Raised This Month: $12 Target: $400
 3% 

[TF2][PSM] Medic's MvM Shield (v1.2.3, 2015-09-24)


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Wolvan
Senior Member
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Tyrol, Austria
Old 07-30-2014 , 17:10   Re: [TF2] Medic's MvM Shield (v1.1, 2014-07-29)
Reply With Quote #21

Quote:
Originally Posted by Powerlord View Post
A few questions:
  1. entity_ has a "model" dispatch keyvalue. Why isn't that being used to set the model instead of calling SetEntityModel after the entity is dispatched?
Because if I used the Model keyvalue, which I was using before, the hitbox of the shield2 is messed up, it uses the small one's hitbox

Quote:
Originally Posted by Powerlord View Post
  1. I can see the owner being set on spawn... but why isn't the shield being parented to the client? Admittedly, I haven't run the plugin to see how it's currently working.
IDK, it works pretty well without being parented.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Powerlord View Post
It's the entity type not the model that determines whether something is solid or not. If it were a prop_something then yes, it'd default to solid... but it isn't. Instead, it's an entity_medigun_shield. Which also has the special property of damaging enemies that touch it.
Figures. Welp, can't do anything about that then
__________________
Wolvan is offline
Send a message via Skype™ to Wolvan
Powerlord
AlliedModders Donor
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Seduce Me!
Old 07-30-2014 , 17:51   Re: [TF2] Medic's MvM Shield (v1.1, 2014-07-29)
Reply With Quote #22

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolvan View Post
Figures. Welp, can't do anything about that then
Not... necessarily, but it'd probably require using DHooks or some other hooks extension to do the collision part.

eyes CTFMedigunShield::ShouldCollide(int, int) at Linux offset 17

The other part... didn't someone already mention SDKHooks's OnTakeDamage hook?

Edit: Oh wait, SDKHooks also has a ShouldCollide hook.
__________________
Not currently working on SourceMod plugin development.

Last edited by Powerlord; 07-30-2014 at 17:54.
Powerlord is offline
Wolvan
Senior Member
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Tyrol, Austria
Old 07-30-2014 , 17:53   Re: [TF2] Medic's MvM Shield (v1.1, 2014-07-29)
Reply With Quote #23

Quote:
Originally Posted by Powerlord View Post
Not... necessarily, but it'd probably require using DHooks or some other hooks extension to do the collision part.

eyes CTFMedigunShield::ShouldCollide(int, int)
I have to look into that, I have never worked with with DHooks before

Quote:
Originally Posted by Powerlord View Post
The other part... didn't someone already mention SDKHooks's OnTakeDamage hook?
Not that I remember, good idea though! Will test that!
__________________
Wolvan is offline
Send a message via Skype™ to Wolvan
Powerlord
AlliedModders Donor
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Seduce Me!
Old 07-30-2014 , 17:55   Re: [TF2] Medic's MvM Shield (v1.1, 2014-07-29)
Reply With Quote #24

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolvan View Post
I have to look into that, I have never worked with with DHooks before
Yeah, ignore that... SDKHooks also has a ShouldCollide hook.

Edit: Oh wait, SDKHooks ShouldCollide doesn't tell you what the other entity is... which is just silly. Most entities provide you with both two entity indexes as the two arguments.

Edit 2: CollisionHook should also work.
__________________
Not currently working on SourceMod plugin development.

Last edited by Powerlord; 07-30-2014 at 17:59.
Powerlord is offline
rswallen
SourceMod Donor
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: 127.0.0.1
Old 07-31-2014 , 04:48   Re: [TF2] Medic's MvM Shield (v1.1, 2014-07-29)
Reply With Quote #25

Don't even try to make the shield impassable. It's either impossible or fraught with problems. Instead, just apply TFCond_Slowed (or manually adjust speed) whenever an enemy touches the shield
__________________
rswallen is offline
Wolvan
Senior Member
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Tyrol, Austria
Old 07-31-2014 , 06:13   Re: [TF2] Medic's MvM Shield (v1.1, 2014-07-29)
Reply With Quote #26

Quote:
Originally Posted by rswallen View Post
Don't even try to make the shield impassable. It's either impossible or fraught with problems. Instead, just apply TFCond_Slowed (or manually adjust speed) whenever an enemy touches the shield
But if I do that, the target could not move as long as the shield is being touched, meaning he can't move away either, right?
__________________
Wolvan is offline
Send a message via Skype™ to Wolvan
rswallen
SourceMod Donor
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: 127.0.0.1
Old 07-31-2014 , 06:15   Re: [TF2] Medic's MvM Shield (v1.1, 2014-07-29)
Reply With Quote #27

slow != stop
__________________
rswallen is offline
Wolvan
Senior Member
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Tyrol, Austria
Old 07-31-2014 , 06:16   Re: [TF2] Medic's MvM Shield (v1.1, 2014-07-29)
Reply With Quote #28

Quote:
Originally Posted by rswallen View Post
slow != stop
I thought you meant slow down by 100%
__________________
Wolvan is offline
Send a message via Skype™ to Wolvan
Wolvan
Senior Member
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Tyrol, Austria
Old 08-30-2014 , 16:37   Re: [TF2][PSM] Medic's MvM Shield (v1.2, 2014-08-30)
Reply With Quote #29

Now MedicShield also uses PermissionsSM if you wish to use it. And you should.
__________________
Wolvan is offline
Send a message via Skype™ to Wolvan
404UserNotFound
BANNED
Join Date: Dec 2011
Old 09-02-2014 , 09:38   Re: [TF2][PSM] Medic's MvM Shield (v1.2, 2014-08-30)
Reply With Quote #30

Welp, I've gotta update the donator medic shield functions on my server, but if I'm to use this I'm gonna have to rip out all the Permissions SM stuff because I don't use that.
404UserNotFound is offline
Reply



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:17.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Theme made by Freecode