Raised This Month: $51 Target: $400
 12% 

How do I restart my server by rcon without killing the screen?


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Author Message
SilentBr
Veteran Member
Join Date: Jan 2009
Old 04-07-2014 , 17:13   How do I restart my server by rcon without killing the screen?
Reply With Quote #1

How do I restart my server by rcon without killing the screen?

_restart kills the screen
quit kills the screen

Code:
#!/bin/sh
screen -A -m -d -S tf03 sh -c "./srcds_run -game tf +map mvm_bigrock +ip 0.0.0.0 -port 27017 +maxplayers 32 | grep -v Setting\ sv_visiblemaxplayers\ to\ 6\ for\ MvM"
SilentBr is offline
Dr_Knuckles
AlliedModders Donor
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: SW Florida
Old 04-07-2014 , 17:35   Re: How do I restart my server by rcon without killing the screen?
Reply With Quote #2

autoupdate
__________________
Dr_Knuckles is offline
SilentBr
Veteran Member
Join Date: Jan 2009
Old 04-07-2014 , 17:44   Re: How do I restart my server by rcon without killing the screen?
Reply With Quote #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr_Knuckles View Post
autoupdate
18:449 Unknown command "autoupdate"

By the way, I've rented a machine and we use linux. Now that we are the ownor of the machine, it doesn't have a panel like gameservers etc to admins start/stop/update. My admins don't know how to use linux and execute commands, where can I find a way (panels etc) (with webpage or not) so they can manage the server?

Last edited by SilentBr; 04-07-2014 at 17:45.
SilentBr is offline
Donski
Senior Member
Join Date: Sep 2012
Old 04-07-2014 , 17:53   Re: How do I restart my server by rcon without killing the screen?
Reply With Quote #4

Autoupdate is a startup parameter. You need to add it to your startup line (-autoupdate)
Donski is offline
SilentBr
Veteran Member
Join Date: Jan 2009
Old 04-07-2014 , 17:54   Re: How do I restart my server by rcon without killing the screen?
Reply With Quote #5

Quote:
Originally Posted by Donski View Post
Autoupdate is a startup parameter. You need to add it to your startup line (-autoupdate)
And then how to I restart the server by rcon?

Last edited by SilentBr; 04-07-2014 at 17:59.
SilentBr is offline
Dr_Knuckles
AlliedModders Donor
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: SW Florida
Old 04-07-2014 , 18:01   Re: How do I restart my server by rcon without killing the screen?
Reply With Quote #6

quit
__________________
Dr_Knuckles is offline
SilentBr
Veteran Member
Join Date: Jan 2009
Old 04-07-2014 , 18:04   Re: How do I restart my server by rcon without killing the screen?
Reply With Quote #7

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr_Knuckles View Post
quit
didn't work using quit, killed the screen

Code:
#!/bin/sh
screen -A -m -d -S l4d203 ./srcds_run -game left4dead2 +ip 0.0.0.0 -port 27018 +map c1m1_hotel -secure -autoupdate
I tried in l4d2

Last edited by SilentBr; 04-07-2014 at 18:07.
SilentBr is offline
Dr_Knuckles
AlliedModders Donor
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: SW Florida
Old 04-07-2014 , 18:13   Re: How do I restart my server by rcon without killing the screen?
Reply With Quote #8

Then you need to read up on how autoupdate works.

Edit: Using that thing you guys apparently hate "Google" I found this guide in like 10 seconds
__________________

Last edited by Dr_Knuckles; 04-07-2014 at 18:17.
Dr_Knuckles is offline
SilentBr
Veteran Member
Join Date: Jan 2009
Old 04-07-2014 , 20:53   Re: How do I restart my server by rcon without killing the screen?
Reply With Quote #9

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr_Knuckles View Post
Then you need to read up on how autoupdate works.

Edit: Using that thing you guys apparently hate "Google" I found this guide in like 10 seconds
Actually I asked help "how restart my server without killing the screen by rcon". You said things about autoupdate, not me, new learn for me. But I'm still looking a way to do what the title of my thread says.

Anyway thanks ;)
SilentBr is offline
Dr_Knuckles
AlliedModders Donor
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: SW Florida
Old 04-07-2014 , 21:10   Re: How do I restart my server by rcon without killing the screen?
Reply With Quote #10

Quit doesn't kill a screen to my knowledge, and if you set up autoupdate like that guide says, "rcon quit" will reboot your server.

Edit: I use debian.

Edit2: Whichever command you use to reboot the server, you'll need to follow that guide for it to work properly with l4d unless it has changed in the past ~9 months or so.
__________________

Last edited by Dr_Knuckles; 04-07-2014 at 21:14.
Dr_Knuckles is offline
Reply



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:07.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Theme made by Freecode