Raised This Month: $32 Target: $400
 8% 

[TF2] Be the Robot (1.3, December 22 2012)


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Author
MasterOfTheXP
Veteran Member
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Cloudbank
Plugin ID:
3166
Plugin Version:
1.3
Plugin Category:
Fun Stuff
Plugin Game:
Team Fortress 2
Plugin Dependencies:
    Servers with this Plugin:
    526 
    Plugin Description:
    Become a robot from Mann vs. Machine!
    Old 08-16-2012 , 07:05   [TF2] Be the Robot (1.3, December 22 2012)
    Reply With Quote #1

    Changes your player model into a robot from Mann vs. Machine, and adds a touch of metal to your voice. Nothing else changes.

    By default, anyone can say !robot to toggle it on themselves. Admins can do !robot [target] [1/0] to toggle it on others.

    NEW FOR 1.3: Now be robot as Engineer! Plugin has been re-written and no longer works terribly! Also, for plugin devs, it's got natives!

    OVERRIDES
    Use tf/addons/sourcemod/configs/admin_overrides.cfg and set these to your preferred donator flag to limit access to BtR to your donators/admins:
    • "betherobot" (def. all) Who can toggle it on themselves.
    • "betherobot_admin" (def. kick) Who can toggle it on other players.
    CVARS
    Tune the plugin to your liking with tf/cfg/server.cfg.
    • sm_betherobot_footsteps (1/0, def. 1) Play footsteps from robots?
    • sm_betherobot_default (1/0, def. 0) Should everyone who joins get a robot model by default?
    • sm_betherobot_classes (def. 0) What classes shouldn't be able to be robot? Add up the numbers to get the restrictions you want. 1=Scout, 2=Soldier, 4=Pyro, 8=Demo, 16=Heavy, 32=Engineer, 64=Medic, 128=Sniper, 256=Spy. Default is 0 (no restrictions)
    • sm_betherobot_sounds (1/0, def. 1) Should robots' voices become robotic?
    • sm_betherobot_taunts (1/0, def. 1) Should robots be able to taunt?
    • sm_betherobot_fileexists (1/0, def. 1) Should the plugin check if the robot-voice sound file actually exists? Disable this if you're having trouble with sounds. It might fix it.
    • sm_betherobot_cooldown (def. 2.0) Players must wait this long, in seconds, between toggling robot on themselves. Set to 0.0 for no cooldown.
    • sm_betherobot_wearables (1/0, def. 1) Show wearables on robots? Many wearables don't merge with the robot model properly, and thus create long lines going to the map's origin.
    • sm_betherobot_wearables_kill (1/0, def. 0) If this is 1, and _wearables is 0, wearables will be outright removed from players when they become robots. This makes it so they'll also have no wearables when they un-robot, but on the other hand, BLU zombie players appear RED if this isn't on.
    MODULE: Be the Sentry Buster
    Click for info ->


    MODULE: Bots are Robots
    Available here. Turns the non-MvM bots into robots.
    FOR DEVELOPERS
    betherobot.inc


    KNOWN ISSUES
    There aren't many, anymore.
    • If you're unlucky enough, your server will stringtable-overflow and crash if it precaches too many sounds. Players precaching another >60 robot sounds per minute helps this happen. We've been waiting ages for Valve to fix this since MvM, but they just fixed it for the majority of servers (not all) and have since been pretending it wasn't affecting anyone anymore.
      • Fix: Set sm_betherobot_sounds to 0. No sounds will be precached by the plugin. Get NoMvM if you're still paranoid/still overflowing.
      • Fix: February 22, 2013 Patch. It only took 'em half a year.
    • Spy issues. All voice lines are delayed for some reason, and BLU Spies appear RED (or something like that) due to missing "disguised" sub-models.
      • Fix: Disable Spy robots by adding 256 onto sm_betherobot_classes.
    • Most taunts don't work right (e.g. Rainblower, Scorch Shot, Caber) as Valve hasn't set them up properly/at all for the robot models. Although they're for weapons the MvM bots don't actually use, so you can't really blame 'em.
      • Fix: Disable taunts with sm_betherobot_taunts 0.
    • Robots are reset back to humans on mapchange. I'm looking into this, but for now, at least it's better than sounds not working past mapchanges, right? 99% sure that it's caused because OnClientDisconnect() is called on mapchange.
    • Be the Buster un-robots you, waits out the cooldown time, then makes you a Buster.
      • Fix: Don't be robot when using !buster.
    • Clients' consoles are flooded with "Cannot update control point" errors.
      • Fix: Tell your players to do record dem;stop in console. It does not look like Valve will be fixing this at any point.
    • Sometimes, a line is drawn from a robot player that goes to some place.
      • This is because an item that they have equipped attaches to a bone on the player model that does not exist on the robot model, so instead it just lazily goes to the map's origin point.
      • Lazy Fix: Disable wearables with sm_betherobot_wearables 0. I've always meant to make a "wearable whitelist" for this plugin that makes wearables that cause this bug invisible, but there are quite a number of wearables, and Valve keeps adding more.
    • Zombie-robot Spies are sometimes coloured the opposite team's colour.
      • Fix: Disable and kill wearables with both sm_betherobot_wearables 0 and sm_betherobot_wearables_kill 1. I should probably make that whitelist, shouldn't I?
    DOCUMENTED CHANGES
    Click to see ->





    HOWE 2 INSTALL
    • DO NOT CLICK Get Plugin for either file, because it won't work.
    • Download betherobot.smx, save it into your sourcemod/plugins/ directory, and do sm plugins load betherobot in your server console if the server is already running. Bam, pow, snap, you're done.
    • If you want to restrict it to certain players only, see the text underneath the big OVERRIDES text above, then save your overrides config and sm_reloadadmins.
    • If you want to Be the Sentry Buster:
      • Make sure you've got the extensions SDK Hooks and TF2Items installed and running on your server--sm exts load sdkhooks and sm exts load tf2items in server console if they're not.
      • Grab betherobot_sentrybuster.smx and do the same dealio with stock robot. If it doesn't load, use your brain to carefully read the failure message. (For example, extension "tf2items" not running means you didn't install TF2Items right. Or you might need to restart the server.)
    • If you want to manually compile Be the Robot, Be the Buster, or make your own module, hit Get Source for the respective .sp. You'll also need to plant betherobot.inc into your include/ folder when compiling.
    Attached Files
    File Type: smx betherobot.smx (12.5 KB, 20489 views)
    File Type: sp Get Plugin or Get Source (betherobot.sp - 7215 views - 13.7 KB)
    File Type: smx betherobotsentrybuster.smx (16.7 KB, 10178 views)
    File Type: sp Get Plugin or Get Source (betherobotsentrybuster.sp - 4448 views - 17.9 KB)
    File Type: inc betherobot.inc (1.7 KB, 8049 views)
    __________________
    Plugins / My Steam / TF2 Sandbox (plugin beta testing!)

    Last edited by MasterOfTheXP; 10-02-2013 at 08:38.
    MasterOfTheXP is offline
    Snaggle
    AlliedModders Donor
    Join Date: Jul 2010
    Location: England
    Old 08-16-2012 , 07:40   Re: [TF2] Be the Robot 1.0
    Reply With Quote #2

    Ho ho ho. What a wonderful little plugin this is.
    Snaggle is offline
    hajter
    Junior Member
    Join Date: Jul 2012
    Old 08-16-2012 , 08:04   Re: [TF2] Be the Robot 1.0
    Reply With Quote #3

    Nice! You can do it automatically adding new model at the entrance to the server?
    hajter is offline
    SmackDaddy
    Veteran Member
    Join Date: Oct 2009
    Old 08-16-2012 , 08:10   Re: [TF2] Be the Robot 1.0
    Reply With Quote #4

    Would like to see the ability for only admins w/a certain flag to be able to utilize this on themselves. Nice plugin.
    SmackDaddy is offline
    killerps
    Member
    Join Date: Jun 2011
    Location: Libusza / Poland
    Old 08-16-2012 , 09:12   Re: [TF2] Be the Robot 1.0
    Reply With Quote #5

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by SmackDaddy View Post
    Would like to see the ability for only admins w/a certain flag to be able to utilize this on themselves. Nice plugin.
    add to admin_overrides.cfg
    "betherobot" "b"
    killerps is offline
    Jim E. Rustler
    BANNED
    Join Date: Jul 2012
    Old 08-16-2012 , 13:08   Re: [TF2] Be the Robot 1.0
    Reply With Quote #6

    You are no longer a robot if you touch a resupply cabinet. Anyway to fix this? Typing !robot each and everytime is rather bad.

    I just thought of something pretty awesome. If there was somehow a way to force all BOT's to use the robot model as well. That would be very fitting xD

    Last edited by Jim E. Rustler; 08-16-2012 at 13:15.
    Jim E. Rustler is offline
    Horsedick
    AlliedModders Donor
    Join Date: Sep 2011
    Old 08-16-2012 , 13:14   Re: [TF2] Be the Robot 1.0
    Reply With Quote #7

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Jim E. Rustler View Post
    You are no longer a robot if you touch a resupply cabinet. Anyway to fix this? Typing !robot each and everytime is rather bad.
    The horsemann is like this..just don't touch the supply cab. Same commands for horsemann as well with ! but you can use / instead doesn't matter but I don't see a big deal here.

    As for the known issues like logs and such I'll watch this and see what Valve does in the next few days as far as fixing issues (more updates to wait on) with this most recent update to see what cleans up and what doesn't.
    Horsedick is offline
    Jim E. Rustler
    BANNED
    Join Date: Jul 2012
    Old 08-16-2012 , 13:25   Re: [TF2] Be the Robot 1.0
    Reply With Quote #8

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Horsedick View Post
    The horsemann is like this..just don't touch the supply cab. Same commands for horsemann as well with ! but you can use / instead doesn't matter but I don't see a big deal here.

    As for the known issues like logs and such I'll watch this and see what Valve does in the next few days as far as fixing issues (more updates to wait on) with this most recent update to see what cleans up and what doesn't.
    Ahh are you serious? This is expected behavior?

    I was hoping this would be an easy fix, had no idea other similar plugins had this issue too. Oh well, it was a nice concept to use for my server and all but I just can't have something (in my mind) broken like this running on it.

    Thanks anyways.
    Jim E. Rustler is offline
    Horsedick
    AlliedModders Donor
    Join Date: Sep 2011
    Old 08-16-2012 , 13:35   Re: [TF2] Be the Robot 1.0
    Reply With Quote #9

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Jim E. Rustler View Post
    Ahh are you serious? This is expected behavior?

    I was hoping this would be an easy fix, had no idea other similar plugins had this issue too. Oh well, it was a nice concept to use for my server and all but I just can't have something (in my mind) broken like this running on it.

    Thanks anyways.
    I wouldn't classify it as broken... I mean the cycle they each have are very high as in the Horsemann has a HP of near 1000 so you can be out there a long time, the robots are prob near the same. If you worry about running out of ammo use a infinite ammo plugin to go with it and if you worry about health use god mode.
    Horsedick is offline
    Jim E. Rustler
    BANNED
    Join Date: Jul 2012
    Old 08-16-2012 , 13:48   Re: [TF2] Be the Robot 1.0
    Reply With Quote #10

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Horsedick View Post
    I wouldn't classify it as broken... I mean the cycle they each have are very high as in the Horsemann has a HP of near 1000 so you can be out there a long time, the robots are prob near the same. If you worry about running out of ammo use a infinite ammo plugin to go with it and if you worry about health use god mode.
    No I don't mean that it is broken. I just prefer to have plugins that work a certain way not have these little quirks in them which is more and more difficult to find anymore because of all the roadblocks Valve is placing in the way for developers.

    The plugin is fun and certainly has it's uses. I'm just personally not interested in something that requires constant usage of !robot or /robot is all.
    Jim E. Rustler is offline
    Reply


    Thread Tools
    Display Modes

    Posting Rules
    You may not post new threads
    You may not post replies
    You may not post attachments
    You may not edit your posts

    BB code is On
    Smilies are On
    [IMG] code is On
    HTML code is Off

    Forum Jump


    All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:20.


    Powered by vBulletin®
    Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
    Theme made by Freecode