Raised This Month: $12 Target: $400
 3% 

smart setinfo _pw pass reset (unauthorized access)

Post New Thread Reply   

mercury
Old 07-21-2006 , 01:36   smart setinfo _pw pass reset (unauthorized access)
Reply With Quote #1

ok, i have an idea about smart reset setinfo _pw on users machines.
you know setinfo _pw "pass" sits in users config.cfg until you clear it manually. so that you can fall a victim of unauthorized access, especially when you are not the only person using your computer.

i'm new to amxx so my code doesn't work. included just to show examples.

i suggest the following:
1. on connect right after client_authorized() we should save all users passwords in array.
2. then clear them from users configs:

Code:
public client_authorized(id) {     if (!is_user_bot(id)) {         //save pass         user_pwds[id] = "his_setinfo_pass"         //clear setinfo         client_cmd(id,"setinfo _pw ^"^"")     }     return PLUGIN_CONTINUE }

3. right after timelimit has run out we should set those setinfos back:

Code:
new players[32], num get_players(players, num) for (new i=0; i<num; i++) {     client_cmd(i,"setinfo _pww ^"%s^"", user_pwds[i]) }

it's all ok in theory but i have no such a knowledges to build this one from the beginning up to the final end. so any advices would be much appreciated. ty.

p.s.: on the whole i think this functionality should be included in amxx by default (maybe as an optional cvar) since it brings in useful security improvement.
Old 07-21-2006 , 01:38   Re: smart setinfo _pw pass reset (unauthorized access)
Reply With Quote #2

OMG! move this one here http://forums.alliedmods.net/forumdisplay.php?f=11 pls. sorry. delete this message then please.
Old 07-21-2006 , 01:39   Re: smart setinfo _pw pass reset (unauthorized access)
Reply With Quote #3

if u want to make it hard to access write some type of encoder or save it into binary file instead of cfg.
mercury