Raised This Month: $32 Target: $400
 8% 

[L4D] is there a way to unblock certain map blocks?


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Author Message
finishlast
Senior Member
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: In Reno with the vitamin
Old 04-01-2021 , 06:41   [L4D] is there a way to unblock certain map blocks?
Reply With Quote #1

Hi there,

just a thing I thought about some time.

For example there are areas in last map of sacrafice that are blocked for survivors even though they could be funny to be used while playing that map.

i.e. the parts behind the middle generator

When you place something in front of the fence via stripper and then jump on it you can't still pass it, bc is blocked for survivors.

Would it be possible to make some sort of unlocking "portal" with x y z axis that you can place on lets say a fence like 2 meters high and then a certain width with a certain depth, that would disable the collision event and let the players pass through that and then reenables it?

Or if disabling is not possible how about teleporting the player some cm behind the block, ideally working both ways.

Like make a transparent rectangle box and according to its angle on the map you always get teleported some cm on the other side of it, like well a small teleport portal.

I would find it hilarious to play versus behind the house on SAC tbh.

Adding some stuff and cars in front of the blocks to climb up with stripper and using the portal plugin to slip through at certain fences, walls etc..
__________________
finishlast is offline
Marttt
Veteran Member
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Brazil
Old 04-01-2021 , 07:33   Re: [L4D] is there a way to unblock certain map blocks?
Reply With Quote #2

Some blocks can't be removed from the map, usually the static ones (compiled with the map).

The ones that we are able to remove through plugins / .lmp files / stripper is the entities that the server can read (usually a env_player_block)

You can check most of them using "r_drawclipbrushes" in console (local server).

https://developer.valvesoftware.com/...rawclipbrushes

You can remove it only if you open the map in hammer delete it and them compile back, but it will generate a new version of the map and everyone will have to download it (like a custom map), which is not a nice solution.

What I have seen is some servers using a portal entity (don't remember the name) that allow you to "teleport" to some specific places, so sometimes you can't reach a place cause there is an invisible wall, but from the there side of the wall you are able to move.
__________________
Marttt is offline
finishlast
Senior Member
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: In Reno with the vitamin
Old 04-01-2021 , 15:12   Re: [L4D] is there a way to unblock certain map blocks?
Reply With Quote #3

I used noclip to get past, then disable noclip again and then were able to run around in that area.
Even the bots followed me there.

So I would assume a teleport portal above a fence would work, it would only have to teleport the player a small way to the other side.

A double portal for both directions.
So one touches portal A and end behind B and vice versa.

-->A || B<--

Now I have to find some teleport example scripts, i dont think that is too hard to make.

Thx again Marttt
__________________
finishlast is offline
Marttt
Veteran Member
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Brazil
Old 04-01-2021 , 16:46   Re: [L4D] is there a way to unblock certain map blocks?
Reply With Quote #4

I saw some teleport stuff being done in stripper, so you can achieve that without a plugin.

would be something like this:

PHP Code:
{
    
"classname" "logic_auto"
    "OnMapSpawn" "teleport1,addoutput,mins -150 -5 0,0,-1"
    "OnMapSpawn" "teleport1,addoutput,maxs 150 5 150,0,-1"
    "OnMapSpawn" "teleport1,addoutput,solid 2,0,-1"
}
{
    
"origin" "-1000.0 -1000.0 -100.0"
    "targetname" "teleport1"
    "target" "teleport1dest"
    "spawnflags" "1"
    "classname" "trigger_teleport"
}
{
    
"origin" "-1200.0 -1000.0 -1000.0"
    "angles" "0 90 0"
    "targetname" "teleport1dest"
    "classname" "info_teleport_destination"

__________________
Marttt is offline
finishlast
Senior Member
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: In Reno with the vitamin
Old 04-03-2021 , 07:21   Re: [L4D] is there a way to unblock certain map blocks?
Reply With Quote #5

Thanks again.

ATM I simply put a metal panel for testing against one of the invisible walls on top of the first building, when you walk against it it teleports you +50 behind the barrier, so it is possible to reach the outer areas now. (just noclip up there and walk against it. It is set for surivors only but that if clause is obsolete.)

Unfortunatelly the bots are too stupid without navigation meshes.

I would assume it is not possible to add new navigation meshes without messing with the map files?!

Sadly because the area on the right side is really big and has modding potential.

I spawned a tank there and it was fun fun fun
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 1.jpg (71.4 KB, 102 views)
File Type: jpg 2.jpg (65.4 KB, 87 views)
File Type: jpg 3.jpg (73.1 KB, 71 views)
File Type: jpg 4.jpg (88.8 KB, 78 views)
Attached Files
File Type: sp Get Plugin or Get Source (l4d_test.sp - 97 views - 1.6 KB)
__________________

Last edited by finishlast; 04-03-2021 at 10:53.
finishlast is offline
Marttt
Veteran Member
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Brazil
Old 04-03-2021 , 09:56   Re: [L4D] is there a way to unblock certain map blocks?
Reply With Quote #6

I don't know much about nav stuff, but AFAIK it is server sided (.nav file), so you can modify and your bots will learn, but for someone that knows nothing (like me xD) is kinda hard editing the nav.
I already tried doing that once but I have failed on making it work.
__________________

Last edited by Marttt; 04-03-2021 at 12:28.
Marttt is offline
jeremyvillanueva
AlliedModders Donor
Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: dcord:Jeremy333#7632
Old 04-03-2021 , 10:38   Re: [L4D] is there a way to unblock certain map blocks?
Reply With Quote #7

Hi, I've been in private servers
where they did what you say,
And also they got like triggers to make some
things happen, I just really didn't know how
to do it,
There are a lot of things that aren't in this site,
I think that probably they are from Russia or China

BW
jeremyvillanueva is offline
finishlast
Senior Member
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: In Reno with the vitamin
Old 04-04-2021 , 03:08   Re: [L4D] is there a way to unblock certain map blocks?
Reply With Quote #8

Is this clientside? I try to open the "backyard" serverside, so noone needs to have the addon installed.

I thought maybe something like this (see script and stripper file)

Outside of saferoom go left then on the fireladder. through the building then through the portal.

Then down, all the way behind to the fence.

Generator from inside the building should be here.

You can exit the area over the bricks.

You can get back in from left side.

But the nav meshes are a problem though.
Attached Files
File Type: sp Get Plugin or Get Source (l4d_test.sp - 81 views - 3.5 KB)
File Type: cfg l4d_river03_port.cfg (2.1 KB, 53 views)
__________________

Last edited by finishlast; 04-04-2021 at 03:34.
finishlast is offline
Aya Supay
Member
Join Date: Nov 2015
Old 04-04-2021 , 12:52   Re: [L4D] is there a way to unblock certain map blocks?
Reply With Quote #9

Quote:
Originally Posted by finishlast View Post
Is this clientside? I try to open the "backyard" serverside, so noone needs to have the addon installed.

I thought maybe something like this (see script and stripper file)

Outside of saferoom go left then on the fireladder. through the building then through the portal.

Then down, all the way behind to the fence.

Generator from inside the building should be here.

You can exit the area over the bricks.

You can get back in from left side.

But the nav meshes are a problem though.
what I send you is not necessary that you send the client you just have to put it on your server test and then notify
Aya Supay is offline
finishlast
Senior Member
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: In Reno with the vitamin
Old 04-04-2021 , 14:07   Re: [L4D] is there a way to unblock certain map blocks?
Reply With Quote #10

Omfg
how the hell did you do that!!!

Thats the spirit dude, thats the spirit!

I covered the old gen light that is floating in the air with this here in the stripper file.
There is a stuck spot near the trash, I just added another back of junk to fix that.
For some reason the ladders at the container (to distinguish burning tank is disabled in your map fix.) (made a fix for that)
Plus the ladder on the plateau part up to roof is broken. (cosmetic fix for that)

But it is still a ton of fun.

add:
{
"solid" "6"
"origin" "-1148.11 918.047 260.0"
"angles" "0 0 0"
"model" "models/props_industrial/pumpvertical01.mdl"
"classname" "prop_dynamic_override"
}
{
"classname" "prop_dynamic"
"solid" "0"
"origin" "-2352 1561 350"
"angles" "0 270 0"
"model" "models/props_street/sign_florist.mdl"
"disableshadows" "1"
}
{
"solid" "6"
"origin" "-815 1713 165"
"angles" "0 0 0"
"model" "models/props_junk/trashcluster01b_corner.mdl"
"classname" "prop_dynamic_override"
}
{
"solid" "6"
"origin" "937 -291 254"
"angles" "0 0 0"
"model" "models/props_exteriors/chimney5.mdl"
"classname" "prop_dynamic_override"
"disableshadows" "1"
}
{
"solid" "6"
"origin" "937 -291 358"
"angles" "0 0 0"
"model" "models/props_exteriors/chimney5.mdl"
"classname" "prop_dynamic_override"
"disableshadows" "1"
}
{
"solid" "6"
"origin" "937 -291 458"
"angles" "0 0 0"
"model" "models/props_exteriors/chimney5.mdl"
"classname" "prop_dynamic_override"
"disableshadows" "1"
}
{
"solid" "6"
"origin" "937 -291 470"
"angles" "0 0 0"
"model" "models/props_urban/chimney001.mdl"
"classname" "prop_dynamic_override"
"disableshadows" "1"
}



{
"solid" "6"
"origin" "1765 36 -96"
"angles" "0 0 0"
"model" "models/props/de_prodigy/concretebags2.mdl"
"classname" "prop_dynamic_override"
"disableshadows" "1"
}
{
"solid" "6"
"origin" "1765 97 -96"
"angles" "0 0 0"
"model" "models/props/de_prodigy/concretebags3.mdl"
"classname" "prop_dynamic_override"
"disableshadows" "1"
}

{
"solid" "6"
"origin" "1823 277 -96"
"angles" "0 170 0"
"model" "models/props_industrial/plywood_leaning.mdl"
"classname" "prop_dynamic_override"
"disableshadows" "1"
}


{
"solid" "6"
"origin" "1919 33 -64"
"angles" "87 350 0"
"model" "models/props_street/traffic_plate_01.mdl"
"classname" "prop_dynamic_override"
"disableshadows" "1"
}

{
"solid" "6"
"origin" "1955 273 -64"
"angles" "87 352 0"
"model" "models/props_street/traffic_plate_01.mdl"
"classname" "prop_dynamic_override"
"disableshadows" "1"
}
__________________

Last edited by finishlast; 04-25-2021 at 14:22.
finishlast is offline
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 21:38.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Theme made by Freecode