Raised This Month: $32 Target: $400
 8% 

Need Help Finding a Windows Signature

Post New Thread Reply   

Zethax
Old 01-07-2022 , 18:12   Need Help Finding a Windows Signature
Reply With Quote #1

I'm new to sigscanning, and I've been trying to find the Windows signature for the TF2 function CanUpgradeWithAttrib(). I've found the signatures for Linux and Mac, but the Windows signature is incredibly hard to get. There are seemingly no discernable patterns between the Linux and Windows versions, not to mention the function seems to have no strings for me to latch on to.

I'm aware of the whole "just use Linux" argument, but unfortunately I'm unable to get my TF2 server working on a Linux VM.

Was just wondering if anybody could give me some pointers, or some tips, on finding harder to get function signatures. Thanks!
Veteran Member
Old 01-07-2022 , 19:08   Re: Need Help Finding a Windows Signature
Reply With Quote #2

Using IDA Free, a quick scan of the function indicates that it calls CTFFlameThrower::CanAirBlastPushPlayer. You'll also want to make a note on what the graph looks like.

CTFFlameThrower::CanAirBlastPushPlayer uses a unique string "airblast_pushback_disabled" on Linux. (You can use the X key to find references to it.) Switch to the Windows binary, open up the string subview (SHIFT + F12), then find that string. You'll find that it can be in one of two functions; one of them leads to a function with multiple airblast-related attribute classes (none of which were in the function you're looking for), so navigate to the other function. Find what functions reference this one. There's only one, and in graph view you can see that it's a large graph. That's probably the function you're looking for (not going to check for myself); makesig it and you're done.

Last edited by nosoop; 01-08-2022 at 00:27.
Zethax
Old 01-07-2022 , 23:46   Re: Need Help Finding a Windows Signature
Reply With Quote #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by nosoop View Post
*snip*