Raised This Month: $13 Target: $400
 3% 

[ANY] SteamWorks


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Mathias.
Veteran Member
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Canada is my city
Old 02-02-2015 , 16:46   Re: [ANY] SteamWorks
Reply With Quote #271

so what the difference between steamwork and steamtools except of that steamtools is only for tf2. Does any of them offer different features?

Also is the HTTP protocol used by this extension is it wrote by you are it just wrapper functions of the steamwork API (from valve)?
Mathias. is offline
Dr. McKay
Sir Dr. SourceMod Plugin Approver Esq. Ltd. M.D. PhD
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Atlantis
Old 02-02-2015 , 23:12   Re: [ANY] SteamWorks
Reply With Quote #272

Quote:
Originally Posted by Black-Rabbit View Post
so what the difference between steamwork and steamtools except of that steamtools is only for tf2. Does any of them offer different features?

Also is the HTTP protocol used by this extension is it wrote by you are it just wrapper functions of the steamwork API (from valve)?
This one is compiled against the official SteamWorks SDK, instead of a reverse-engineered version. It's "better" and supports more games. This one offers a few different features, but also doesn't offer a few features I believe.

Yes, the HTTP stuff provided by this extension just wraps SteamWorks' stuff.

-------------------

On another topic, a native to grab the server's current SteamID would be pretty great.
__________________
Dr. McKay is offline
Mathias.
Veteran Member
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Canada is my city
Old 02-03-2015 , 11:04   Re: [ANY] SteamWorks
Reply With Quote #273

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr. McKay View Post
This one is compiled against the official SteamWorks SDK, instead of a reverse-engineered version. It's "better" and supports more games. This one offers a few different features, but also doesn't offer a few features I believe.

Yes, the HTTP stuff provided by this extension just wraps SteamWorks' stuff.

-------------------

On another topic, a native to grab the server's current SteamID would be pretty great.
Alrite this is awesome, I will consider using this for my http protocol instead of sockets (having issues with it and source code seem to be down and one of the issue is the limit of host of 64 char and sometime cloud dns goes above it)

I just read about that we need to update the steamclient ourself, any idea if it be possible to have an autoupdater in the extension to download the lastest version?

Last edited by Mathias.; 02-03-2015 at 11:05.
Mathias. is offline
KyleS
SourceMod Plugin Approver
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Segmentation Fault.
Old 02-03-2015 , 13:24   Re: [ANY] SteamWorks
Reply With Quote #274

Quote:
Originally Posted by Black-Rabbit View Post
Alrite this is awesome, I will consider using this for my http protocol instead of sockets (having issues with it and source code seem to be down and one of the issue is the limit of host of 64 char and sometime cloud dns goes above it)

I just read about that we need to update the steamclient ourself, any idea if it be possible to have an autoupdater in the extension to download the lastest version?
It's kind of a bad idea to auto update as it's a binary loaded into memory. If Sourcemod had install and the equivalent on Windows it would probably work out just fine. The public resist doesn't really exist sanely http wise. I could be wrong as well.

There's a Sockets API in Steam as well, ISteamNetworking. Would you or someone else be willing to test? I'm travelling for another two weeks.
KyleS is offline
Amroth
Senior Member
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: /root
Old 02-03-2015 , 20:49   Re: [ANY] SteamWorks
Reply With Quote #275

Hey, I've use this with this but recently my servers didn't assigned to tokens. they just assigned as anonymous account. why is that?

EDIT: Solved.

Last edited by KyleS; 02-03-2015 at 23:24. Reason: Deleted post...
Amroth is offline
Mathias.
Veteran Member
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Canada is my city
Old 02-04-2015 , 23:46   Re: [ANY] SteamWorks
Reply With Quote #276

Quote:
Originally Posted by KyleS View Post
There's a Sockets API in Steam as well, ISteamNetworking. Would you or someone else be willing to test? I'm travelling for another two weeks.
Thx allot for the info, I will prob wait for the official socket release instead and use this extension for the moment, also I need to start writing my first extension (but won't be for sockets), do you mind if I add you on steam? PM me your steam if you don't mind
Mathias. is offline
KyleS
SourceMod Plugin Approver
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Segmentation Fault.
Old 02-26-2015 , 00:11   Re: [ANY] SteamWorks
Reply With Quote #277

I've added (untested) SteamWorks_GetUserGroupStatus(AuthID). While you could already slam Valve's servers using SteamTools; please don't do it here. I don't know why they switched the naming from User to Client.

As well to this, the native will be deprecated once there's a proper Web API for getting the officers of a group.
KyleS is offline
RedSword
SourceMod Plugin Approver
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Quebec, Canada
Old 03-08-2015 , 15:15   Re: [ANY] SteamWorks
Reply With Quote #278

Quote:
Originally Posted by KyleS View Post
Confirmed (maybe) working: CS:GO Lin/Win, CS:S Lin/Win, L4D2 Lin/Win, TF2 Lin/Win.
Why confirmed "maybe" :/ ?
__________________
My plugins :
Red Maze
Afk Bomb
RAWR (per player/rounds Awp Restrict.)
Kill Assist
Be Medic

You can also Donate if you appreciate my work
RedSword is offline
KyleS
SourceMod Plugin Approver
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Segmentation Fault.
Old 03-08-2015 , 16:13   Re: [ANY] SteamWorks
Reply With Quote #279

Quote:
Originally Posted by RedSword View Post
Why confirmed "maybe" :/ ?
If someone uses ISteamHTTP and not ISteamGameServerStats, who knows if that iface works?

Do you have another platform or game to add to the list?
KyleS is offline
RedSword
SourceMod Plugin Approver
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Quebec, Canada
Old 03-08-2015 , 21:59   Re: [ANY] SteamWorks
Reply With Quote #280

Quote:
Originally Posted by KyleS View Post
If someone uses ISteamHTTP and not ISteamGameServerStats, who knows if that iface works?

Do you have another platform or game to add to the list?
ISteamHTTP & ISteamGameServerStats = in what case would that happen ? Someone recompiling SteamWorks ? (my C++ knowledge of SM extensions is rather poor).

No but I expect to maybe test with DoD:S this week.

Is it possible that your extension is only partially supported for a mod ? I ask because Asherkin said that his SteamTools wasn't working at some point (here Asher talks using past tense) for CSS; while is it still working for me (but I only use SteamTools' Steam_RequestGroupStatus and Steam_GroupStatusResult)

Also CSS/CSGO/L4D(2)/TF2 all works 100% ? (curiosity; due to the paragraph above I expect possible similar partial-support)

Red
__________________
My plugins :
Red Maze
Afk Bomb
RAWR (per player/rounds Awp Restrict.)
Kill Assist
Be Medic

You can also Donate if you appreciate my work

Last edited by RedSword; 03-08-2015 at 22:00.
RedSword is offline
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:42.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Theme made by Freecode