Raised This Month: $51 Target: $400
 12% 

[TF2] Respawn System


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
WoZeR
Donor
Join Date: Nov 2007
Old 10-11-2008 , 11:31   Re: [TF2] Respawn System
Reply With Quote #161

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lord Max View Post
Thanks, this is an awesome plugin!

Lord Max
Thank you for using it
WoZeR is offline
octo-dhd
Member
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Southern California
Old 02-07-2009 , 14:08   Re: [TF2] Respawn System
Reply With Quote #162

People were exploiting a bug in this plugin on my server earlier - it'd allow them to spawn as a player on 'unassigned' and they could do strange things. I made a small change and it no longer seems to work, and logs that someone tried it (it could happen naturally, but its unlikely unless you have a long respawn time)

Code:
 
 
public Action:SpawnPlayerTimer(Handle:timer, any:client)
{
   //Respawn the player if he is in game and is dead.
   if(!SuddenDeathMode && IsClientConnected(client) && IsClientInGame(client) && !IsPlayerAlive(client))
   {
      if(GetClientTeam(client)==0)
      {
         LogError("Possible Exploit: %L",client)
      }
      else
      {
         TF2_RespawnPlayer(client)
      }
   }
   return Plugin_Continue
}
__________________
Admin of the TF2 Newbs Server's
octo-dhd is offline
Chris-_-
SourceMod Donor
Join Date: Oct 2008
Old 02-07-2009 , 14:21   Re: [TF2] Respawn System
Reply With Quote #163

I had this too on my server.

Cheers for sharing!
Chris-_- is offline
WoZeR
Donor
Join Date: Nov 2007
Old 02-07-2009 , 14:23   Re: [TF2] Respawn System
Reply With Quote #164

Thanks for the bug update. I'll fix the code supplied by octo-dhd and Kevin_b_er. Thanks!
WoZeR is offline
demariners
Member
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Arizona
Old 03-10-2009 , 19:29   Re: [TF2] Respawn System
Reply With Quote #165

With this plugin it prematurely spawns me at about 3 seconds remaining? Anymore have this simular issue?
__________________
"I hear thunder but there's no rain, this kind of thunder breaks walls and windowpanes"

demariners is offline
Send a message via AIM to demariners Send a message via MSN to demariners Send a message via Yahoo to demariners
DontWannaName
Veteran Member
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: VALVe Land, WA
Old 03-10-2009 , 22:20   Re: [TF2] Respawn System
Reply With Quote #166

This plugin is a hack of the respawn system so it makes the valve respawn system guess when you are going to respawn. Usually is this a few seconds off. The other respawn plugin doesnt have this problem since it modifys valves respawn.
__________________

DontWannaName is offline
demariners
Member
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Arizona
Old 03-11-2009 , 00:07   Re: [TF2] Respawn System
Reply With Quote #167

Is this other plugin located on this thread? I have looked and maybe I am just not finding it. Thank you
__________________
"I hear thunder but there's no rain, this kind of thunder breaks walls and windowpanes"

demariners is offline
Send a message via AIM to demariners Send a message via MSN to demariners Send a message via Yahoo to demariners
SuperShadow
SourceMod Donor
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Westminster, MD
Old 03-11-2009 , 14:56   Re: [TF2] Respawn System
Reply With Quote #168

The plugin DWN was referring to is here: http://forums.alliedmods.net/showthread.php?p=649814
SuperShadow is offline
WoZeR
Donor
Join Date: Nov 2007
Old 03-13-2009 , 16:41   Re: [TF2] Respawn System
Reply With Quote #169

Quote:
Originally Posted by DontWannaName View Post
This plugin is a hack of the respawn system so it makes the valve respawn system guess when you are going to respawn. Usually is this a few seconds off. The other respawn plugin doesnt have this problem since it modifys valves respawn.
Could you explain how that plugins code works differently then mine?

There plugin
Code:
public SetRespawnTime() {
    if (GetConVarBool(g_hEnabled) && g_iGameRules != -1) {
        SetVariantFloat(GetConVarFloat(g_hBlu));
        AcceptEntityInput(g_iGameRules, "SetBlueTeamRespawnWaveTime");
        
        SetVariantFloat(GetConVarFloat(g_hRed));
        AcceptEntityInput(g_iGameRules, "SetRedTeamRespawnWaveTime");
    }
}
My plugin
Code:
public SetRespawnTime()
{
    if (TF2GameRulesEntity != -1)
    {
        new Float:RespawnTimeRedValue = GetConVarFloat(RespawnTimeRed)
        if (RespawnTimeRedValue >= 6.0) //Added this check for servers setting spawn time to 6 seconds. The -6.0 below would cause instant spawn.
        {
            SetVariantFloat(RespawnTimeRedValue - 6.0) //I subtract 6 to help with getting an exact spawn time since valve adds on time to the spawn wave
        }
        else
        {
            SetVariantFloat(RespawnTimeRedValue)
        }
        AcceptEntityInput(TF2GameRulesEntity, "SetRedTeamRespawnWaveTime", -1, -1, 0)
        
        new Float:RespawnTimeBlueValue = GetConVarFloat(RespawnTimeBlue)
        if (RespawnTimeBlueValue >= 6.0)
        {
            SetVariantFloat(RespawnTimeBlueValue - 6.0) //I subtract 6 to help with getting an exact spawn time since valve adds on time to the spawn wave
        }
        else
        {
            SetVariantFloat(RespawnTimeBlueValue)
        }
        AcceptEntityInput(TF2GameRulesEntity, "SetBlueTeamRespawnWaveTime", -1, -1, 0)
    }
}
Both plugins do the same exact thing except mine will give the player the ability to insta spawn correctly or extend the spawn time. It also has the ability to override the ingame spawn system so you are guarantee to spawn at that exact value.

Also in your thread you do say that your plugin does have this problem. Here is the post.
Quote:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taipan
Tried using this plug-in, set sm_fastrespawn_blu/red to 5, however, I can't seem to get consistency. It would display respawning in 5 secs half the time, and others it would say respawning in 10 secs. Map used for testing was dustbowl. I would love to use this plugin because it uses the respawn timer built into the game. Any help would be appreciated.

Your post doesn't really make sense If you want to use this plugin because it uses Valve's timer, then you would know how Valve's timer works. As I noted in the first post, the value has to be half of what you want the maximum respawn time to be (the same is true for mp_respawnwavetime, if you were using that). So if you want it to be around 5 seconds, set it to 2 or 3. Then, depending on when the next respawn wave is, you'll respawn between say 3 to 5 or 5 to 7 seconds after the death cam.

Last edited by WoZeR; 03-13-2009 at 17:58.
WoZeR is offline
Inflikted
SourceMod Donor
Join Date: Jan 2009
Old 05-22-2009 , 00:37   Re: [TF2] Respawn System
Reply With Quote #170

this stop working aswell after todays update
Inflikted is offline
Reply



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 00:04.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Theme made by Freecode