Raised This Month: $64 Target: $400
 16% 

[L4D] Achievement Notifier


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Antithasys
Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2008
Old 12-23-2008 , 02:02   Re: [L4D] Achievement Notifier
Reply With Quote #11

I think the events you are looking for are:

player_now_it (got slimed)
player_no_longer_it (no longer slimed)

If they get damaged by infected during that time wouldn't that do it?
__________________
[my plugins]

When you think about asking a question... consider what have you tried?
Antithasys is offline
Zigian
New Member
Join Date: Dec 2008
Old 12-23-2008 , 16:15   Re: [L4D] Achievement Notifier
Reply With Quote #12

Very cool. Looking forward to an update. I hope the response above helps. Thanks for the plugin!!!
Zigian is offline
Zigian
New Member
Join Date: Dec 2008
Old 12-23-2008 , 22:36   Re: [L4D] Achievement Notifier
Reply With Quote #13

For some reason, when the server goes to the next map in a campaign, it's killing the achievements. Anyone have this problem before?
Zigian is offline
L4DHelp
Member
Join Date: Dec 2008
Old 12-28-2008 , 11:13   Re: [L4D] Achievement Notifier
Reply With Quote #14

Any news on more achievements?
L4DHelp is offline
ApocalypseDan
Member
Join Date: Jan 2009
Old 01-12-2009 , 08:04   Re: [L4D] Achievement Notifier
Reply With Quote #15

Hi everyone i have just rented my 1st L4D server and like the sounds of this plugin when i went to my FTP in my L4D game folder there was no addons folder so i do i just add the folders needed to run this plugin

L4D/addons/sourcemod/plugins/ then add the file to this and the same for the translation ?

I am new to plugins so i am very sorry to be such a newbie many thanks in advance

ApocalypseDan
ApocalypseDan is offline
bman87
Senior Member
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Michigan
Old 01-12-2009 , 09:34   Re: [L4D] Achievement Notifier
Reply With Quote #16

Quote:
Originally Posted by ApocalypseDan View Post
Hi everyone i have just rented my 1st L4D server and like the sounds of this plugin when i went to my FTP in my L4D game folder there was no addons folder so i do i just add the folders needed to run this plugin

L4D/addons/sourcemod/plugins/ then add the file to this and the same for the translation ?

I am new to plugins so i am very sorry to be such a newbie many thanks in advance

ApocalypseDan
First you need to install MetaMod:Source and SourceMod. After that you will have the folders.

http://wiki.alliedmods.net/Installing_Metamod:Source
http://wiki.alliedmods.net/Installing_SourceMod

Make sure you use SM 1.2, this version supports L4D.
http://www.sourcemod.net/snapshots-1.2.php
bman87 is offline
Durzel
Member
Join Date: Aug 2008
Old 01-12-2009 , 09:48   Re: [L4D] Achievement Notifier
Reply With Quote #17

Quote:
Originally Posted by Antithasys View Post
Further suggestions. I always wonder why people hook the say command when all they want is the chat trigger. Sourcemod does all this for you. Creating your own console command is the way to go.

Replace:
PHP Code:
RegConsoleCmd("say"Command_SayChat);
 
public 
Action:Command_SayChat(clientargs)

 
decl String:text[192];
 if (!
GetConVarBool(cvPluginEnabled) ||
     
IsChatTrigger() ||
  
GetCmdArgString(textsizeof(text)) < 1)
  return 
Plugin_Continue;
 
 
ReplaceString(textsizeof(text), "\"""");
 
ReplaceString(textsizeof(text), " """);
 
 if (
StrEqual(text"!achievements"))
 {
  
DisplayAchievements(client);
  return 
Plugin_Handled;
 }
 
 return 
Plugin_Continue;

With:

PHP Code:
RegConsoleCmd("sm_achievements"Command_DisplayAchievements"Display Achievements");
 
public 
Action:Command_DisplayAchievements(clientargs)

 if (
GetConVarBool(cvPluginEnabled))
     
DisplayAchievements(client);
 return 
Plugin_Handled;

As elegant as this is the only problem I can forsee is that it requires users to have access to the console. Some players don't even know what the console is, much less how to enable it and which key brings it down. Telling those people just to type a command in say is a lot easier than trying to teach them to bring up the console and type a command.

Code wise though the console command method is a lot more elegant.
Durzel is offline
bl4nk
SourceMod Developer
Join Date: Jul 2007
Old 01-12-2009 , 20:25   Re: [L4D] Achievement Notifier
Reply With Quote #18

Hooking a console command allows you to call it via chat trigger (in this case you would still do !achievements in chat).
bl4nk is offline
omadhaun
Junior Member
Join Date: Jan 2009
Old 01-18-2009 , 21:41   Re: [L4D] Achievement Notifier
Reply With Quote #19

Any update as to how the "Nothing Special" achievement is being added to the plugin? To be honest, I wouldn't mind using a copy that works with everything but the boomer vomit for testing.
omadhaun is offline
Vicious Angel
New Member
Join Date: Jan 2009
Old 01-19-2009 , 11:32   Re: [L4D] Achievement Notifier
Reply With Quote #20

Hi Fexii, hi guys

What an awsome plugin you've made here

I have one little problem with it tho. I have exactly the same problem as Zigian described a few posts earlier.

More precisely, i tried easy and normal no mercy campain and each time we moved on to the second round, Safety First and Stomach Upset were prevented for no reason (we were not hit by boomers and didn't make any team attack during first round).

I'm running the latest 1.2.0.2534 sourcemod snapshot with the latest metamod 1.7.0 version and i have only three plugins running (including yours)

* Achievement Notifier (http://forums.alliedmods.net/showthread.php?p=727548)
* Voting Manager (http://forums.alliedmods.net/showthread.php?p=718773)
* Unscrambler (http://forums.alliedmods.net/showthread.php?p=730278)

If any of you guys have a thought on that it's very welcome.
Vicious Angel is offline
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:35.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Theme made by Freecode