Raised This Month: $32 Target: $400
 8% 

Yet another High Ping Kicker


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
EKS
Veteran Member
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Norway
Old 09-13-2006 , 17:32   Re: Yet another High Ping Kicker
Reply With Quote #21

Change the defines in the plugin if you want the plugin to change the cvar via client exec.

Other then that i fixed the typo
__________________
Github archive for plugins, the repos for the other c++ projects are there to.
EKS is offline
jd91651
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Old 09-15-2006 , 19:20   Re: Yet another High Ping Kicker
Reply With Quote #22

Hi,
Sorry not to respond for a cpl days...been out of town.
Just to make sure I understand what you said and you understand what I said...

What I was saying is that I joined a server and my client rate was low.
A menu was offered to correct the client rate/cl_updaterate.
I selected 1 from the menu (update the client) then I went to the console and typed
rate, cl_updaterate and setinfo. The rate and cl_updaterates were not
changed by the plugin either in the cvar or setinfo fields even though menu item 1 was selected.

What I believe you are saying is that plugin is supposed work that way
unless I change a define in the plugin and recompile??

IF that is what you are saying then why does it offer the menu at all if the
define is not set so it can actually change the values?

Anyhow it has worked great for high pingers.
__________________
Keep the karma Give me carmel
jd91651 is offline
EKS
Veteran Member
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Norway
Old 09-16-2006 , 05:07   Re: Yet another High Ping Kicker
Reply With Quote #23

no.

this plugin default changes the info string instaed of the actual cvar.
If you want it to change the actual cvar, change the #define in the .sma and recompile
__________________
Github archive for plugins, the repos for the other c++ projects are there to.
EKS is offline
jd91651
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Old 09-17-2006 , 02:23   Re: Yet another High Ping Kicker
Reply With Quote #24

Quote:
Originally Posted by EKS View Post
no.

this plugin default changes the info string instaed of the actual cvar.
If you want it to change the actual cvar, change the #define in the .sma and recompile
Hmmm,
What I am saying is it is not changing the INFO STRING either!

By info string I thought you meant the setinfo values.
Maybe the problem is I don't know how to check the info string or maybe you mean something else by the term info string.

I've been typing setinfo in the console to view those values.
Is that the wrong thing to type to check the info string?

(sorry ... not trying to be a pain in the butt here)
__________________
Keep the karma Give me carmel
jd91651 is offline
EKS
Veteran Member
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Norway
Old 09-17-2006 , 12:00   Re: Yet another High Ping Kicker
Reply With Quote #25

The server proberbly never informs the client.It changes the setinfo string kind of like you change the clients nick.

If you belive its bugged, try manualy lowering your cl_updaterate again and see what happens.
__________________
Github archive for plugins, the repos for the other c++ projects are there to.
EKS is offline
jd91651
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Old 09-20-2006 , 18:19   Re: Yet another High Ping Kicker
Reply With Quote #26

Quote:
Originally Posted by EKS View Post
The server proberbly never informs the client.It changes the setinfo string kind of like you change the clients nick.

If you belive its bugged, try manualy lowering your cl_updaterate again and see what happens.
Well I did as you asked and the plugin never detected that I changed them back to lower values
until the map changed. After the map change I was offered the menu again to change them.
Also I think I need to back up here...
My understanding of how the plugin works were wrong when I made the previous posts.

I don't code in this language (so pls correct me if I'm wrong)
but as near as I can tell from looking at the source, the setinfo fields are only changed
if the plugin is in automatic mode (ie if CheckUpdateRate == 2) and in that mode the menu
is not even offered. Also that is not the default behaviour as was suggested.

The cvars (not the setinfo fields) are only changed if CheckUpdateRate == 1 and in that
mode the menu is offered. That is the default behaviour as near as I can tell.
Never-the-less I cannot verify that it is actually doing anything with either the cvars
or the setinfo.
If I understand you correctly you are suggesting that the plugin can change the cvars or setinfo
client values for rate/cl_updaterate but the client won't know this?? That doesn't make sense to
me? IF the client doesn't know this then it won't actually increase the packets it is sending
thus it will be still using the original low values it had all along (or am I missing something?)

IF what you suggest is true and the plugin can change the values BUT you cannot type setinfo
or rate or cl_updaterate in the client console and find out the current client values then
I know of no way to verify that the plugin is actually doing anything other
than checking and acting on the ping (which I know works...I've seen it).
__________________
Keep the karma Give me carmel
jd91651 is offline
EKS
Veteran Member
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Norway
Old 09-21-2006 , 17:01   Re: Yet another High Ping Kicker
Reply With Quote #27

new define in the .sma for those that want to use client_cmd()
__________________
Github archive for plugins, the repos for the other c++ projects are there to.
EKS is offline
jd91651
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Old 09-25-2006 , 13:30   Re: Yet another High Ping Kicker
Reply With Quote #28

Quote:
Originally Posted by EKS View Post
new define in the .sma for those that want to use client_cmd()
Reporting back that when Plugin has these two items set
#define CheckUpdateRate 2
#define UseSetInfo 1

which place it in automatic mode and use the setinfo fields instead of cvar fields, it seems to be working. It will change the rate/cl_updaterate to the higher values AND if you manually go to the console and lower the values of the setinfo fields or cvars (changing cvars causes the setinfo fields to be changed also) it will change the setinfo fields back to the higher values shortly after that and notify you.
FYI you didn't really explain what using the #define UseSetInfo in the plugin required for values and what it would do depending on those values... I figured it out from looking at the code, but some ppl might not be able to.
thanks again for the dialog and response... Great plugin. Used a long time now.
__________________
Keep the karma Give me carmel
jd91651 is offline
SimpleSimon
New Member
Join Date: Nov 2006
Old 11-20-2006 , 11:46   Re: Yet another High Ping Kicker
Reply With Quote #29

sorry, but what exactly do i change in the .sma to get this plugin to alter the actual cvar rather that setinfo?
SimpleSimon is offline
loren28
Senior Member
Join Date: Nov 2006
Old 01-13-2007 , 12:11   Re: Yet another High Ping Kicker
Reply With Quote #30

hi EKS can u please incorporate some functions from this code in to your plugin please?
code:
#include <amxmodx>

public plugin_init() {

register_plugin("Fix Client", "0.3", "Knekter")
register_cvar("sv_fix", "1")
register_cvar("sv_rate", "25000")
register_cvar("sv_fps_max", "151")
register_cvar("sv_cl_cmdrate", "101")
register_cvar("sv_cl_updaterate", "101")
}

public client_putinserver(id) {

if(get_cvar_num("sv_fix")) {

new rate, fps, cmdrate, updaterate

rate = get_cvar_num("sv_rate")
fps = get_cvar_num("sv_fps_max")
cmdrate = get_cvar_num("sv_cl_cmdrate")
updaterate = get_cvar_num("sv_cl_updaterate")

console_cmd(id, "rate %i", rate)
console_cmd(id, "fps_max %i", fps)
console_cmd(id, "cl_cmdrate %i", cmdrate)
console_cmd(id, "cl_updaterate %i", updaterate)
}
}





and i want that yor menu to be exactly thesame like in your plugin and to change automatcly all rates and all function that u put in plugin when players press 1 .please
loren28 is offline
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:54.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Theme made by Freecode