Raised This Month: $ Target: $400
 0% 

Compiling "standard" HL2 plugins with Cygwin


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
squeeek
Junior Member
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Hungary - Budapest
Old 08-15-2006 , 06:41   Re: Compiling "standard" HL2 plugins with Cygwin
Reply With Quote #11

still not working... =/
squeeek is offline
Send a message via MSN to squeeek
c0ldfyr3
AlliedModders Donor
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ireland
Old 08-15-2006 , 11:38   Re: Compiling "standard" HL2 plugins with Cygwin
Reply With Quote #12

Quote:
Originally Posted by squeeek View Post
still not working... =/
[sarcasm]I know exactly what the problem is judging by your in depth problem review.[/sarcasm]
__________________
c0ldfyr3 is offline
Send a message via MSN to c0ldfyr3 Send a message via Yahoo to c0ldfyr3
squeeek
Junior Member
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Hungary - Budapest
Old 08-15-2006 , 13:39   Re: Compiling "standard" HL2 plugins with Cygwin
Reply With Quote #13

yeah, sry...
at least i know You are willing to help me ;)

Got the plugin file, a single cpp, a renamed and modified serverplugin_empty (CEmptyServerPlugin class is also renamed)
Got the makefile, the one you've posted above
Got cygwin, and the crosstool.tar.gz

I entered cygwin, unpacked the crosstool, as You've written in your tut.
So cygwin's base dir is C:\cygwin, and the crosstool is in C:\cygwin\opt.

In theory, I should give the stuff which it asks for in the makefile (the one that c0ld posted above), then enter the cygwin console, goto my plugins dir, and type "make", right?

Well, i get this: http://sourcespray.atw.hu/cygwin_err_02.gif
Heres the sourcecode: http://sourcespray.atw.hu/ratechecker.cpp

Compiled with VS.net 2003, its working flawless. Is there something i must add to the code for the linux gcc to compile?

Last edited by squeeek; 08-15-2006 at 13:44.
squeeek is offline
Send a message via MSN to squeeek
L. Duke
Veteran Member
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Walla Walla
Old 08-15-2006 , 15:32   Re: Compiling "standard" HL2 plugins with Cygwin
Reply With Quote #14

I tried it, and your code compiled on the first try for me. (BTW, did you edit together that screenshot by hand?)

ratechecker_i486.so

Here is the makefile (I edited the sample_mm file with my paths and filenames).
Code:
#(C)2004-2005 SourceMM Development Team
# Makefile written by David "BAILOPAN" Anderson
# edited for ratechecker by OTHERS

HL2SDK = ../../../MyMpd/src
SMM_ROOT = ../..
SRCDS = /cygdrive/c/srcds

### EDIT BELOW FOR OTHER PROJECTS ###

OPT_FLAGS = -O3 -fno-rtti -funroll-loops -s -pipe
DEBUG_FLAGS = -O0 -g -ggdb3
CPP = /opt/crosstool/gcc-3.4.1-glibc-2.3.2/i686-unknown-linux-gnu/bin/i686-unknown-linux-gnu-gcc
BINARY = ratechecker_i486.so

OBJECTS = ratechecker.cpp

LINK = vstdlib_i486.so tier0_i486.so

HL2PUB = $(HL2SDK)/public

INCLUDE = -I. -I$(HL2PUB) -I$(HL2PUB)/dlls -I$(HL2PUB)/engine -I$(HL2PUB)tier0 -I$(HL2PUB)/tier1 \
-I$(HL2PUB)/vstdlib -I$(HL2SDK)/tier1  -I$(HL2SDK)/game_shared -I$(HL2SDK)/dlls

ifeq "$(DEBUG)" "true"
    BIN_DIR = Debug
    CFLAGS = $(DEBUG_FLAGS)
else
    BIN_DIR = Release
    CFLAGS = $(OPT_FLAGS)
endif

CFLAGS += -fpermissive -D_LINUX -DNDEBUG -Dstricmp=strcasecmp -D_stricmp=strcasecmp -D_strnicmp=strncasecmp -Dstrnicmp=strncasecmp -D_snprintf=snprintf -D_vsnprintf=vsnprintf -D_alloca=alloca -Dstrcmpi=strcasecmp -fPIC -Wno-deprecated

OBJ_LINUX := $(OBJECTS:%.cpp=$(BIN_DIR)/%.o)

$(BIN_DIR)/%.o: %.cpp
    $(CPP) $(INCLUDE) $(CFLAGS) -o $@ -c $<

all:
    mkdir -p $(BIN_DIR)
    ln -sf $(SRCDS)/bin/vstdlib_i486.so vstdlib_i486.so
    ln -sf $(SRCDS)/bin/tier0_i486.so tier0_i486.so
    $(MAKE) sourcemm

sourcemm: $(OBJ_LINUX)
    $(CPP) $(INCLUDE) $(CFLAGS) $(OBJ_LINUX) $(LINK) -shared -ldl -lm -o$(BIN_DIR)/$(BINARY)

debug:    
    $(MAKE) all DEBUG=true

default: all

clean:
    rm -rf Release/*.o
    rm -rf Release/$(BINARY)
    rm -rf Debug/*.o
    rm -rf Debug/$(BINARY)
L. Duke is offline
squeeek
Junior Member
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Hungary - Budapest
Old 08-15-2006 , 16:41   Re: Compiling "standard" HL2 plugins with Cygwin
Reply With Quote #15

wow, thanks!
now im completely lost xD what the bloody hell can be the problem...

oh, the screenshot: yeah, made 3 shots, then edited together with PS. 2 minutes work. still much easier then typing it in notepad ;)

[edit]
erm, have you actually tested the file? cause i've copied it up to our server, restarted it, but now it wont load up :S
[/edit]

Last edited by squeeek; 08-15-2006 at 16:58.
squeeek is offline
Send a message via MSN to squeeek
c0ldfyr3
AlliedModders Donor
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ireland
Old 08-16-2006 , 04:11   Re: Compiling "standard" HL2 plugins with Cygwin
Reply With Quote #16

Quote:
Originally Posted by squeeek View Post
[edit]
erm, have you actually tested the file? cause i've copied it up to our server, restarted it, but now it wont load up :S
[/edit]
Thats a code problem not compilation :\
__________________
c0ldfyr3 is offline
Send a message via MSN to c0ldfyr3 Send a message via Yahoo to c0ldfyr3
squeeek
Junior Member
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Hungary - Budapest
Old 08-16-2006 , 07:27   Re: Compiling "standard" HL2 plugins with Cygwin
Reply With Quote #17

guessed so... but then how is it working on windows based servers?
squeeek is offline
Send a message via MSN to squeeek
c0ldfyr3
AlliedModders Donor
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ireland
Old 08-16-2006 , 08:58   Re: Compiling "standard" HL2 plugins with Cygwin
Reply With Quote #18

Probably because there are hundreds of things which need to be coded differently for linux.
Just a guess.
__________________
c0ldfyr3 is offline
Send a message via MSN to c0ldfyr3 Send a message via Yahoo to c0ldfyr3
L. Duke
Veteran Member
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Walla Walla
Old 08-16-2006 , 10:23   Re: Compiling "standard" HL2 plugins with Cygwin
Reply With Quote #19

I was just helping you with the compiling part, which seems to be working. You need to figure out why it won't load (is there some kind of message?) and fix that part.

Last edited by L. Duke; 08-16-2006 at 11:57.
L. Duke is offline
squeeek
Junior Member
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Hungary - Budapest
Old 08-16-2006 , 15:02   Re: Compiling "standard" HL2 plugins with Cygwin
Reply With Quote #20

Youre really fantastic =] and thanks for your time... though i still dont know why it wont compile on linux xD
It looks like i got to make a new partition and install linux...

Unfourtenately, i cant access the server console, only via rcon. Its running from one of my friends, and hes off, maybe taking a few days off...

well, thanks again! im on my own now =]
squeeek is offline
Send a message via MSN to squeeek
Reply



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:01.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Theme made by Freecode