
it's very simple and goes much faster then you would make a new mapgroup manually.
but offcourse the way Turbo Diesel does it is also a working method.
__________________

Working on:
[CSGO/CSS] Mmorpg - an extensive XP/level modulair platform
Progress: [♣♣♣♣♣♣♣|♣♣♣]
striker07 is offline
Baron Rojo
Senior Member
Join Date: Dec 2011
Old 09-07-2012 , 22:32   Re: [How To] Add maps for cs:go
Reply With Quote #9

thx for the tutorial works with de_mirage_csgo , but i'm having problems with de_nuke_ve =/

Last edited by Baron Rojo; 09-07-2012 at 22:32.
Baron Rojo is offline
surfhope
Member
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Austria
Old 09-08-2012 , 16:20   Re: [How To] Add maps for cs:go
Reply With Quote #10

Quote:
Originally Posted by {LOD}Scarecrow View Post
Everytime I try to run the gamemodehelper is get the message:

Unable to create the convar file.

Then it goes further to state:

Unable to open the convar files! Error 301
No map groups loaded for competitive!
Unable to open the mapgroup file! Error 304

I have tried all 3 versions of the gamemodhelper tool on 3 different computers and get the same message everytime.

Can anyone provide me with any thoughts on how to fix this issue?
I'm the creator of the tool and would like to offer my help

Do you have skype or anything like that?
__________________
surfhope is offline
Send a message via Skype™ to surfhope
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:20.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Theme made by Freecode