Raised This Month: $135 Target: $400
 33% 

[INC] Beam Entities


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
KORD_12.7
Senior Member
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Russia, Vladivostok
Old 08-12-2012 , 19:41   Re: [INC] Beam Entities
Reply With Quote #11

Merciless, what exactly you want to do with beam ents? Show your code.
__________________

Vi Veri Veniversum Vivus Vici
Russian Half-Life and Adrenaline Gamer community
KORD_12.7 is offline
Send a message via ICQ to KORD_12.7
Merciless
BANNED
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Belgium
Old 08-12-2012 , 20:00   Re: [INC] Beam Entities
Reply With Quote #12

Its kinda private mod;

but if you wanna see;
add me on steam: Severijnske
Merciless is offline
GordonFreeman (RU)
Veteran Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Uzbekistan
Old 08-12-2012 , 23:10   Re: [INC] Beam Entities
Reply With Quote #13

Simply example:

Code:
new Float:org[3],Float:org1[3]             pev(player,pev_origin,org)             fm_get_aim_origin(player,org1)             new beams = Beam_Create(REFLUX_BEAM,10.0)             Beam_Init(beams,REFLUX_BEAM,10.0)             Beam_PointsInit(beams,org,org1)             Beam_SetColor(beams,{255.0,255.0,255.0})             Beam_SetNoise(beams,50)
creating beam from use origin to user aim origin
__________________
The functional way is the right way

Last edited by GordonFreeman (RU); 08-12-2012 at 23:10.
GordonFreeman (RU) is offline
Merciless
BANNED
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Belgium
Old 08-12-2012 , 23:35   Re: [INC] Beam Entities
Reply With Quote #14

Quote:
Originally Posted by GordonFreeman (RU) View Post
Simply example:

Code:
new Float:org[3],Float:org1[3]             pev(player,pev_origin,org)             fm_get_aim_origin(player,org1)             new beams = Beam_Create(REFLUX_BEAM,10.0)             Beam_Init(beams,REFLUX_BEAM,10.0)             Beam_PointsInit(beams,org,org1)             Beam_SetColor(beams,{255.0,255.0,255.0})             Beam_SetNoise(beams,50)
creating beam from use origin to user aim origin
PHP Code:
stock Beam_Create(const szSpriteName[], const FloatflWidth)
{
    new 
iBeamEntity;
    static 
iszAllocStringCached;
    
    if (
iszAllocStringCached || (iszAllocStringCached engfunc(EngFunc_AllocString"beam")))
    {
        
iBeamEntity engfunc(EngFunc_CreateNamedEntityiszAllocStringCached);
    }
    
    if (
pev_valid(iBeamEntity))
    {
        
set_pev(iBeamEntitypev_classname"beam");
        
Beam_Init(iBeamEntityszSpriteNameflWidth);
        
        return 
iBeamEntity;
    }
    
    return 
FM_NULLENT;

As you can see, the Beam_Init gets already pushed when you create.
So you don't gotta put it again

Last edited by Merciless; 08-12-2012 at 23:35.
Merciless is offline
Merciless
BANNED
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Belgium
Old 08-14-2012 , 21:01   Re: [INC] Beam Entities
Reply With Quote #15

Hello;

I made a fast low-quality youtube movie to show you the bug

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3ujBo...ature=youtu.be

Here you see, at around 89 - 90 (entity number), line doesnt come anymore.
Entity creates, model is on the entity, modelindex to. (Checked both) but just stops showing.

Also tryd other sprites (laserbeam.spr & own made), and always same.

I hope this can get solved!

Thank you
Merciless is offline
Arkshine
AMX Mod X Plugin Approver
Join Date: Oct 2005
Old 08-15-2012 , 02:17   Re: [INC] Beam Entities
Reply With Quote #16

It's an engine limit, it can't not render more than x entities at once.
__________________
Working on : CS Weapon Mod (72%) , MonsterAI (PAUSED),

Arkshine is offline
Merciless
BANNED
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Belgium
Old 08-15-2012 , 09:30   Re: [INC] Beam Entities
Reply With Quote #17

Any other way I can do it?
Merciless is offline
Arkshine
AMX Mod X Plugin Approver
Join Date: Oct 2005
Old 08-15-2012 , 09:34   Re: [INC] Beam Entities
Reply With Quote #18

Well, for what you want to do, I don't think.
__________________
Working on : CS Weapon Mod (72%) , MonsterAI (PAUSED),

Arkshine is offline
Merciless
BANNED
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Belgium
Old 08-15-2012 , 09:52   Re: [INC] Beam Entities
Reply With Quote #19

So; if the render is the problem.
I could let it, to check touch. (Invisible)

And use normal trail to folow me, so everyone sees it.

But is it even possible to let the trail stay?
My first tests didn't gave me much hope xD
Merciless is offline
Arkshine
AMX Mod X Plugin Approver
Join Date: Oct 2005
Old 08-15-2012 , 10:01   Re: [INC] Beam Entities
Reply With Quote #20

No, it will fade away after some time.
__________________
Working on : CS Weapon Mod (72%) , MonsterAI (PAUSED),

Arkshine is offline
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 00:48.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Theme made by Freecode