Raised This Month: $51 Target: $400
 12% 

VSH VSH, old thread (v1.42) - Information/etc.


Post New Thread Closed Thread   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
FlaminSarge
Veteran Member
Join Date: Jul 2010
Old 04-23-2012 , 03:50   Re: [TF2] VS Saxton Hale Mode
#2951

It does work. Why it doesn't use it, I don't know. It might have something to do with other things modding max health.
__________________
Bread EOTL GunMettle Invasion Jungle Inferno 64-bit will break everything. Don't even ask.

All plugins: Randomizer/GiveWeapon, ModelManager, etc.
Post in plugin threads with questions.
Steam is for playing games.
You will be fed to javalia otherwise.
Psyduck likes replays.
FlaminSarge is offline
Powerlord
AlliedModders Donor
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Seduce Me!
Old 04-23-2012 , 04:59   Re: [TF2] VS Saxton Hale Mode
#2952

Quote:
Originally Posted by FlaminSarge View Post
It does work. Why it doesn't use it, I don't know. It might have something to do with other things modding max health.
I'm tempted to petition for this to be changed, at least in FF2... it's not like you can't still track the boss health via the m_iHealth property.

Eliminating the overheal thing would be a great boon to my boss, whose rage makes her and her weapons 50% transparent for 20 seconds (these amounts to be adjusted through testing). However, the overheal marks are quite obvious on the Female Spy model.
__________________
Not currently working on SourceMod plugin development.

Last edited by Powerlord; 04-23-2012 at 05:30.
Powerlord is offline
FlaminSarge
Veteran Member
Join Date: Jul 2010
Old 04-23-2012 , 08:42   Re: [TF2] VS Saxton Hale Mode
#2953

There was the issue with Hale stealing all the health packs, since he could pick 'em up if we did that.

Also you can probably just add it to your custom boss's weapon...
__________________
Bread EOTL GunMettle Invasion Jungle Inferno 64-bit will break everything. Don't even ask.

All plugins: Randomizer/GiveWeapon, ModelManager, etc.
Post in plugin threads with questions.
Steam is for playing games.
You will be fed to javalia otherwise.
Psyduck likes replays.
FlaminSarge is offline
nergal
Veteran Member
Join Date: Apr 2012
Old 04-23-2012 , 23:23   Re: [TF2] VS Saxton Hale Mode
#2954

Quote:
Originally Posted by Powerlord View Post
Hey, I was wondering... did anyone ever try using attributes 26 or 140 on the boss's main weapon to set their health, rather than doing it entirely through code? I was wondering if TF2 would bomb if it went too high. Unless they block high values in the code somewhere, it should work up to at least 65,535 health; I haven't checked the variable type of m_iMaxHealth, but int8 would be too small for Heavy's health.

Anyway, before I waste time testing this, has Eggman or FlamingSarge tried this before?

I admit, I have ulterior motives. My boss's partial cloak ability is useless as long as the overheal particles exist on the boss, as they are quite noticeable.

(x-posted to Freak Fortress 2 topic)
reason for that is because Hale can just pick up a health pack and he has 9K MORE HEALTH AGAIN....
nergal is offline
Powerlord
AlliedModders Donor
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Seduce Me!
Old 04-24-2012 , 11:50   Re: [TF2] VS Saxton Hale Mode
#2955

Quote:
Originally Posted by nergal View Post
reason for that is because Hale can just pick up a health pack and he has 9K MORE HEALTH AGAIN....
It does make me wonder if there's any way to change that, but I don't think Valve has any attribute to prevent you from picking up health packs...
__________________
Not currently working on SourceMod plugin development.
Powerlord is offline
napalm00
Veteran Member
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Italy, sadly
Old 04-24-2012 , 11:53   Re: [TF2] VS Saxton Hale Mode
#2956

Quote:
Originally Posted by Powerlord View Post
It does make me wonder if there's any way to change that, but I don't think Valve has any attribute to prevent you from picking up health packs...
Perhaps attribute 109 (health from health packs decreased)?
__________________
napalm00 is offline
Sorrowfire
Member
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: <Missing String>
Old 04-24-2012 , 12:13   Re: [TF2] VS Saxton Hale Mode
#2957

Quote:
Originally Posted by napalm00 View Post
Perhaps attribute 109 (health from health packs decreased)?
Dam, you beat me to it napalm! I was thinking the same thing, but by the time I logged in you already posted it. But this should work, I'm pretty sure that there are almost no min/max settings. However, I'm not quite sure if hale would be able to -steal- them from other players.
__________________
"What do you mean SourcePawn doesn't count as a 2nd language?"
Sorrowfire is offline
Powerlord
AlliedModders Donor
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Seduce Me!
Old 04-24-2012 , 13:06   Re: [TF2] VS Saxton Hale Mode
#2958

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sorrowfire View Post
Dam, you beat me to it napalm! I was thinking the same thing, but by the time I logged in you already posted it. But this should work, I'm pretty sure that there are almost no min/max settings. However, I'm not quite sure if hale would be able to -steal- them from other players.
Ah, right, I forgot that attribute existed (since the Backscratcher has it).

I've noticed that the min and max for attributes are routinely ignored even by Valve's own item code, so I wouldn't pay that much attention to the listed min/max.
__________________
Not currently working on SourceMod plugin development.
Powerlord is offline
napalm00
Veteran Member
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Italy, sadly
Old 04-24-2012 , 13:13   Re: [TF2] VS Saxton Hale Mode
#2959

Quote:
Originally Posted by Powerlord View Post
Ah, right, I forgot that attribute existed (since the Backscratcher has it).

I've noticed that the min and max for attributes are routinely ignored even by Valve's own item code, so I wouldn't pay that much attention to the listed min/max.
Couldn't you just block the touch event using SDKHooks' OnStartTouch hook? That *should* work for items, I believe.

EDIT:
Mis-read the whole reply, but Imo using SDKHooks would still be better.
__________________

Last edited by napalm00; 04-24-2012 at 13:15. Reason: derp
napalm00 is offline
Cookies.net
Senior Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Old 04-24-2012 , 14:57   Re: [TF2] VS Saxton Hale Mode
#2960

Use SDKHooks and hook touch on health packs with the callback being like this
PHP Code:
public Action:OnHealthPackTouch(entityother)
{
    if (
other && other <= MaxClients && IsBoss[other]) return Plugin_Handled;
    return 
Plugin_Continue;

Just replace "IsBoss[client]" with however you check for hale. I used this in an old version of my (unreleased) boss gamemode, where the core was plugin based.
Cookies.net is offline
Closed Thread



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 14:05.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Theme made by Freecode