Raised This Month: $99 Target: $400
 24% 

Mapchooser with vote output


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Author
stevieboy
Member
Join Date: Feb 2008
Plugin ID:
290
Plugin Version:
1.0.0.1876
Plugin Category:
General Purpose
Plugin Game:
Team Fortress 2
Plugin Dependencies:
    Servers with this Plugin:
     
    Plugin Description:
    Modified mapchooser to show the users vote
    Unapprover:
    Reason for Unapproving:
    Plugin uses same filename as one of Sourcemod's base plugins.
    Old 02-19-2008 , 01:42   Mapchooser with vote output
    Reply With Quote #1

    Hello,

    since i was comforted by the mani admin plugin informing all users of the current state of the pending vote I was very upset that the standard mapchooser-plugin doesn't want to tell me anything till the vote is finished.

    So I checked the source and found a part where the user's vote would be displayed - but it was commented out due to a pending decission by BAIL.

    I wrapped a new cvar around the code fragment and now I can switch on/off the vote output.

    Via default the value of sm_mapvote_showvotes is set to 1, so if a vote occurs the chat will be showing something like "Player stevieboy voted for map 'cp_dustbowl'".

    I post it here hoping that this cvar will find it's way into the next release of sm.

    I hope it helps someone.

    stevieboy

    PS: If I find enough time I will add an additional hintbox with the current state of the vote (timeleft and maps voted, sorted by votes).
    Attached Files
    File Type: sp Get Plugin or Get Source (mapchooser.sp - 3368 views - 14.5 KB)

    Last edited by pRED*; 02-20-2008 at 18:21. Reason: Lost plugin-option via preview (?!?!)
    stevieboy is offline
    pRED*
    Join Date: Dec 2006
    Old 02-20-2008 , 18:23   Re: Mapchooser with vote output
    Reply With Quote #2

    I removed the 'public cvar' bit from your first post since the cvar you put there wasn't actually a public cvar. See BAIL's post about getting your plugin approved for how to make one.

    I'm approving this temporarily (because I can see why people want it) but once the new map management plugin is released as part of core it will probably be no longer needed.
    pRED* is offline
    stevieboy
    Member
    Join Date: Feb 2008
    Old 02-21-2008 , 13:09   Re: Mapchooser with vote output
    Reply With Quote #3

    Hello,

    thanks for the approval.

    But I am a bit confused with your notes:

    Do I have to change something?
    What's this with the cvar?!

    Thank you again,

    Stevie
    stevieboy is offline
    StevenT
    Member
    Join Date: Dec 2007
    Old 03-29-2008 , 23:31   Re: Mapchooser with vote output
    Reply With Quote #4

    i guess this wont work with RTV ?
    StevenT is offline
    stevieboy
    Member
    Join Date: Feb 2008
    Old 04-01-2008 , 10:44   Re: Mapchooser with vote output
    Reply With Quote #5

    No since rtv is handled by another plugin.
    stevieboy is offline
    -=CsFF=- Eagle
    SourceMod Donor
    Join Date: May 2005
    Old 05-17-2008 , 07:02   Re: Mapchooser with vote output
    Reply With Quote #6

    "PS: If I find enough time I will add an additional hintbox with the current state of the vote (timeleft and maps voted, sorted by votes). "

    This would be really great.
    -=CsFF=- Eagle is offline
    stevieboy
    Member
    Join Date: Feb 2008
    Old 05-17-2008 , 11:35   Re: Mapchooser with vote output
    Reply With Quote #7

    I'd say the same thing but I am a bit unsure since in every release of SM the vote-output is commented out due to a pending decision concerning the vote-api.

    I don't want to do the work for nothing.

    Maybe bailopan or someone else can give me a hint on the direction the SM-team is going?
    __________________

    Last edited by stevieboy; 05-17-2008 at 11:42.
    stevieboy is offline
    Banjo Boy
    Member
    Join Date: Apr 2008
    Old 05-27-2008 , 14:19   Re: Mapchooser with vote output
    Reply With Quote #8

    love this plugin nice job steve, you should do the same thing for rtv!

    Runnin on my server
    __________________
    Banjo Boy is offline
    stevieboy
    Member
    Join Date: Feb 2008
    Old 05-29-2008 , 11:04   Re: Mapchooser with vote output
    Reply With Quote #9

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Banjo Boy View Post
    love this plugin nice job steve, you should do the same thing for rtv!
    I fact I did.

    But there are several issues I don't like regarding the current plugins.

    For instance the rtv-plugin does not reset the nominations after a mapchange so noone can nominate another map because the amount of nominations are already reached.

    Furthermore it bugs me that rtv and mapchooser don't seem to lookup the last played maps so sometimes if an admin changed a map manually the mapchooser might suggest to switch to the previous map (among others).

    I can upload the smx for the rtv though - if you are still interested.
    __________________
    stevieboy is offline
    Banjo Boy
    Member
    Join Date: Apr 2008
    Old 05-31-2008 , 10:25   Re: Mapchooser with vote output
    Reply With Quote #10

    Well rtv never happens on my server, but if you don't mind, you know when an admin creates a map vote using the admin menu? Like click 3 for voting commands then map vote. Can you make it so it works with that? Is it even possible?
    __________________
    Banjo Boy is offline
    Reply


    Thread Tools
    Display Modes

    Posting Rules
    You may not post new threads
    You may not post replies
    You may not post attachments
    You may not edit your posts

    BB code is On
    Smilies are On
    [IMG] code is On
    HTML code is Off

    Forum Jump


    All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:16.


    Powered by vBulletin®
    Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
    Theme made by Freecode