Raised This Month: $51 Target: $400
 12% 

MY method of making a switchable CS:S / CS:S DM server


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Author Message
Extreme_One
Veteran Member
Join Date: Nov 2006
Old 12-17-2006 , 08:19   MY method of making a switchable CS:S / CS:S DM server
Reply With Quote #1

This will be obvious to most of you but it could help some.
  • Install CS:S DM as normal but DO NOT add the line to your cstrike/addons/metamod/metaplugins.ini file -
    addons/cssdm/bin/cssdm_mm

  • Now you have CS:S DM installed but not running and your server is running in standard CS:S mode

  • Create a config file called dm.cfg (in your cstrike/cfg folder)
    Here's mine:
    Code:
    ma_war 1
    mani_stats 0
    mani_warmup_timer 0
    mani_css_betting 0
    mani_css_bounty 0
    motdfile dm.txt
    exec servername_DM.cfg
    mp_roundtime 0
    mp_timelimit  0
    mp_fraglimit 50
    meta load addons/cssdm/bin/cssdm_mm
    meta load addons/stripper/bin/stripper_mm
    meta unload addons/vip_mm/bin/vip_mm
    cssdm_enable
  • Now when you want to start running in Deathmatch you just use exec dm.cfg

  • I've also got a dmOFF.cfg file to switch Deathmatch mode off and return to normal CS:S mode:
    Code:
    cssdm_disable
    meta unload addons/cssdm/bin/cssdm_mm
    meta unload addons/stripper/bin/stripper_mm
    meta load addons/vip_mm/bin/vip_mm
    mani_stats 1
    mani_warmup_timer 75
    mani_css_betting 1
    mani_css_bounty 1
    motdfile motd.txt
    exec servername.cfg
    mp_roundtime 3
    mp_timelmit 15
    mp_fraglimimt 0
Of course your configs will be different to mine but hopefully that'll prove useful to some of you.

Last edited by Extreme_One; 12-17-2006 at 19:13.
Extreme_One is offline
BAILOPAN
Join Date: Jan 2004
Old 12-17-2006 , 14:01   Re: MY method of making a switchable CS:S / CS:SDM server
Reply With Quote #2

This is a good post. There are other ways - such as using meta pause/unpase, or using per-map CS:S DM configs - but whatever you find to work is best.
__________________
egg
BAILOPAN is offline
Extreme_One
Veteran Member
Join Date: Nov 2006
Old 12-17-2006 , 19:04   Re: MY method of making a switchable CS:S / CS:SDM server
Reply With Quote #3

OK I've found that running MANI VSP causes major problems with CSS: DM so I've editted the original post with a few changes.

Main one being the addition of ma_war 1

The reason I created the above method instead of using meta pause/unpause was because when we were in normal CS:S mode nobody was able to pick up the bomb - they kept dropping it. :/

So I decided that when we were in normal CS:S mode the CSS: DM mod had to be unloaded.
Extreme_One is offline
BAILOPAN
Join Date: Jan 2004
Old 12-18-2006 , 01:39   Re: MY method of making a switchable CS:S / CS:S DM server
Reply With Quote #4

Hrm, I'll double check that for the next release. Thanks.

I highly recommend not running Mani as a VSP if you're also running CS:S DM. Though if you're using ma_war 1 that might be irrelevant.
__________________
egg
BAILOPAN is offline
Extreme_One
Veteran Member
Join Date: Nov 2006
Old 12-18-2006 , 08:28   Re: MY method of making a switchable CS:S / CS:S DM server
Reply With Quote #5

Quote:
Originally Posted by BAILOPAN View Post
...
I highly recommend not running Mani as a VSP if you're also running CS:S DM. Though if you're using ma_war 1 that might be irrelevant.
Yeah.

Thing is when I used the mm version of MANI there were many other problems.

The only problem we've discovered so far with using the ma_war 1 method is when one of our admins decided to disable war mode so that he could access the player menu and kick a disruptive player = CRASH!!!
lol

I've now shown him how to use RCON to kick players by playerid.
Extreme_One is offline
Whisper
Member
Join Date: Mar 2004
Old 12-19-2006 , 03:31   Re: MY method of making a switchable CS:S / CS:SDM server
Reply With Quote #6

Quote:
Originally Posted by BAILOPAN View Post
This is a good post. There are other ways - such as using meta pause/unpase, or using per-map CS:S DM configs - but whatever you find to work is best.
Bailopen, what about doing per server CS:S DM configs with Multiple Metamod Plugin CFGs from single installation path? http://forums.alliedmods.net/showthread.php?t=48730

So I have 4 CS:S DM SRCDS running from a single installation path, but I want to have different types of CS:S DM configurations, how would I do it?
__________________

Last edited by Whisper; 12-19-2006 at 09:06.
Whisper is offline
BAILOPAN
Join Date: Jan 2004
Old 12-19-2006 , 11:11   Re: MY method of making a switchable CS:S / CS:S DM server
Reply With Quote #7

One way is to execute cssdm_reload <different config file>. The file has to be in the same format as cssdm.cfg.
__________________
egg
BAILOPAN is offline
Whisper
Member
Join Date: Mar 2004
Old 12-19-2006 , 12:57   Re: MY method of making a switchable CS:S / CS:S DM server
Reply With Quote #8

Quote:
Originally Posted by BAILOPAN View Post
One way is to execute cssdm_reload <different config file>. The file has to be in the same format as cssdm.cfg.
So in my server.cfg which I will call 27015.cfg (%port%.cfg) I put the follwing in:

Code:
meta load addons/cssdm/bin/cssdm_mm
meta load addons/stripper/bin/stripper_mm
meta unload addons/vip_mm/bin/vip_mm
cssdm_enable
cssdm_reload 27015dm.cfg
Is that correct?

I am not intending on switching CS:S DM off, so I don't need to unload it.

In fact, if I already have CS:S DM already running normally, can I put in the commandline startup allocated server.cfg the command

Code:
cssdm_reload 27015dm.cfg
Which is just a copy of the a normal cssdm.cfg.

Also, where do I keep this file, 27015dm.cfg, in the cfg dir or in the cstrike/addons/cssdm/ dir?

Furthermore is there a way for metamod to do this in this fashion, so I don't have to require the mod to take care of it?

Thanks again
__________________
Whisper is offline
BAILOPAN
Join Date: Jan 2004
Old 12-19-2006 , 17:36   Re: MY method of making a switchable CS:S / CS:S DM server
Reply With Quote #9

In fashion? Huh? I'm not sure if you meant put it in the command line or put it in the server.cfg file - you may certainly put it in the server.cfg file (I was trying to imply this), but the startup line probably won't work.

The files have to go in addons/cssdm I think. Try firing the command off and it will tell you if it couldn't find the file (it will show you the full path it tried).
__________________
egg
BAILOPAN is offline
Whisper
Member
Join Date: Mar 2004
Old 12-19-2006 , 22:13   Re: MY method of making a switchable CS:S / CS:S DM server
Reply With Quote #10

Thanks
__________________
Whisper is offline
Reply



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:15.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Theme made by Freecode