Raised This Month: $319 Target: $400
 79%   Almost there!

Requirements for 2 servers


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Author Message
chinga
Junior Member
Join Date: May 2021
Old 05-22-2021 , 04:50   Requirements for 2 servers
Reply With Quote #1

Hello,

I started working in an IT place and the boss said he allows me to create a virtual machine for a CS 1.6 server on one of the servers on his data centers

So I wanted to know what requirements do I need for 2 servers: One is auto-mix with 10 players, and the other is public server with 30 players.

What do I need? Both in terms of hardware and AMX plugins to run it.
For auto mix I'd need the auto-mix plugin of course (I will take p1mp's one - unless you tell me there's a better one)

But what plugins do I need for the public server, and what hardware for the virtual machine?

Thanks

Last edited by chinga; 05-22-2021 at 04:50.
chinga is offline
fysiks
Veteran Member
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Flatland, USA
Old 05-22-2021 , 14:50   Re: Requirements for 2 servers
Reply With Quote #2

Regarding plugins, you use whatever plugins you want to use.
__________________
fysiks is online now
CrazY.
Veteran Member
Join Date: May 2015
Location: SP, Brazil
Old 05-23-2021 , 07:51   Re: Requirements for 2 servers
Reply With Quote #3

Quote:
The maxplayers setting should be optimized related to your uplink connection.
  • 128k uplink = 4 players (2 players for srcds)
  • 256k uplink = 7 players (4 players for srcds)
  • 320k uplink = 9 players (6 players for srcds)
  • 512k uplink = 14 players (9 players for srcds)
  • 768k uplink = 21 players (14 players for srcds)
  • 1024k uplink = 28 player (19 players for srcds - note 16 players is max for HL2DM)
  • 1140k uplink = 32 players (max for HLDS) (21 players for CS:S)
  • 1708k uplink = 32 players for CS:S (max)
A good rule for HLDS is 35.6Kbits per player .
Quote:
Win32 Servers should be run on WIN2K / XP Pro platforms with HLDS on a 1.8GHz cpu and a minimum of 512MB of RAM
Source: https://support.steampowered.com/kb_...5386-HMJI-5162

Quote:
Originally Posted by fysiks View Post
Regarding plugins, you use whatever plugins you want to use.
__________________





Last edited by CrazY.; 05-23-2021 at 07:52.
CrazY. is offline
DeteCT0R
Member
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: My Home
Old 05-23-2021 , 09:12   Re: Requirements for 2 servers
Reply With Quote #4

On my dedicated server i used 1core/2gb ram combo /server. But you have VM so probably you should give more cpu juice.
__________________
My steam:
DeteCT0R is offline
DeNeDe
AlliedModders Donor
Join Date: Oct 2007
Old 05-24-2021 , 14:40   Re: Requirements for 2 servers
Reply With Quote #5

My dedicated is so overkill i'm ashamed to write it here..
CPU: Xeon E5 2.8GHZ 8cores/16threads
Memory: 64GB DDR4
Storage: 1TB SSD Nvme
Uplink: 10Gbit
OS: Debian 10
DeNeDe is offline
jesusemilio
Member
Join Date: Dec 2020
Location: Santiago,chile
Old 05-25-2021 , 17:17   Re: Requirements for 2 servers
Reply With Quote #6

the pana whit tinten pentum XD
__________________
Admin Del Server TEAM COMPAS
jesusemilio is offline
chinga
Junior Member
Join Date: May 2021
Old 05-26-2021 , 13:00   Re: Requirements for 2 servers
Reply With Quote #7

Quote:
Originally Posted by fysiks View Post
Regarding plugins, you use whatever plugins you want to use.
I know, but what are some good plugins to run the server "out of the box" without editing too much code of the plugins? I am talking about the public server.
Because right now I am working hard to fix some bugs on the p1mp's pug mode and I just begun learning this pawn language so it's gonna take quite some time

Quote:
Originally Posted by CrazY. View Post
Thank you


Quote:
Originally Posted by DeteCT0R View Post
On my dedicated server i used 1core/2gb ram combo /server. But you have VM so probably you should give more cpu juice.
Yes I will probably give it more than 1 core

Quote:
Originally Posted by DeNeDe View Post
My dedicated is so overkill i'm ashamed to write it here..
CPU: Xeon E5 2.8GHZ 8cores/16threads
Memory: 64GB DDR4
Storage: 1TB SSD Nvme
Uplink: 10Gbit
OS: Debian 10
Do you use desktop or server version? I just like to have GUI like in Windows, but I know it's different on Linux..

Quote:
Originally Posted by jesusemilio View Post
the pana whit tinten pentum XD
What?
chinga is offline
fysiks
Veteran Member
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Flatland, USA
Old 05-26-2021 , 23:07   Re: Requirements for 2 servers
Reply With Quote #8

Quote:
Originally Posted by chinga View Post
I know, but what are some good plugins to run the server "out of the box" without editing too much code of the plugins? I am talking about the public server.
Because right now I am working hard to fix some bugs on the p1mp's pug mode and I just begun learning this pawn language so it's gonna take quite some time
There are so many plugins and it is very subjective as to what is a "good" plugin. Also, just randomly recommending plugins is pointless. You should search for and test specific types of plugins that you are looking for. If they don't work, post in their threads. If none of them have what you want or you are unable to find something that you want, create a new thread in the AMX Mod X Suggestions/Requests subforum with a details explanation of what you are looking for.
__________________
fysiks is online now
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 18:54.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Theme made by Freecode