Raised This Month: $51 Target: $400
 12% 

Changing the max entity limit?


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Author Message
hlstriker
Green Gaben
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: OH-IO!
Old 04-17-2007 , 12:55   Changing the max entity limit?
Reply With Quote #1

I was wondering if there is a known way to change the max entity limit. Some maps I run on my server crash because the plugins I use add more entities to the map, and the map already has max.
hlstriker is offline
Freecode
Never Fall Asleep
Join Date: Jan 2004
Old 04-17-2007 , 17:22   Re: Changing the max entity limit?
Reply With Quote #2

no the limit is built into the engine.
Freecode is offline
teame06
i have a hat
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Hat City
Old 04-17-2007 , 17:56   Re: Changing the max entity limit?
Reply With Quote #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by hlstriker View Post
I was wondering if there is a known way to change the max entity limit. Some maps I run on my server crash because the plugins I use add more entities to the map, and the map already has max.
Ask valve to up the limit? IIRC I believe someone tried requested this before. I forgot who and if they got a no or yes answer or not.
__________________
No private support via Instant Message
GunGame:SM Released
teame06 is offline
Send a message via AIM to teame06
VEN
Veteran Member
Join Date: Jan 2005
Old 04-18-2007 , 05:53   Re: Changing the max entity limit?
Reply With Quote #4

The only thing you can do is increase maxplayers. Each additional slot will increase maxEntities by 15.

Last edited by VEN; 04-18-2007 at 05:58.
VEN is offline
Lord of Destruction
Member
Join Date: Sep 2004
Old 04-18-2007 , 08:28   Re: Changing the max entity limit?
Reply With Quote #5

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alfred Reynold
Alrighty, I have added a "-num_edicts <x>" command line option to the HL1 engine. Run the game with "-num_edicts 2048" to get more entities into a level. The maximum possible value depends on your specific mod code and memory constraints so feel free to play around with various values, just don't drop below 900. ... .
We asked them a few months ago ^^
Lord of Destruction is offline
diamond-optic
Veteran Member
Join Date: May 2005
Old 04-23-2007 , 10:43   Re: Changing the max entity limit?
Reply With Quote #6

is that actually real? i tried to test it out on dod... and when setting it to really low numbers.. like 10 or so.. shouldnt it crash right from the beginning? as 10 wouldnt be enough for any map.. but it boots up just fine and doesnt seem any different then if i dont put that on the command line..
__________________
diamond-optic is offline
Orangutanz
Veteran Member
Join Date: Apr 2006
Old 04-23-2007 , 11:48   Re: Changing the max entity limit?
Reply With Quote #7

This does work as well
-dll addons/metamod/dlls/metamod.dll -num_edicts 2047

There doesn't seem to be a cap limit either I had over 10,000 entities.

By default it looks like HL engine registers 900 edicts.
When I tried this on CS it adds an additional MAXPLAYERS * 15 on top of your num_edicts value.

[edit]
Just tried setting it to 1.
It seems to reset to the safety limit so in CS's case is MAXPLAYERS * 15 + 900
__________________
|<-- Retired from everything Small/Pawn related -->|
You know when you've been Rango'd

Last edited by Orangutanz; 04-23-2007 at 12:14.
Orangutanz is offline
pRED*
Join Date: Dec 2006
Old 04-23-2007 , 18:19   Re: Changing the max entity limit?
Reply With Quote #8

Move this to scripting tutorials?

Definately worth keeping handy...
pRED* is offline
Nican
Veteran Member
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NY
Old 04-23-2007 , 20:36   Re: Changing the max entity limit?
Reply With Quote #9

EDIT:
Never mind. I found it out.
__________________
http://www.nican132.com
I require reputation!
Nican is offline
Send a message via ICQ to Nican Send a message via MSN to Nican
mogel
Senior Member
Join Date: Jan 2007
Old 04-25-2007 , 15:58   Re: Changing the max entity limit?
Reply With Quote #10

Hi,

Quote:
Originally Posted by Orangutanz View Post
-num_edicts 2047
nice ... but ... how can i detect the maximum or the free number of entities ... at the time i use this code

Code:
public TestEntityThread(number) {
    log_amx("create entity #%i", number)

    new Float:origin[3]
    origin[0] = 0.0
    origin[1] = 0.0
    origin[2] = number * 1.0
    
    new entity = create_entity("info_target")
    entity_set_string(entity, EV_SZ_classname, "testentity")
    entity_set_model(entity, "models/woodgibs.mdl")
    entity_set_origin(entity, origin)

    entity_set_int(entity, EV_INT_movetype, MOVETYPE_TOSS)

    set_task(0.1, "TestEntityThread", number + 1)
}
i know ... that will crash the server

hand, mogel
__________________
mogel is offline
Reply



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 14:13.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Theme made by Freecode